InfoGuides: Hye Jung's Playground: Find Research Tools

Research Databases & Journals

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Cambridge University Press journals and ebooks across all academic disciplines.
Chronicle of Higher Education - Web Edition This link opens in a new window
Source of news and information on Higher Education. Includes exclusive multimedia features, such as videos and podcasts, on current topics in higher education. Additionally, the current annual Almanac of Higher Education is accessible for demographic information in higher education. Other features include interactive tools for career development, and job searching.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Gives users access to over 900 educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text from 1988 to present. Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of education including multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Provides indexing for over 1,800 journals, as well as full-text for over 900 journals, 81 books, and numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
References to thousands of educational topics. Indexes journal articles, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, standards, guidelines and more. ERIC documents (non-journal literature) are available full-text, 1993 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences digitized in most cases back to the first date of issue. Includes selected books, primary sources and other materials for academic work.
LearnTechLib This link opens in a new window
Contains over thirty years worth of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 3,000 journals across 55 social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Covers from 1900 to the present. Part of Web of Science.
Survey Research Center This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary social and behavioral science research involving the collection and analysis of data, especially data from scientific sample surveys. Research themes include: Aging & Retirement; Economic Behavior; Obesity; Poverty & Inequality; Substance Abuse. Affiliated with the University of Michigan.
Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and searchable author abstracts, covering scholarly literature in journals, books and conference proceedings. Includes: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Emerging Sources Citation Index. Additional resources available by selecting from the dropdown list next to the Core Collection heading.

American Educational Research Journal
Publishes original peer-reviewed analyses spanning the field of education research across all subfields and disciplines and all levels of analysis, all levels of education throughout the life span and all forms of learning.
from 01/01/1964 to present
Education & Urban Society
Communicates new ideas on educational processes, controversies, research, and policy. It places special emphasis on the relationship between educators and society.
from 11/01/1968 to present
Educational Action Research
Concerned with exploring the dialogue between research and practice in educational settings.
from 03/01/1997 to present
Educational Researcher
Publishes scholarly articles that are of general significance to the education research community and that come from a wide range of areas of education research and related disciplines. Published nine times a year, ER aims to make major programmatic research and new findings of broad importance widely accessible.
from 01/01/1972 to present
Evaluation Review
Focuses on rigorous evaluation of public programs and policies across a range of types of evaluation, policy areas, and academic disciplines, all to foster evidence based policy.
from 02/01/1980 to present
Higher Education in Review
An independent, refereed journal published by graduate students of the Higher Education Program at the Pennsylvania State University.
from 01/01/2010 to present
Journal of Research on Leadership Education
Provides an international venue for scholarship and discourse on the teaching and learning of leadership across the many disciplines that inform the field of educational leadership.
from 04/01/2006 to present
Sociology of Education
A forum for studies in the sociology of education and human social development.
from 01/01/2004 to present

Ebook Central

Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads.
Notes: Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection

Ebsco eBook Collection includes 2,900 electronic books, or eBooks related to education. Subjects covered include: educational technology, educational change, psychology of learning, teaching and learning, multicultural education, educational philosophy, curriculum planning, and more.
PsycBOOKS

Over 4,300 APA books, handbooks, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online

Includes over 1,600 e-books on various aspects of education research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods sciences. Also includes a searchable collection of over 200 case studies of real education social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect

Provides online access to 63 education-related e-books published by Elsevier and its partners.
Springer eBook Collections

Provides access to more than 1,000 titles for education including: learning & instruction, linguistics, child & school psychology, linguistics, and higher education. The e-books are searchable down to the chapter level.

Find Statistics & Data

Need Help with Statistics and/or Data Sets?
Statistical Resources

Digital Scholarship Center (DDSS) is a new group within University Libraries to support the research and instruction needs of Mason’s data researchers. DDSS provides help with locating and utilizing numeric, statistical, geospatial, and qualitative data. In addition, they provide access to Federal and Virginia Depository publications as well as the map collection. Services include:

Assisting with finding, using and acquiring numerical, statistical and geospatial data.
Helping with using data archives such as ICPSR, the Roper Center, and more.
Offering access to a variety of GIS and statistical software packages, and assisting with data translation.
Providing workshops and course-related library instruction on finding and using numeric data sets and on GIS related topics.
Assisting with creating data management plans required by grant applications, such as NSF, as well as providing support with data archiving.
They are available for consulting in-person, by phone, and e-mail and are available for class instruction. For more details visit https ://dsc.gmu.edu.

College Blue Book This link opens in a new window
Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.
Current Index to Statistics This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. Limited pre-1975 indexed content.
Digest of Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
Compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. Includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables are available for use in the Sage Data repository. Sage Data offers capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.

The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System
Primary source for information on U.S. colleges, universities, and technical and vocational institutions.
Postsecondary Surveys & Programs
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) survey programs which measure various aspects of postsecondary education in the United States.

Hye Jung's Playground

Ask A Librarian

Research Databases & Journals

Find Statistics & Data

Education meta search tool