InfoGuides: Business Research Toolkit: Module 5: International Business Research

Types of International Information

International business research is a broad term. It could include everything from researching foreign companies (or domestic companies doing business abroad) and foreign industries to business statistics and demographics about other countries and their people.

Here are just a few broad areas of international business research and types of information that would fall within each.

International Business Materials

Resources Covered

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Information This link opens in a new window
Extensive country information from various Economist Intelligence Unit publications, covering most countries and including politics, economics, business, markets and data. Publications include Country Report, Country Profile, Country Monitor, and Business Newsletters.
Tutorial for the Economist Intelligence Unit Country Information database.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of scholarship in international affairs from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, conference proceedings, books, journals, and policy briefs. Also includes teaching materials such as case studies and course packs of background readings. Contains links to international affairs centers, institutes, and other resources; U.S., international, and foreign government sites; environmental studies web pages; and news media services. All sections updated monthly.

Additional Resources

Country Commercial Guides
Country Commercial Guides (CCG's) are prepared annually by U.S. embassies with the assistance of several U.S. government agencies. These reports present a comprehensive look at countries' commercial environments, using economic, political and market analysis.
Culture Crossing Guide
Open collaboration project for cross cultural etiquette and understanding.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF's World Economic Outlook includes selected macroeconomic data for major country groups and select individual countries. It also includes IMF staff economic projections.
UNdata
The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points.

Economist Intelligence Unit ViewsWire This link opens in a new window
Timely analysis on key economic, political and business developments around the world. Each day, the EIU ViewsWire supplies 100-150 analytical articles on any of 195 countries.
Tutorial for the Economist Intelligence Unit ViewsWire database.
globalEDGE This link opens in a new window
Connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Includes Database of International Business Statistics (DIBS).
Global Financial Development Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to economic, debt, and financial flow indicator data for 136 countries and country groups that participate in the World Bank Debtor Reporting System.
View a tutorial on this database here.
Passport GMID (Euromonitor International) This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, insightful market reports and interactive visualization tools across 30+ industries and 210+ countries & territories. Tutorial for the Passport GMID (Euromonitor International) database.

CIA World Factbook
A complete geographical handbook, featuring 267 full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks demographic, ethnicity, literacy, political, and economic data. note: updated yearly

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database has a tool for Current Country Reports with economic data. Look for the link on the right of the opening page.

Useful Print Resources

The Europa world year book
Globally renowned for its accuracy, consistency and reliability, the Europa World Year Book is your source for detailed country surveys containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory information for over 250 countries and territories.

The Development of International Business by Robert Pearce
ISBN: 1786439972
Publication Date: 2017-09-29
The Development of International Business offers an extensive understanding of contemporary international business through detailed, engaging discussion of the development of the multinational enterprise (MNE) over the past half-century.
International Business Basics by Scott L. Girard; Michael F. O'Keefe; Marc A. Price; Kate Scribner
ISBN: 9781601634030
Publication Date: 2015-02-16
International Business Basics, the sixth title in the best-selling Crash Course for Entrepreneurs series, gives you the vital information and insights you need to: Learn about cultural issues Successfully enter new markets Ensure you get paid and are protected Make the most of support from trade and governmental agencies Secure funding Deal with real estate and logistics Capitalize on immigration trends Manage at a distance Open your mind to being flexible, creative, and resourceful in the face of sometimes puzzling and ever-changing challenges Learn from the successes and mistakes of these serial entrepreneurs who have real-world experience in many diverse countries and business sectors. International Business Basics will reduce your learning curve and help you succeed, even in your first stages!
Approaching Consumer Culture Global Flows and Local Contexts by Krasteva-Blagoeva, Evgenia. editor.
ISBN: 3030002268
Publication Date: 2018
This fascinating collection analyzes the impact of Western consumer culture on local cultures and consumption in Southeast Europe and East Asia.