Hye Jung's Playground

Test location for learning libguides

Higher Education Topics Overview

The purpose of this page is to connect use to resources related to:

Click the navigation on the left or the link above

General Higher Education

If you want to access general higher education resources, please visit Find Research Tools page.

Higher Education Administration

Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of literature concerning educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, and educational research.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Return to the top of the page

Academy of Management Learning & Education
Features a wide range of materials devoted to management education in colleges and universities, and all organizations that formally foster learning about management.
from 09/01/2002 to present
Economics of Education Review
Publishes research on education policy and finance, human capital production and acquisition, and the returns to human capital
from 1981 to present
Educational Administration Quarterly
Publishes prominent empirical and conceptual articles focused on timely and critical leadership and policy issues of educational organizations. Coverage from 1965 to the present
Educational Management Administration & Leadership
Publishes original and significant contributions on educational administration, management and leadership, in its widest sense, from all over the world.
From 1965 to present
Harvard Business Review
Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
from 10/01/1922 to present
Higher Education Management & Policy
Previously published as Higher Education Management, Higher Education Management and Policy (HEMP). It covers the field through articles and reports on such issues as quality assurance, human resources, funding, and internationalisation. It also is a source of information on activities and events organised by OECD’s IMHE Programme.
from 2001 to present
International Journal of Organizational Innovation
Contains research, scholarship, educational and practitioner perspectives on management/organizational-related themes and topics.
from 04/01/2009 to present
Leader to Leader
Report on management, leadership, and strategy written by today's top leaders themselves.
from 01/01/2000 to present
University Business (non-scholarly)
Deals with the bureaucratic side of higher learning.
from 12/01/2001 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

American Association of University Administrators (AAUA)
Works to develop and advance superior standards for the profession of higher education administration.
American Council on Education: Leadership
ACE is consistently at the center of federal policy debates in areas critical to higher education. Because of our role as a convener of higher education associations and agencies, the higher education community is able to speak with one clear voice on vital issues affecting institutions and students.
Association of College Administration Professionals (ACAP)
Provides services to all college and university administrators, regardless of their positions.
Commission for Academic Affairs ( ACPA)
Provides outreach, advocacy, and professional development opportunities to individuals in higher education who work in or with academic affairs related areas.
Council of Higher Education Management Associations (CHEMA)
An informal voluntary assembly of management-oriented higher education associations in the United States and Canada.

Community Colleges

Associates Programs Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers journals on subjects commonly taught in community colleges, including Accounting, Agriculture, Child Care, Cosmetology, Culinary Arts and Food Service, Forestry, Graphic Arts, Hospitality Management, Interior Design, Journalism, Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning, Veterinary Technology and Welding.
Oxford University Press Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 100 periodical titles in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. Full text generally available for the past several years; abstracts of articles date back additional years.

Return to the top of the page

Community College Enterprise
Published by and for community college practitioners, fosters & shares sound educational practices based upon scholarship & research.
from 11/01/2003 to present
Community College Journal
Features articles by leading experts, opinions that put the news in perspective, coverage of higher education issues, & profiles of the field's leaders; covers news & information from a national network of colleges, providing the latest surveys, etc.
from 02/01/2000 to present
Community College Journal of Research and Practice
Multidisciplinary forum for researchers and practitioners in higher education and the behavioral and social sciences. It promotes an increased awareness of community college issues by providing an exchange of ideas, research, and empirically tested educational innovations.from 01/01/1997 to present
Community College Review
Publishes articles on all aspects of community college administration, education, and policy, both within the American higher education system as well as within the higher education systems of other countries that have similar tertiary institutions.
from 04/01/1973 to present
Journal of Applied Research in the Community College
Focused on serving institutional researchers and planners in community colleges. All submissions must have clearly identified recommendations for practice, which inform enhanced programming, policies, practices, and structures in community colleges.
from 09/01/2004 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

American Association for Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC)
AAWCC has worked deliberately and diligently to ensure the equitable treatment and success of women in community colleges.
American Association of Community Colleges
AACC promotes community colleges through five strategic action areas: recognition and advocacy for community colleges; student access, learning, and success; community college leadership development; economic and workforce development; and global and intercultural education.
American Student Association of Community Colleges (ASACC)
A national student-governed organization that provides leadership, citizenship and advocacy development opportunities for community college student government leaders.
Community College Research Center
Leading independent authority on the nation’s nearly 1,200 two-year colleges.

