InfoGuides: Hye Jung's Playground: Find Books

Juvenile Literature

Find Juvenile Literature via the Library Catalog

The Juvenile Collection is located on the first floor of the Fenwick Library in the 1600 wing. Books are added to this collection via a book approval plan for award winning juvenile literature and through faculty requests. The plan includes Newberry and Caldecott Medal winners, multi-cultural awards such as Coretta Scott King and Tomoas Rivera awards as well as international awards such as Aurealis, Bisto, Kate Greenway, and Costa Awards.

To limit a search of the Library Catalog to only those resources available in the Juvenile Collection, follow these instructions:

Go to Library's home page: https://library.gmu.edu/
Click on Advanced Search immediately below the line in the search box
Enter your search. For example in the first field put juvenile literature
Limit material type to books
When the results return on the left side of the screen, under location select
Under Location click on Fenwick Juvenile Literature

You may also want to look at the Curriculum Collection

The library's curriculum collection is located on the 1st floor of the Fenwick Library in the old B wing. The collection is a public review site for Virginia Department of Education's textbooks and instructional materials adopted for use in Virginia K-12 schools.

Select e-Books & Books

Big Ideas for Little Kids : Teaching Philosophy through Children's Literatur
Explains why it is important to allow young children access to philosophy during primary-school education.
Proquest Ebook
Exploring Our Country's History: Linking Fiction to Nonfiction : Linking Fiction to Nonfiction
Perry provides recommended fiction and nonfiction books that help you illuminate different eras in U.S. history along with discussion starters, multidisciplinary activity suggestions, and topics for further investigation.
EBSCO e-Book
Oxford companion to Children’s Literature
Provides an indispensable and fascinating reference guide to the world of children's literature.
Oxford e-Book
Tanglewood Tales
A re-writing of well-known Greek myths in a volume for children. Hawthorne wrote these stories for children based on Greek myth and legend.
Proquest Ebook
A visit to the world of Frida Kahlo
Examines what makes Frida Kahlo so special in 20th century Mexican art
Proquest Ebook

After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back up Again)
Epilogue to the beloved classic nursery rhyme Humpty Dumpty. Everyone knows that when Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall, Humpty Dumpty had a great fall. But what happened after? Now terrified of heights, Humpty can longer do many of the things he loves most. Will he summon the courage to face his fear? After the Fall (How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again) is a masterful picture book that will remind readers of all ages that Life begins when you get back up.
PZ7.S23817 Aft 2017
Fenwick Library-Juvenile Collection
A Boy Named Queen
Evelyn befriends Queen, the new boy in town, who does not seem to get fazed by bullies and lives by his own rules, and soon begins to learn new things about the world and herself.
PZ7.C2685825 Bo 2016
Fenwick Library Juvenile Collection
A Different Pond
As a young boy, Bao Phi awoke early, hours before his father's long workday began, to fish on the shores of a small pond in Minneapolis. Unlike many other anglers, Bao and his father fished for food, not recreation.
PZ7.1.P5153 Di 2017
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
The Hate U Give
Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. ...
PZ7.1.T448 Hat 2017
Fenwick Library-Juvenile Collection
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
When the sister who delighted their parents by her faithful embrace of Mexican culture dies in a tragic accident, Julia, who longs to go to college and move into a home of her own, discovers from mutual friends that her sister may not have been as perfect as believed.
PZ7.1.S257 Iaam 2017
Fenwick Juvenile Collection

The Day You Begin
Woodson's lyrical text and Rafael Lopez's dazzling art reminds us that we all feel like outsiders sometimes-and how brave it is that we go forth anyway. And that sometimes, when we reach out and begin to share stories, others will be happy to meet us halfway.

Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ7.W868 Day 2018
I'm Like You, You're Like Me
This colorful, inviting book, helps children from preschool to lower elementary learn about diversity in terms they can understand: hair that's straight or curly, families with many people or few bodies that are big or small. It helps kids appreciate the ways they are alike and affirm their individual differences.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
BF723.I56 G35 2011
Last Stop on Market Street
This follows CJ as he rides the bus with his grandmother after church. As he comments (and sometimes complains) about their community , she lovingly chastises him and points out the beauty of the world around them.

Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ7.P3725 Las 2015
Marisol Mcdonald Doesn't Match / Marisol Mcdonald no Combina
Marisol McDonald has flaming red hair and nut-brown skin. Polka dots and stripes are her favorite combination. She prefers peanut butter and jelly burritos in her lunch box. To Marisol, these seemingly mismatched things make perfect sense together. Other people wrinkle their nose in confusion at Marisol--can't she just choose one or the other?
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ73 .B68564 2011
The Name Jar
Being the new kid in school is hard enough, but what about when nobody can pronounce your name? So instead of introducing herself on the first day of school, she tells the class that she will choose a name by the following week. .When one of her classmates comes to her neighborhood and discovers her real name and its special meaning, the name jar mysteriously disappears. Encouraged by her new friends, Unhei chooses her own Korean name and helps everyone pronounce it-Yoon-Hey.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ7.C446263 Nam 2001
Same, Same but Different
ompares the lives of two kid pen pals: Elliot in America and Kailash in India. They learn what they have in common (pets, taking a bus to school, living with their families) and where they differ, but these differences are celebrated, instead of being treated as a barrier to their friendship
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ7.K85278 Sam 2011
Separate Is Never Equal
Almost 10 years before Brown vs. Board of Education, Sylvia Mendez and her parents helped end school segregation in California. An American citizen of Mexican and Puerto Rican heritage who spoke and wrote perfect English, Mendez was denied enrollment to a "Whites only" school. Her parents took action by organizing the Hispanic community and filing a lawsuit in federal district court. Their success eventually brought an end to the era of segregated education in California. Tonatiuh makes excellent use of picture-book storytelling
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
LC214.2 .T66 2014

10,000 Dresses
In her dreams, Bailey is a young girl. Every night she dreams about magical dresses. Unfortunately, when Bailey wakes up, nobody wants to hear about her beautiful dreams. This is because Bailey is a boy and shouldn't be thinking about dresses at all. However, Bailey meets an older girl who is touched and inspired by Bailey's dreams and courage. Eventually they start making dresses together that represent Bailey's dreams coming to life.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ7.E94717 Aaj 2008
George
A bright, bold debut about a girl who was born a boy, but refuses to let that stand in the way of her dream. More than anything else, George wants to play Charlotte in her fourth-grade class's production of Charlotte's Web. The problem is, her teacher won't let her, because George is a boy. With the help of her best friend, George must learn to stand up for her wish - and brave a few bullies along the way.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ7.1.G575 Geo 2015
Girl Mans Up
All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl she's always been. So why does everyone have a problem with it? They think the way she looks and acts means she's trying to be a boy--that she should quit trying to be something she's not. If she dresses like a girl, and does what her folks want, it will show respect. If she takes orders and does what her friend Colby wants, it will show her loyalty. But respect and loyalty, Pen discovers, are empty words. Old-world parents, disintegrating friendships, and strong feelings for other girls drive Pen to see the truth--that in order to be who she truly wants to be, she'll have to man up.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ7.1.G583 Gi 2016
Introducing Teddy: A Gentle Story about Gender and Friendship
Introducing Teddy introduces the youngest readers to understanding gender identity and transition in an accessible and heart-warming story about being true to yourself and being a good friend.

Fenwick Library: Juvenile Collection
PZ7.1.W364 In 2016
Morris Micklewhite and the Tangerine Dress
Morris is a little boy who loves using his imagination. He dreams about having space adventures, paints beautiful pictures and sings the loudest during circle time. But most of all, Morris loves his classroom's dress-up center -- he loves wearing the tangerine dress. But the children in Morris's class don't understand. With warm, dreamy illustrations Isabelle Malenfant perfectly captures Morris's vulnerability and the vibrancy of his imagination. This is a sweetly told story about the courage and creativity it takes to be different.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ7.B18122 Mor 2014

