| University Libraries
The purpose of this page is to connect use to journals, databases, books/e-books and web resources related to various aspects of early childhood education. Click the link below or use the navigation on the left side of the screen
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowEarly Childhood Education
Go to General Educational Resource (Database)
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowGo to General Educational Resource (Journal)
Provides the latest research, not only for researchers and theoreticians, but also for child psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric social workers, specialists in early childhood education, educational psychologists, special education teachers, and other researchers.
from 01/01/1996 to present
Focuses on vulnerable children from birth to five years of age and their families.
2002 to present
General Educational Resources (Database)
This link opens in a new windowGo to General Educational Resources (Journal)
Go to General Educational Resource (database)
Go to General Educational Resource (Journal)
Go to General Educational Resource
ECE Special Education Journal
Beyond Behavior
Addresses compelling issues related to individuals with behavioral challenges.
From 2012 to present
Exceptional Children**
Original research on the education and development of exceptional infants, toddlers, children and youth and articles on professional issues of concern to special educators
1951 to present
International Journal of Early Childhood Special Education
An online, open-access, peer-reviewed journal offering scholarly articles on various issues of young children with special needs (age 0-8) and their families.
from 2009 to present
Journal of Autism and Developmental Disabilities
Contains original research, theoretical papers, critical reviews and brief reports on severe psychopathologies in childhood, not necessarily limited to autism and childhood schizophrenia. Previously titled Journal of Autism and Childhood Schizophrenia.
From 1979 to present
Journal of Intellectual Disability Research
Devoted exclusively to the scientific study of intellectual disability. Topics include clinical case reports, pathological reports, biochemical investigation, genetics and cytogenetics.
from 1996 to present
Teaching Exceptional Children
Features research-to-practice information and materials for classroom use, as well as current issues in special education teaching and learning.
1999 to present
Journal
British Journal of Visual Impairment
The journal publishes articles on visual impairment relevant to education, health, welfare, employment and the application of technology...
from 04/01/1987 to present
Vision Rehabilitation International
Intended to provide a forum for scholarly exchange among people dedicated to and involved any work relating to vision habilitation and rehabilitation of people who are blind or vision impaired. Former title: International Journal of Orientation & Mobility
from 2008 to present- open access
Journal of Blindness Innovation and Research
An open access journal is created by blind people, parents, teachers, administrators, and academic researchers. The journal publishes material primarily on the education of the blind, innovations related to Braille, and other techniques and tools for independent movement and travel for the blind. (non-peer-reviewed)
09/01/2013 to present
Journal of Cognition & Development
The range of interests includes cognitive development during all stages of life. Encompasses typical as well as atypical development, and attempts to characterize both biological and cultural influences on cognitive change and continuity.
from 2000 to present
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies
Focusing on representations of disability, the Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies (JLCDS) publishes a wide variety of textual analyses that are informed by disability theory and, by extension, experiences of disability.
from 2009 to present
Journal of Visual Impairment & Blindness
An international, interdisciplinary journal of record on blindness and visual impairment that publishes scholarship and information and serves as a forum for the exchange of ideas, airing of controversies and the and discussion of issues.
from 09/01/1993 to present
Books/E-books
Web Resources
Journal
Behavioral Disorders
Articles, reports and reviews focusing on the education of students with emotional and behavioral disorders.
02/01/1997 to present
Older articles are available via JSTOR
Remedial and Special Education (RASE)**
Offers interdisciplinary articles that bridge the gap between theory and practice involving the education of individuals for whom typical instruction is not effective
1984 to present
Books/E-books
Web Resources
Journal
Child: Care, Health & Development
Publishes papers dealing with all aspects of the health and development of children and young people.
from 1996 to present
Journal of Clinical Orthopaedics and Trauma
JCOT aims to provide its readers with the latest clinical and basic research, and informed opinions that shape today's orthopedic practice, thereby providing an opportunity to practice evidence-based medicine. With contributions from leading clinicians and researchers around the world, we aim to be the premier journal providing an international perspective advancing knowledge of the musculoskeletal system.
from 2012 to present
Journal of Early Intervention
Offers articles related to research and practice in early intervention for infants and young children with special needs and their families.
From 1981 to present
Research in Developmental Disabilities
An international journal aimed at publishing original research of an interdisciplinary nature that has a direct bearing on the understanding or remediation of problems associated with developmental disabilities
from 1987 to present
Pediatric Physical Therapy
The Journal presents articles that address developmental, orthopedic and respiratory concerns, thoughtful discussions of professional issues, and reports on promising research. Brimming with new insights, innovative techniques and fresh perspectives.
from 2000 to present
Books/E-books
Web Resources
Journal
Devoted to the study of emotion, especially to those aspects of emotion related to cognitive processes. The journal aims to bring together work on emotion undertaken by researchers in cognitive psychology, social psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, psychophysiology, neuropsychology/neuroscience, and cognitive science.
from 1996 to present
Aims to increase knowledge and understanding of ways in which digital technology can enhance education, through the publication of high-quality research, which extends theory and practice.