Community-University Partnerships

ECAR (EDUCAUSE Center for Applied Research) This link opens in a new window
Publications about the role and implications of information technology in higher education. Access to full-text is available only to current GMU faculty, staff and students by registering for a username and password. Note: Click 'Login' to create a user profile with your Mason email or to access your account.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of literature concerning educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, and educational research.

Return to the top of the page

Gateways: International Journal of Community Research & Engagement
Concerned with the practice and processes of community research and other forms of engagement.
from 2008 to present
Journal of Community Engagement and Scholarship
Integrates teaching, research, and community engagement in all disciplines, addressing problems identified through a community-participatory process.
from 09/01/2008 to present
Journal of Higher Education Outreach and Engagement
Features content on theory and practice related to all forms of outreach and engagement between higher education institutions and communities.
from Spring 1996 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

Civic Learning American Association of Colleges and Universities (AAC&U)
AAC&U provides many resources for strengthening civic and social responsibility, including white papers, campus models and case studies, assessment tools, and publications. This is an institutional membership organization, though many resources are also available to nonmembers
Engagement Scholarship Consortium (ESC)
Supports university-community partnerships with an emphasis on research and scholarship. In addition to an annual conference and publishing two journals, ESC also offers an annual, selective Emerging Engagement Scholars Workshop for doctoral students and early-career faculty interested in community-engaged scholarship.
International Association for Research on Service-Learning and Community Engagement (IARSLCE)
This key organization advances research focused on community engagement. It offers an annual conference and provides resources such as a journal, Graduate Student Network, job postings, an email newsletter, webinars, and awards/recognition for faculty and graduate student scholarship.
National Service-Learning Clearinghouse
This searchable database of free online service-learning resources includes assignments, articles, activities, reflection prompts, and more. It includes both K–12 and higher education resources.
Swearer Center for Public Service, Brown University.
The center coordinates the elective Community Engagement Classification for higher education institutions (formerly coordinated by the Carnegie Foundation, 2006-2016). Criteria includes institutional mission, reciprocity of community relationships, assessment, scholarship, and other areas.

Distance Education

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text articles in the area of computing and information technologies from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the ACM.

Return to the top of the page

American Journal of Distance Education
Provides a unique depository of previous research as well as the most recent research-based knowledge about all aspects of the pedagogy of the field.
from 01/01/1997 to present
Distance Education
The journal publishes research and scholarly material in the fields of open, distance and flexible education where learners are free from the constraints of the time, pace and place of study.
1997 to present
International Journal of Distance Education Technologies
A forum for researchers and practitioners to disseminate practical solutions to the automation of open and distance learning
.from 01/01/2003 to present
International Journal of e-Learning & Distance Education
Aims are to promote and encourage scholarly work in e-learning and distance education and provide a forum for the dissemination of international scholarship.
from 03/01/2014 to present
Open Education: The Journal for Open Education & Educational Technology
Publishes theoretical papers, original research, translations of articles, reviews and presentation of congress, symposiums, conferences, seminars and educational activities which are relevant to Open and Distance Education Technology.
from 12/01/2009 to present
Quarterly Review of Distance Education
Publishes articles, research briefs, reviews, & editorials dealing with the theories, research, & practices of distance education.
from 03/01/2002 to present
Turkish Online Journal of Distance Education (TOJDE)
Contains articles focusing on the issues and challenges of providing theory, research and information services to global learners in any kind of distance education or open learning applications.
from 2000 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

EDUCAUSE
A nonprofit association that helps higher education elevate the impact of Information Technology
European Association for Distance Learning (EADL)
EADL aims to improve the quality and acceptance of distance learning to ensure the maximum benefit for students. EADL provides its members with a forum for open discussion of all issues related to distance learning and for sharing ideas and good practice.
International Council for Open and Distance Education (ICDE)
Global membership organization for online, open and flexible education and draws its membership from institutions, educational authorities, commercial actors, and individuals.
Online Learning Consortium
Dedicated to quality digital education for anyone, anywhere, anytime.
United States Distance Learning Association
The first nonprofit distance learning association in the United States to support distance learning research, development and praxis across the complete arena of education, training and communications.