All the Colors of the Earth
Celebrate the colors of children and the colors of love--not black or white or yellow or red, but roaring brown, whispering gold, tinkling pink, and more. This beautifully illustrated book "celebrates the beauty of diversity to the fullest through engaging, rhyming text.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ8.3.H17 All 1994
From Then to Now
Just 50,000 years ago, our hunter-gatherer ancestors ventured off the African savannah and into the wider world. Now, our technology reaches far out into the cosmos. How did we get to where we are today? With lively text and colorful illustrations, this book explains how individual societies struggled to find their own paths, despite war, disease, slavery, natural disasters, and the relentless growth of human knowledge.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
D23 .M66 2011
I Am Different: Can You Find Me?
This clever picture book presents sixteen visual puzzles. On every page, readers must pick out the one item that is different from the rest--a different color, a different shape, reversed from left to right, or just asleep when others are awake! The phrase "Can you find me?" is shown in a different language on every page. Can you find me? Me puedes encontrar? Unaweza kupata mimi?
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
LC208 .P33 2011
A Life Like Mine
Profiles children from all over the globe leading their lives in different and fascinating ways. The challenges of nations both developed and developing are revealed in the stories and photographs .
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
HQ789 .L54 2006
This Child, Every Child
A groundbreaking book of statistics and stories that compare the lives of children around the world today. Uses statistics and stories to draw kids into the world beyond their own borders and provide a window into the lives of their fellow children.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
HQ767.9 .S633 2011
What Does It Mean to Be Global?
Join children from around the world as they play, sing, and travel, trying all types of food and experiencing other traditions. Living respectfully and peacefully with one another, they celebrate diversity,see how their actions affect another person's experience, and come to understand that being global means being a citizen of the world.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
BJ1533.R42 D567 2009

Alicia's Fruity Drinks / Las Aguas Frescas de Alicia
In this bilingual picture book for children ages 5-8, a young girl discovers a treat from her mother's Mexican-American childhood and becomes her friends favorite player with her healthy, frothy fruit drinks.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ73 .R863 2012
Book Fiesta!
This Pura Belpré Award-winning picture book is a bilingual ride through the joyous history of Children's Day/El día de los niños. Children's Day/Book Day; El día de los niños/El día de los libros has been observed on April 30th for over twelve years. Founder Pat Mora's jubilant celebration of this day features imaginative text and lively illustrations by award-winning illustrator Rafael López that will turn this bilingual fiesta into a hit for story time! Toon! Toon! The book includes a letter from the author and suggestions for celebrating Children's Day /El día de los niños.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ73 .M635 2008
I See the Sun in Myanmar (Burma)
Takes place in a small town on the Irawaddy River in Myanmar, the country formally known as Burma. Lush illustrations and a bilingual story in English and Burmese offer Aye Aye's view of her beautiful country.

Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ7.K5759 Ismy 2013
I See the Sun in Russia
Through the eyes of a child, reveals the story of a day in the life of Anton, a young boy growing up in St. Petersburg, Russia. Anton loves to play the violin and he and his family hope that one day he will play in an orchestra. On this day his class takes a field trip to the Hermitage Palace, but there's still time for violin lessons and playing soccer in the hall of his apartment building before supper. .
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ63 .K555 2012
Rubia and the Three Osos
Publication Date: 2010-09-07
TheOso family is going out for a stroll, and Rubia has her eye on their empty casita. A nice bowl of sopa, a comfortable chair, a perfecta little bed Who wouldn't want to open la puerta and come in? This is the story of Goldilocks and the Three Bears, retold in a musical combination of English and Spanish, illustrated with great humor and heart by a Caldecott Honor-winning artist, and featuring a surprise ending that's downright fabuloso. Just right for bilingual families, new Spanish speakers, and anyone who likes a bueno twist on a classic.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ8.3.E514 Ru 2010
When Christmas Feels Like Home
After moving from a small village in Mexico to a town in the United States, Eduardo is sure it will never feel quite like home. The other children don't speak his language and they do not play f#65533;tbol. His family promises him that he will feel right at home by the time Christmas comes along, when "your words float like clouds from your mouth" and "trees will ride on cars." With whimsical imagery and a sprinkling of Spanish vocabulary, Gretchen Griffith takes readers on a multicultural journey with Eduardo who discovers the United States is not so different from Latin America and home is wherever family is.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
PZ7.G8819 Whe 2013
Where's the Kitten? (Haitian Creole/English)
Where is the kitten hiding? Lift the flap and find out! Part of the Photoflap series.
Fenwick Juvenile Collection
9781595720283

Find Books at Mason

Still can't find the item? Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request books, media and articles from other libraries when they are not available at Mason or the WRLC. Start your research early if you want to take advantage of this wonderful service as it can take up to 2 weeks.