InfoGuides: Hye Jung's Playground: Student Support

Professional Associations

American Association of State Colleges & Universities (AASCU)
AASCU was established in 1961 in response to: “The growing impact of the federal government on higher education, particularly as it related to research grants and other grants-in-aid, had made it absolutely necessary that a strong national association be formed to represent the interests of students in state colleges and universities.”
Associations Unlimited
Encyclopedia of Associations series contains information on international, national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields. Provides description, contact information, IRS data, SIC codes, as well as meetings and publications information. Updates: International, National, Regional, State & Local sections: 4 times/year. Association Materials: Semiannual. IRS Nonprofit Data: Annual Directory.
Union of International Associations
Profiles of international organizations and associations.
United States Distance Learning Association (USDLA)
USDLA was the first nonprofit Distance Learning association in the United States to support Distance Learning research, development and praxis across the complete arena of education, training and communications.

Conferences

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text articles in the area of computing and information technologies from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the ACM.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the published literature from conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide; two editions cover the sciences, social sciences and humanities, 1990 to the present. Part of Web of Science.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, from 1972 to present. Includes PAIS Archive, covering content published in print 1915-1976.
Proceedings This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and the table of contents for every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at the British Library.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in women’s studies and feminist research, largely from 1972-present (some earlier material included). Includes sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, arts & humanities, international relations and education. Contains over 2,000 periodicals, and other sources such as newspapers, newsletters, books, book chapters, proceedings, theses, dissertations, NGO studies and other grey literature.

Funding & Grants

Assistance Listings (CFDA)
Database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally -recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals. Formerly the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Chronicle of Philanthropy Grant Seeking News & Resources
Grant announcements and requests for proposals in a wide variety of subject areas, particularly but not exclusively for institutional grantseekers.
Federal Funding Tools & Links
Extensive list of databases and sources for locating federal grants.
Foundation Center Requests for Proposals
A weekly bulletin of funding announcements and requests for proposals in a variety of areas for organizations and academic institutions.
Foundation Directory Online
This resource is a grantseeking research tool, updated weekly. Included is a database of the entire universe of over 98,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of nearly 3,600 sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of over 1.6 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 584,000 recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.