International Higher Education

Digital Library for International Research This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and full-text primary and secondary source information, covering both print collections and research collections in other media in Europe, the Near and Middle East, South and Southeast Asia, and West Africa. Includes bibliographic materials from Inner Asia and the New World.
Fuente Académica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Accesses scholarly journal articles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. Covers all major subject areas with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion, and sociology.
Oxford University Press Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 100 periodical titles in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. Full text generally available for the past several years; abstracts of articles date back additional years.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Access over 480 journals, books, book series (including Lecture Notes in Computer Science and Topics in Current Chemistry), protocols, and reference works published by Springer and its partners. Covers subjects in computer science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, business and economics, biomedical and life sciences.
World Development Indicators Online This link opens in a new window
Contains statistical and time series data for over 600 development indicators dating back to the 1960's. Data includes social, economic, financial, and environmental indicators for over 200 countries and 18 country groups.
World Higher Education Database (WHED) This link opens in a new window
Includes information available on higher education systems and credentials in 184 countries and over 18,000 higher education institutions worldwide.

Return to the top of the page

Education Research International
An international journal aimed at facilitating the global exchange of education theory
from 2011 to present
International Journal of Educational Development
Reports new insight and foster critical debate about the role that education plays in development.
from 1981 to present
Journal of Higher Education
Publishes original research reporting on the academic study of higher education as a broad enterprise.
from 01/01/1997 to present
Journal of Studies in International Education (JSIE)
Forum for higher education leaders, administrators, educators, researchers and policy makers interested in all facets of the internationalization of higher education.
from 03/01/1997 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

Alliance for International Exchange
An association of 90 nongovernmental organizations comprising the international educational and cultural exchange community in the United States.
American Council on Education (ACE)
describe
ACE Model for Comprehensive Internationalization
Based on its work colleges and universities in the ACE Internationalization Laboratory and other institutions, ACE has identify six interconnected target areas that require attention and resources in order to achieve truly comprehensive internationalization. Together, these comprise the ACE Model for Comprehensive Internationalization:
Consortium for North American Higher Education Collaboration
CONAHEC advises and connects institutions interested in establishing or strengthening academic collaborative programs within the North American region and beyond.
European Association for International Education (EAIE)
The EAIE is the European centre for expertise, networking and resources in the internationalisation of higher education.
IIE: The Power of International Education
IIE’s mission is to help people and organizations leverage the power of international education to thrive in today’s interconnected world
International Higher Education Teaching and Learning Association (HETL)
The aim of HETL is to bring together higher education professionals and thought leaders from around the world to dialogue, network, and collaborate on issues relevant to teaching and learning in higher education.
NAFSA: Association of International Educators
the world's largest nonprofit association dedicated to international education and exchange, working to advance policies and practices that ensure a more interconnected, peaceful world today and for generations to come.

Comprehensive Internationalization Framework

Comprehensive internationalization is defined by the American Council on Education (ACE) as a strategic, coordinated process that seeks to align and integrate policies, programs, and initiatives to position colleges and universities as more globally oriented and internationally connected institutions.

Based on its work colleges and universities in the ACE Internationalization Laboratory and other institutions, ACE has identify six interconnected target areas that require attention and resources in order to achieve truly comprehensive internationalization. Together, these comprise the ACE Model for Comprehensive Internationalization:

Image of the 6 components of the six target areas of the model

For detailed information about the six interconnected target areas pictured above, click on the following link: Comprehensive internationalization Framework.