From 2001 to present
An international disability studies journal providing a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, definitions, policy and practices. It appears against a background of constant change in the ways in which disability is viewed and responded to.
from 1994 to present
The purpose of Exceptionality is to provide a forum for presentation of current research and professional scholarship in special education. Areas of scholarship published in the journal include quantitative, qualitative, and single-subject research designs examining students and persons with exceptionalities, as well as reviews of the literature, discussion pieces, invited works, position papers, theoretical papers, policy analyses, and research syntheses
from March 1997 to present
A leading, peer-reviewed resource that provides up-to-date information on the clinical management and rehabilitation of persons with traumatic brain injuries. The journal is comprised of feature articles, brief reports, pharmacological updates, legislative and public policy updates, columns on ethics, book reviews, abstracts of selected literature, and more
from 1999 to present
A multidisciplinary research journal covering all aspects of the relationships between psychology and medicine. The scope is broad and ranges from basic human biological and psychological research to evaluations of treatment and services.
from 2014 to present
Books/E-books
Web Resources
Journal
Focuses on advancing scholarship in disability studies and rehabilitation sciences in a uniquely African context.
from 2012 to present
Publishes papers dealing with all aspects of the health and development of children and young people.
from 1996 to present
DMCN disseminates the latest clinical research results globally to enhance the care and improve the lives of disabled children and their families.
from 1996 to present
A peer-reviewed multilingual journal on the development, care, and education of young children.
1999 to present
A multi-disciplinary peer-reviewed journal with an international focus. It provides a single source of information on the education and development of persons with disabilities. Formerly known as The Exceptional Child.
from 1997 to present
Provides a strategic forum for international and multi-disciplinary dialogue on inclusive education for all educators and educational policy-makers
1977 to present
Includes informative articles, resources and tools to promote the participation of early childhood teachers in teacher research.
from 2010 to present
Books/E-books
Web Resources
Journal
Focuses on vulnerable children from birth to five years of age and their families.
2002 to present
A multi-disciplinary peer-reviewed journal with an international focus. It provides a single source of information on the education and development of persons with disabilities. Formerly known as The Exceptional Child.
from 1997 to present
Offers articles related to research and practice in early intervention for infants and young children with special needs and their families
from 1989 to present
Provides research articles and scholarly reviews on special education for individuals with mild to severe disabilities.
1966 to present
All aspects of clinical speech, language, & hearing services to children & adolescents, particularly in school settings.
from 1993 to present
Includes rticles on such topics as inclusion, augmentative and alternative communication, supported living and employment, early childhood issues, self-advocacy, positive behavioral supports, disability rights and issues of concern to families.
from 03/01/2002 to present
SAGE Open is a peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.
from 2011 to present
Books/E-books
Web Resources
Journal
Focuses on intellectual disability, its causes, treatment, and prevention.
from 01/01/2009 to present
Continues the American Journal on Mental Retardation (02/01/1997 to 11/30/2008)
Publishes papers dealing with all aspects of the health and development of children and young people.
from 1996 to present
DMCN disseminates the latest clinical research results globally to enhance the care and improve the lives of disabled children and their families.
from 1996 to present
The Journal of Applied School Psychology, as the Official Journal of the American Academy of School Psychology, is interested in published scholarly material that contributes to the development and maintenance of school psychology practice at its highest level
from 2002 to present
n interdisciplinary forum for the publication of original research and clinical reports from a variety of fields serving persons with developmental and physical disabilities.
from 1997 to present
An international, interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal that publishes the highest quality original research on social and personal relationships.
from 1984 to present
Includes rticles on such topics as inclusion, augmentative and alternative communication, supported living and employment, early childhood issues, self-advocacy, positive behavioral supports, disability rights and issues of concern to families.
from 03/01/2002 to present
Books/E-books
Web Resources
Go to General Educational Resources (database)
This link opens in a new windowGo to General Educational Resource (Journal)
AJEC invites original primary research, literature reviews and theoretical discussions that contribute insight and/or evidence to improving the lives, education, health and wellbeing of young children.
from 1999 to present
Offers evidence-based articles that are designed to impart new information and encourage the critical exchange of ideas among early childhood practitioners, academics, and students.
Dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of research in Early Childhood Education throughout Europe and beyond
1997 to present
Publishes research articles, conceptual articles, reports field studies, the best practices and policies of early childhood learning in national and international stage.
From 2012 to present
Articles and commentary on all aspects of early childhood education published in English, Spanish and French by the World Organisation for Early Childhood Education, United Kingdom.
from 1997 to present
Serves as a forum for researchers and practitioners to debate the theories, research, policy and practice which sustain effective early years education world-wide. It offers a comparative perspective on early years research and major new initiatives in the care and education of young children
from 1997 to present
The IJEIECE aims at providing forum for consideration of current issues and development and for exchange of information and ideas about research and praxis in the practices of childcare and early childhood (K–3 levels) teacher education. Issues may relate to pre-service teacher preparation and in-service professional development.
From 2019 to present
Original articles and notes in English, French or German providing departments of education, teacher training institutions and professional readers worldwide with scholarly information on major educational innovations, research projects and trends.
from 1955 to present
This open access journal rovides a forum for the dissemination of research in childhood learning and development and the care and education of children from birth to 12 years.
from 2011 to present
Go to General Educational Resources (Database)
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowGo to General Educational Resource (Journal)
Provides accessible, synthetic reports that summarize emerging trends or conclusions within various domains of developmental research, & to encourage multidisciplinary & international dialogue on a variety of topics in the developmental sciences.
from 2007 to present
Committed to publishing original articles, including theory and practice, philosophical underpinnings, qualitative and quantitative clinical research, and training in couple and family therapy, family interaction, and family relationships with networks and larger systems.
from 1962 to present
The journal's content emphasizes family research with implications for intervention, education, and public policy, publishing: Empirical Studies; Literature Reviews; and Conceptual Analyses
from 2000 to present
A peer reviewed,open access, interdisciplinary, cross-national journal that is committed to scholarly excellence in the field of research about and services for children, youth, families and their communities.
from 2010 to present
International forum for topical issues pertaining to the mental well-being of children, adolescents, and their families.
from 03/01/1992 to present
Publishes scholarly peer-reviewed articles and practical information geared toward family and consumer sciences professionals,
from 1997 to present
Examines the intricate relationship between the family and its economic environment. Contributions address important issues in family management, household division of labor and productivity, relationships between economic and non-economic decisions, and the interrelation of work and family life.
from 01/01/1992 to present
Provides up-to-date research, theory, and analyses on marriage and family life.
from 03/01/1980 to present
Seeks to encourage integration and growth in the multidisciplinary and international domains of inquiry that define contemporary family studies.
from 2009 to present
Advances the professional understanding of marital and family functioning and the most effective psychotherapeutic treatment of couple and family distress.
from 1975 to present
Publishes research and theory, research interpretation and reviews, and critical discussion on all aspects of marriage, close relationships, and families.
from 2000 to present
Publishes original experimental, theoretical and review papers and commentaries primarily concerned with infant, child and adolescent development, and contexts of development such as family and school.
from 2001 to present
Works to ensure that babies and toddlers benefit from the early connections that are critical to their well-being and development
Go to General Educational Resource (Database)
This link opens in a new windowGo to General Educational Resource (Journal)
Communicates new ideas to the community of readers interested in children's books and is open to any topic in the field of international children's literature.
From 1998 to present
Publishes theoretically-based articles that address key issues in the field
from 1972 to present
Covers classic and contemporary material, the highbrow and the popular, and ranges across works for infants through to material for young adults. It features analysis of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional material (plus studies in other media: film, TV, computer games, online works); visual narratives from picture books and comics to graphic novels; interviews with writers and artists; textual analysis and interpretation from differing theoretical perspectives; historical approaches to the area; reader-response work with children; ideas for teaching children's literature; adaptation, translation and publishing
from 01/01/1997 to present
Devoted to teaching and scholarship in the field of children's literature.
from 03/01/2011 to present
The journal's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, the mass media, and popular culture.
from 1977 to present
Publishes original contributions by middle level teachers, students, teacher educators, and researchers
from 02/01/1995 to present
Go to General Educational Resource (database)
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowGo to General Educational Resource (journal)
Available from from 01/01/1997 to present
Delivers in-depth coverage of education theory and practice, dealing with bilingual education, bilingualism, and language policies in education.
Focuses on all aspects of bilingualism and bilingual education around the world.
