Hye Jung's Playground

This website has the key indicators of the condition of education in the United States from 1989 to the present

Annual compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. Available online back to 1990. Publisher: National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

Easy to use source for popular, national level statistics.

Provides access to an extensive collection of downloadable data that can be used with SPSS, SAS, & Stata. George Mason University is an ICPSR member which means students, staff and faculty have full access to its resources.

NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting, analyzing and publishing education statistics. Includes Digest of Education Statistics, The Condition of Education, Projections of Education Statistics, and Indicators of School Crime and Safety.

View state, county and school district maps and demographic data. (U.S. Census Bureau)

Section includes data on: school-age population and school enrollment, educational attainment, education personnel, and financial aspects of education plus data for charter schools, computer usage in schools, distance education, and adult education. NOTE:The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of this data for the effective October 1, 2011.

Provides reliable and timely data on the mathematics and science achievement of U.S. students compared to that of students in other countries.

The Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS) provides a comprehensive picture, as it includes teachers of K–12 students in all subjects and the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) provides a picture specific to grades 4 and 8.

Includes statistics on elementary and secondary schools and degree-granting postsecondary institutions.

This report looks at changes in several key characteristics of the teaching force between the 1987-88 and 2011-12 school years, including the number of teachers, the level of teaching experience, and the racial/ethnic diversity of the teaching force.

Presents data on public elementary and secondary education revenues and expenditures at the local education agency (LEA) or school district level for fiscal year (FY) 2014.

Introduces new data for the universe of public elementary and secondary schools and agencies in the United States in school year (SY) 2014–15.