Visit the Internalization Toolkit which includes examples of policies, programs, surveys, and information from participants in the Internalization Laboratory program and other institutions.

Legislation & the Law

HeinOnline

Very large image-based legal research database includes such collections as: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements Library and more.
Nexis Uni

Provides access to a wide range of news (includes New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times), business (company news, industry forecasts), government (legislative news, tax information), legal (news, case law) and reference information.

PolicyFile
Public policy research and analytical papers on governmental and legal topics can be accessed here, representing the work of think tanks, research groups and academic institutes.

Public Affairs Information Service
Formerly PAIS Decade, this database consists of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories.

Return to the top of the page

Brigham Young University Education and Law Journal
Articles, review articles, commentary and book reviews covering legal topics within the field of education.
from 1993 to present
Journal of College and University Law
he only law review in the United States dedicated exclusively to the law of higher education. Since post-secondary education represents a microcosm of the greater community and world, virtually all legal issues of significant interest—race, gender, freedom of speech, religion and bioethics—arise on our campuses.
from 1973 to present
Journal of Law and Education
Devoted exclusively to school law, with emphasis on critical current & emerging issues, serving both the legal & educational professions.
from 1972 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

Center for Excellence in Higher Education Law and Policy at Stetson Law School

Provides a unique resource for both attorneys and non-attorneys alike in advancing a better understanding of the ever-changing realm of higher education.
Education Law Association

he premier association for practical knowledge, scholarship, and interdisciplinary dialogue about legal and policy issues affecting all levels of education.
National Association for College and University Attorneys

The Association's purpose is to enhance legal assistance to colleges and universities by educating attorneys and administrators as to the nature of campus legal issues.
University of Houston Law Center: Institute for Higher Education Law and Governance

It has as its primary aim providing information and publications to colleges and universities related to the field of higher education law, and also has a broader mission to be a focal point for discussion and thoughtful analysis of higher education legal issues

Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR)

The official compilation of all administrative regulations issued by agencies of the state of Maryland.
Congress.gov

Presented by the Library of Congress, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information.
Maryland Higher Education Commission

Coordinating board responsible for establishing statewide policies for Maryland public and private colleges and universities and for-profit career schools. MHEC also administers state financial aid programs that affect students on a statewide basis.
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV)

SCHEV is the Commonwealth's coordinating body for higher education.
U.S. Department of Education - Laws and Guidance

Legislation, regulations, guidance, and other policy documents can be found here for the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), and other topics. NOTE: In the U.S., the federal role in education is limited. Because of the Tenth Amendment, most education policy is decided at the state and local levels.
Virginia Codes, Rules and Statutes

Includes bill tracking, browsing and searching, a comprehensive subject index of bills, resolutions and documents, and state code searching.

Minorities & Gender

APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology from journals published by the APA and allied organizations spanning from 1984 to the present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Its archival material, dating back to 1970, focuses on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides broad coverage of the world's LGBTQ literature, for both academic and lifestyle publications. Covers historically significant journals, magazines, and regional newspapers, both mainstream and grey, and hundreds of books and reference works. Topics include sociology, culture, civil liberties, individual lives, family, community, employment, history, politics, psychology, and religion.
ProQuest Social Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window
Provides global indexing of the scholarly literature in the social sciences, including full-text scholarly journals and key non-periodical sources such as dissertations and working papers, covering political science, sociology, the applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, and other areas. Search one or more of these databases, from Alt-PressWatch to Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains citations and abstracts from thousands of journals, as well as books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers from 1952 to present. Includes the complete Social Services Abstracts.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in women’s studies and feminist research, largely from 1972-present (some earlier material included). Includes sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, arts & humanities, international relations and education. Contains over 2,000 periodicals, and other sources such as newspapers, newsletters, books, book chapters, proceedings, theses, dissertations, NGO studies and other grey literature.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes more than 3.7 million records.

