See Updates and FAQss for the latest library services updates.
Business Research Toolkit
Modeled on the University of Alabama at Birgmingham, Sterne Library's award winning Business Research Toolkit Program, GMU's version is now self-paced and asynchronous. The hands-on program introduces participants to business resources and research.
Place phrases (or company names with more than one word) in quotation marks. This forces the database or search engine to find those exact words in that order.
Truncation allows you to search for multiple words by using a word's root. Most databases and search engines use the asterisk (*) symbol for truncation.
Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) allow you to combine or exclude search terms and produce more focused and relevant search results. The OR connector is especially useful when searching using synonyms.
Proximity searching allows you to specify the maximum number of words between search terms. This is useful when you want to find terms that are close to one another but are not necessarily a phrase. The most common syntax for proximity searching is: n/X (ABI/Inform, Nexis Uni) and nX (Business Source Complete). The X represents the maximum number of words between the search terms.
Covers scholarly journals for business topics such as marketing, management, human resources, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Includes author profiles, financial data, books, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, company profiles, SWOT analyses, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, datamonitor, and country reports from 1886. Tutorial for the Business Source Complete database.
Supplies international business and news coverage from more than 8,000 sources including newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, and websites. Compiles company information and data and up to 5 years of historical market data. Contains photographs and pictures from Reuters and Knight Ridder. Tutorial for the Factiva database.
See the Factiva link generator to generate permalinks to Factiva records.
Provides access to a wide range of news (includes New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times), business (company news, industry forecasts), government (legislative news, tax information), legal (news, case law) and reference information. Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Tutorial for the Nexis Uni database.
Unlimited access to NYTimes.com and NYT Mobile apps, including Spanish and Chinese editions, which cover a variety of topics through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. Includes archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access to the archives is available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers). Note: Create or renew your account here: http://mutex.gmu.edu/login?URL=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir, using their GMU credentials to gain access. All users need to renew your accounts every year. Upon login setup, download any NYT app from the App Store and use same login credentials for unlimited access. Login to NYTimes.com directly from any location. Tutorial for the NYTimes.com database.
Offers a distinguished source for business news and information on financial markets worldwide as well as national and international news. Provides comprehensive indexing, covering bibliographic information as well as subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. Tutorial for the Wall Street Journal (1984-Current) database.
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world. Tutorial for the ProQuest Central database.
Provides full-text access to national and international newspapers, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Times (London), as well as selective full-text for various U.S regional newspapers. In addition, it offers full-text television and radio news transcripts from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and National Public Radio. Tutorial for the Newspaper Source Plus database.