Available from 1998 to the present
from 2005 to present
Provides articles, interviews, promising practices & resources in multicultural education.
from 2005 to the present
Devoted to the scientific discussion of acquisition or use of non-native and heritage languages.
from 1978 to present
As a publication that represents a variety of cross-disciplinary interests, both theoretical and practical on topics of significance to individuals concerned with English language teaching and learning and standard English as a second dialect.
from 1997 to present
Go to General Educational Resource
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowGo to General Educational Resource (journal)
Provides an international forum for professionals working in all disciplines in the provision of children’s services, including social work, social care, health care, medicine, psychology, education, the police and probationary services, and solicitors and barristers working in the family law and youth justice sectors.
from 1997 to present
A multidisciplinary publication that serves psychologists, educators, psychiatrists, paediatricians, social workers and other professionals who deal with research, planning, education and care of infants and young children. The Journal provides English translations of work in this field that has been published in other languages, and original English papers on all aspects of early child development and care: descriptive and evaluative articles on social, educational and preventive medical programs for young children, experimental and observational studies, critical reviews and summary articles.
from 1997 to preset
Publishes research papers and scholarly critiques on all issues associated with early childhood (pre-primary) education and care
from 1997 to the present
International forum for topical issues pertaining to the mental well-being of children, adolescents, and their families.
from 03/01/1992 to present
Publishes peer-reviewed empirical studies related to school violence and victimization. Accepting a variety of social science methodologies, this international journal explores the broad range of contemporary issues centering on violence in the school environment. These issues often include, but are not limited to, the nature, extent, prevention, and consequences of school violence for students, teachers, and staff of all manner of educational systems.
from 2002 to the present
An international journal aimed at publishing original research of an interdisciplinary nature that has a direct bearing on the understanding or remediation of problems associated with developmental disabilities
from 1987 to present
Go to General Educational Resource (database)
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowGo to General Educational Resource (journal)
A multi-disciplinary professional journal that publishes primarily empirical research on the links between early childhood education and children's development from birth to age 8. It is international in scope and designed to emphasize the implications of research and solid scientific information for practice and policy.
from 1997 to present
The Journal focuses on two key concepts: human development and application of knowledge.
from 1980 to present
The official journal of the National Association of Early Childhood Teacher Educators. Its purpose is to provide a forum for consideration of issues and for exchange of information and ideas about research and practice in early childhood teacher education. Teacher education can focus on pre-service teacher preparation and in-service professional development.
from 1997 to present
The main focus of Social Development is on development in childhood with lifespan, cross-species and cross-cultural perspectives enhancing our understanding of human development also explored.
from 1997 to present
An international journal concerned primarily with teachers, teaching, or teacher education situated in an international perspective or in an international context.
from 1985 to present
Go to General Educational Resource (database)
This link opens in a new windowGo to General Educational Resource (Journal)
Provides the latest research, not only for researchers and theoreticians, but also for child psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric social workers, specialists in early childhood education, educational psychologists, special education teachers, and other researchers.
from 01/01/1996 to present
Publishes articles that significantly advance knowledge and theory about development across the life span.
From 1969 to present
Serves psychologists, educators, psychiatrists, paediatricians, social workers and other professionals who deal with research, planning, education and care of infants and young children.
from 1997 to present
The Journal focuses on two key concepts: human development and application of knowledge.
from 1980 to present
JSR is designed to stimulate research and promote an interdisciplinary understanding of the diverse topics in contemporary sexual science.
from 1997 to present
Dedicated to the dissemination of information in the field of sexual orientation and gender diversity. It is a primary outlet for research particularly as it impacts practice, education, public policy, and social action.
from 2013 to present
Publishes original research reports as well as original theoretical papers and conceptual review articles that explore how gender organizes people’s lives and their surrounding worlds, including gender identities, belief systems, representations, interactions, relations, organizations, institutions, and statuses.
from 03/01/1975 to present
Includes informative articles, resources and tools to promote the participation of early childhood teachers in teacher research.
from 2010 to present
Go to General Educational Resource (database)
JSTOR is a collection of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences digitized in most cases back to the first date of issue. Includes selected books, primary sources and other materials for academic work.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowGo to General Educational Resource (journal)
evoted to the examination of educational questions using perspectives from a variety of disciplines.
From 3/1/2006 to present
This open access journal publishes articles on every aspect of education, from pre-school to university education, on informal as well as formal education, and on methodological and historiographical issues.
From 1989 to present
Focusses on the history of education in all parts of the world, and is recognised as a key resource for both educationists and social historians alike.
from 03/01/1997 to present
An international, peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to publishing high-quality scholarship on the history of education.
From 2011 to present
An international journal committed to the publication of high quality peer reviewed research and theoretical papers located in the history of education.
Most recent year not available in full-text.
From 2004 to present
A journal of research, analysis, and commentary in the field of education.
from 2005 to present -electronic
1970 to 1979 on microfilm
1997 to present in print in Fenwick Library