Return to the top of the page

Diverse Issues in Higher Education
Covers issues & events affecting diverse groups in higher education.
from 8/25/2005 to present
Equity and Excellence in Education
Contains essays relating to implementing equality of learning and expanding understanding of its implications in a multicultural world; studies on schools in society.
from 04/01/1997 to present
Gender & Education
Articles and viewpoints from around the world which contribute to feminist knowledge, theory, consciousness, action, and debate.
from 03/01/1995 to present
Gender, Work and Organization
Dedicated to advancing theory, research and analytically driven applications concerning gender relations at work, the organization of gender and the gendering of organizations. Draws on organisation and management theory, cultural studies etc.
from 01/01/1996 to present
Journal of Diversity in Higher Education
Offers research findings, theory, and promising practices to help guide the efforts of institutions of higher education in the pursuit of inclusive excellence.
from 03/01/2008 to present
Journal of Hispanic Higher Education
Devoted to the advancement of knowledge and understanding of issues at Hispanic-serving institutions.
from 01/01/2002 to present
Women Studies Quarterly
An interdisciplinary forum for the exchange of emerging perspectives on women, gender, and sexuality
from 03/01/2008 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

American Association of University Professors
Committed solely to college and university faculty members. It defends academic freedom and tenure, advocates collegial governance, and develops policies ensuring due process.
American Association of University Women (AAUW)
The nation’s leading voice promoting equity and education for women and girls.
American Council on Education: Diversity & Inclusion
Programs, resources and research to foster greater diversity and inclusion in higher education, particularly within the senior leadership ranks.
Association on Higher Education & Disability (AHEAD)
AHEAD has offered an unparalleled member experience to disability resource professionals, student affairs personnel, ADA coordinators, diversity officers, AT/IT staff, faculty and other instructional personnel, and colleagues who are invested in creating welcoming higher education experiences for disabled individuals.
Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resource Professionals
Support individuals who work on campuses to educate and support people of diverse sexual orientations and gender identities, as well as advocate for more inclusive policies and practices through an intersectional and racial justice framework
Hispanic Association of Colleges & Univeristies (HACU)
HACU is committed to Hispanic success in education, from kindergarten through graduate school and into the work force of tomorrow.

Policy & Planning

Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of literature concerning educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, and educational research.
FindPolicy.org This link opens in a new window
Search across leading think tanks in a policy area. Search engines within FindPolicy include: Climate, Economy, Development, Foreign Policy, and general Public Policy. There are also country-level and regional searches.
Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Return to the top of the page

Educational Policy
Examines the relationship between educational policy and educational practice, and sheds new light on important debates and controversies within the field.
from 03/01/1987 to present
Education Policy Analysis and strategic research
Contains analysis of education policy at all levels and in all nations.
01/15/2006 to present
Higher Education Policy
Focuses on issues of significance in higher education policy.
from 01/01/1997 to present
Higher Education Quarterly
Articles concerned with policy, strategic management and ideas in higher education.
from 1987 to present
Journal of Education Policy
Publishes original, critically and theoretically informed research that discusses, analyses and debates policymaking, policy implementation and the impact of policy at all levels and in all facets of formal and informal education
from 01/01/1997 to present
Journal of Higher Education Policy & Management
The journal also aims to be of use to managers and senior academic staff who seek to place their work and interests in a broad context and influence educational policy and practice.
from 05/01/1997 to present
Studies in Higher Education
The Journal welcomes contributions that seek to enhance understanding of higher education policy, institutional management and performance, teaching and learning, and the contribution of higher education to society and the economy.
from 01/01/1976 to present

Journal of Marketing for Higher Education
Focuses on the marketing of higher education.
from 02/01/1997 to present
Perspectives: Policy and Practice in Higher Education
Provides higher education managers and administrators with innovative material which analyses and informs their practice of management.
from 03/01/1997
Planning for Higher Education
Covers trends and issues in academic planning and management, planning techniques and applied research of relevance to educational decision making.
from 10/01/2008 to present
Quality in Higher Education
Aimed at those interested in the theory, practice and policies relating to the control, management and improvement of quality in higher education
from 04/01/1997 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Search, browse, and access the full text of more than 2,000 journals published by Taylor & Francis covering the humanities, medicine, the social sciences, science, and technology.

