InfoGuides: Hye Jung's Playground: Start to Write & Publish

Getting Started Publishing

Association of University Presses
AUPresses offers a number of useful resources and tools for scholars, in their roles as both authors and faculty members, from advice and references for finding a publisher, to answering questions about copyright and permissions, to tools for preparing manuscript materials

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window
Provides current information to prospective authors for journals (the Libraries’ subscription only covers business and education subject areas), including scope/coverage, acceptance/rejection rates, number of reviewers, time required for review, availability of reviewers' comments, fees charged to review or publish the manuscript, copies required, manuscript topics and contact information. Users must enter their gmu.edu email and receive a code sent to that email for access.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Evaluates leading journals worldwide, in the sciences and social sciences. Compiles articles' cited references, to help measure research influence and impact at journal and category levels, and show the relationship between citing and cited journals. Part of the InCites platform available through Web of Science.

JournalGuide
JournalGuide is a free tool that helps researchers to evaluate scholarly journals. In addition to searching by journal name, category or publisher, authors can use the title and abstract of a paper to discover journals that have already published articles on similar topics. By matching journals to a paper’s content, researchers can see which journals would be most likely to have interest in their story

Mason Publishing Opportunity

Are you interested in publishing an article in a peer-reviewed journal? Would you like to participate in the publishing of a peer-reviewed journal?

The Journal of Mason Graduate Research (JMGR) provides Mason, and the broader academic community, a quality peer-reviewed, open access journal for graduate research. They are looking for Master and doctoral students to write for and/or volunteer to help with the publishing of the journal. Click on the links below to access the latest issue of the journal and to access information for authors:

Journal home: (https://journals.gmu.edu/jmgr/index)
Information for Authors: (https://journals.gmu.edu/jmgr/information/authors)

Get Started on Your Dissertation

Use the links below to look at research by Mason students and the wider academic community.

Dissertations & Theses @ George Mason University This link opens in a new window
Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format, as well as a 24-page online preview. Content submitted by George Mason University and published in Dissertation Abstracts.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. Contains new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

University Dissertation & Thesis Services
University Dissertation and Thesis Services (UDTS) helps Mason graduate students prepare, format, complete, and submit their theses and dissertations correctly and on time. Provides a wealth of information and assistance during the process