Association for the Study of Higher Education

romotes collaboration among its members and others engaged in the study of higher education through research, conferences, and publications, including its highly regarded journal,
Brown Center on Education Policy at the Brookings Institution

The Law Library collects all Brookings Institution publications; check GULLiver catalog for print versions. This site provides a subject arrangement of Brookings' publications on education. Topics included are: education equality, education finance, education research, education statistics, elementary and secondary education (K-12), higher education, school choice, teachers, testing and assessments.
Society for College and University Planning (SCUP)

community of higher education leaders responsible for the integration of planning on their campuses and for the professionals who support them.
University Risk Management and Insurance Association (URMIA)

URMIA's core purpose is to promote the advancement and application of effective risk management principles and practices in institutions of higher education.

Program Evaluation

Cambridge Journals Online
Over 125 specialized journals from renowned research societies and associations in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Education Full Text
Coverage of education-related English-language periodicals, monographs & yearbooks. Topics include: comparative education, educational technology, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, literacy standards, school administration & others.

Return to the top of the page

American Journal of Evaluation
Contains articles on techniques and methods of evaluation to assist evaluators to improve the theory and practice of their profession, to develop their skills, to encourage dialogue, and to improve their knowledege base.
from 02/01/1981 to present
Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education
Provides current information about significant developments within the field of assessment & evaluation in higher education.
from 03/01/1997 to present
Educational Assessment, Evaluation & Accountability
Original title: Journal of Personnel Evaluation in Education (2002 - 2007). Focuses on educational effectiveness
from 2009 to present
Evaluation & Program Planning
Based on the principle that the techniques and methods of evaluation and planning transcend the boundaries of specific fields and that relevant contributions to these areas come from people representing many different positions, intellectual traditions, and interests.
from 1978 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

The American Evaluation Association
The American Evaluation Association is a professional association of evaluators devoted to the application and exploration of program evaluation, personnel evaluation, technology, and many other forms of evaluation. Evaluation involves assessing the strengths and weaknesses of programs, policies, personnel, products, and organizations to improve their effectiveness.
Center for Measuring University Performance (MUP)
A research enterprise focused on the competitive national context for major research universities. The MUP work relies heavily on the initiative and insight of its advisory board and draws on the insight and recommendations of many colleagues throughout the country who contribute data, information, and perspective.
Council for Higher Education Accreditation
A national advocate and institutional voice for promoting academic quality through accreditation,
Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS}
Pre-eminent force for promoting standards in student affairs, student services, and student development programs.
National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (NILOA)
NILOA’s primary objective is to discover and disseminate ways that academic programs and institutions can productively use assessment data internally to inform and strengthen undergraduate education, and externally to communicate with policy makers, families and other stakeholders.

Student Services

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes more than 3.7 million records.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of literature concerning educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, and educational research.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access (searching and browsing) to over 800 journals published by Sage in fields of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Taylor and Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Search, browse, and access the full text of more than 2,000 journals published by Taylor & Francis covering the humanities, medicine, the social sciences, science, and technology.

Return to the top of the page

College Student Affairs Journal
Focuses on concepts, practices, and research that have implications and applicability for practitioners involved in college student affairs work.
from 03/01/2005 to present
Journal of College & University Student Housing
Features current research, literature reviews, & other scholarly material of interest to housing officers.
from 06/01/2004 to present
Journal of College Student Development
Largest and leading source of research about college students and the field of student affairs, publishes scholarly articles and reviews from a wide range of academic fields.
from 01/01/2003 to present
Journal of Student Affairs Research & Practice (JSARP)
Formerly known as NAPSA Journal.
JSARP publishes the most rigorous, relevant, and well-respected research and practice making a difference in student affairs practice
from 01/01/2010 to present
New Directions for Student Services
A series of thematic journals offering guidelines and programs for aiding students in their total development--emotional, social and physical as well as intellectual.
from 01/01/1996 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

American Association of Collegiate Registrars & Admissions Officers
Provides professional development, guidelines, and voluntary standards to be used by higher education officials regarding the best practices in records management, admissions, enrollment management, administrative information technology, and student services.
American College Personnel Association (ACPA)
Leading comprehensive student affairs association that advances student affairs and engages students for a lifetime of learning and discovery.
Association for Student Conduct Administration (ASCA)
The mission statement of ASCA is to advance the student conduct profession.
National Academic Advising Association (NACADA)
NACADA promotes and supports quality academic advising in institutions of higher education to enhance the educational development of students.
National Association of Student Affairs Professionals (NASAP)
The mission of NASAP is to promote professional development training, research, and advocacy for student affairs professionals and student leaders who serve at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and those professionals who serve in other diverse settings of higher education.
National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (NASFAA)
Provides professional development and services for financial aid administrators; advocates for public policies that increase student access and success; serves as a forum on student financial aid issues, and is committed to diversity throughout all activities.

Teaching Methods & Curriculum

APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Includes more than 3.7 million records.
ECAR (EDUCAUSE Center for Applied Research) This link opens in a new window
Publications about the role and implications of information technology in higher education. Access to full-text is available only to current GMU faculty, staff and students by registering for a username and password. Note: Click 'Login' to create a user profile with your Mason email or to access your account.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers over 500 full-text, scholarly journals. Also provides indexing and abstracts for all journals in the collection. Subject coverage includes emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
TestLink (ETS) This link opens in a new window
Contains descriptions of over 20,000 tests and other measurement devices dating from the early 1900s to the present. Searchable by title, author (personal or corporate), acronym, subject, year or call number. Note: Some tests are located in the Tests in Microfiche collection located in Periodicals/Microforms on the 1st floor of Fenwick Library.
World Higher Education Database (WHED) This link opens in a new window
Includes information available on higher education systems and credentials in 184 countries and over 18,000 higher education institutions worldwide.

Return to the top of the page

Active Learning in Higher Education
An international, refereed publication for all those who teach and support learning in higher education (HE) and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges.
from 07/01/2000 to present
Curriculum Inquiry
Dedicated to studies of educational experience in schools, communities, families, and other local or transnational settings, using a range of theoretical and disciplinary approaches.
from 01/01/1997 to present
International Journal of Teaching & Learning in Higher Education
Provides broad coverage of higher education pedagogy and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) across diverse content areas, educational institutions, and levels of instructional expertise.
from 2006 to present
Journal of Computing in Higher Education
Contributes to our understanding of the design, development, and implementation of instructional processes and technologies in higher education.
from 01/01/1997 to present
National Teaching & Learning Forum
Covers the breadth of college teaching and learning issues including learning theory, class management, pedagogical innovation, technology and more
from 1997 to present
Teaching in Higher Education
Addresses the roles of teaching, learning and the curriculum in higher education in order to explore and clarify the intellectual challenges which they present.
from 03/01/1997 to present

Action Learning: Research and Practice
Publishes articles which advance knowledge and assist the development of practice through the processes of action learning.
from 04/01/2004 to present
Higher Education Research & Development
Informs and challenges researchers, teachers, administrators, policy-makers and others concerned with the past, present and future of higher education.
from 04/01/1997 to present
Innovative Higher Education
A refereed scholarly journal of articles presenting descriptions and evaluations of current innovations in higher education that strike a balance between practice and theory.
from Fall 1983 to present
Journal of Higher Education Theory and Practice
Dedicated to the advancement and dissemination of academic and intellectual knowledge by publishing, through a blind, refereed process, ongoing results of research in accordance with international scientific or scholarly standards.
from 04/01/2011 to present
New Directions for Teaching & Learning
A series of thematic journals presenting ideas and techniques for improving college teaching, based both on the practical expertise of seasoned instructors and on the latest research findings of educational and psychological researchers.
from 01/01/1996 to present
Professional Development in Education
Publishes original contributions on professional learning and development (PLD) in its widest sense.
from 03/01/2009 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

American Association of University Professors
AAUP has helped to shape American higher education by developing the standards and procedures that maintain quality in education and academic freedom in this country's colleges and universities. We define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, advance the rights of academics, particularly as those rights pertain to academic freedom and shared governance, and promote the interests of higher education teaching and research.
American Educational Research Association
The American Educational Research Association (AERA), a national research society, strives to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.
Educause
EDUCAUSE is a nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education through the use of information technology.
National Education Association: Higher Education Faculty & Staff
Provides a wealth of information on organizing, issues and advocacy, and much more
Tomorrow's Professor
Tomorrow’s Professor is a mailing list aimed at sharing diverse and world-wide teaching and learning topics among its 25,000+ subscribers. This initiative is sponsored by the Stanford Center for Teaching and Learning.

Testing & Evaluation in Higher Education

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Descriptive information and critical reviews of commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence tests.
APA PsycTests (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
TestLink (ETS) This link opens in a new window
Contains descriptions of over 20,000 tests and other measurement devices dating from the early 1900s to the present. Searchable by title, author (personal or corporate), acronym, subject, year or call number. Note: Some tests are located in the Tests in Microfiche collection located in Periodicals/Microforms on the 1st floor of Fenwick Library.
Peterson's Test Prep This link opens in a new window
Formerly Testing and Education Reference Center (TERC). Information on undergraduate and graduate programs of study, along with test prep guides. Offers online practice tests for college and graduate admissions exams such as GRE; GMAT; LSAT; MCAT and MAT; TOEFL; PRAXIS; civil service and military entrance exams, and licensing tests for nursing, real estate, and other fields. Also includes information on distance education programs and financial aid/scholarships. Note: Users are required to create an account in order to access some features of this database, such as taking online practice tests.

Return to the top of the page

American Journal of Evaluation
Explores decisions and challenges related to conceptualizing, designing and conducting evaluations.
from 03/01/1998 to present
Applied Measurement in Education
Helps to bridge the gap between theory and practice, articles in this journal describe original research studies, innovative strategies for solving educational measurement problems, and integrative reviews of current approaches to contemporary measurement issues.
from 01/01/1997 to present
Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education
Publishes papers and reports on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within higher education.
from 03/01/1997 to present
Educational Assessment
Publishes original research on the design, analysis and use of assessment to deepen understanding of the performance and quality of individuals, groups, and programs in educational settings.
from 01/01/1997 to present
Educational Assessment, Evaluation & Accountability
Advances knowledge and dissemination of research on and about assessment, evaluation and accountability of all kinds and on various levels as well as in all fields of education.
from 2009 to present
Studies in Educational Evaluation
Publishes original reports of evaluation studies
from 1975 to present

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text scholarly and professional books published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Provides students, researchers, and educators access to publications in psychology and related fields.
SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access (searching and browsing) journals and eBooks published by Elsevier and its partners. Covers most disciplines, including science, medicine, economics and the social sciences.
Springer Nature eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 45,000 titles in the areas of Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Management, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Economics and Finance, Education, Energy, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics/Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional and Applied Computing. Searchable down to the chapter level, and are integrated with available Springer online journals.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search and discover academic, science, technology and medical ebook content from across all of T&F’s imprints, including CRC Press, Garland Science, Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and others. Options include browse by subject and limit to full-text access.

Assessment and Evaluation in Student Affairs
Pulls together information from current research and publications, our knowledge communities, and NASPA events to strengthen your knowledge base of assessment and evaluation, providing opportunities for involvement, education, and professional development in this critical competency for student affairs professionals.
Assessment in Higher Education
Explore links to ASHA and outside sources designed to assist administration and faculty in establishing and assessing program goals, institutional goals, and student learning outcomes to improve the quality of education. This resource was designed with both individuals new to assessment in higher education and those with years of experience in mind.
Association for the Assessment of Learning in Higher Education
An organization of practitioners interested in using effective assessment practice to document and improve student learning.