InfoGuides: Theater: Use Special Collections

Special Collections

The Special Collections Research Center is the home of the George Mason University Archives, manuscripts collections, and rare books collection. The collections held by the Special Collections Research Center are meant to support the teaching and research activities of the George Mason University community, as well as the community at large.

They have many collections, including a robust performing arts archive which includes records and artifacts from the Federal Theater Project, Arena Stage, and East German Theater.

To explore their collections, visit their Subject Guide or their website for more information.

Performing Arts Special Collection Highlights

Women in Theatre and Performing Arts

New Deal Performing Arts

Federal Theatre Project Collection
The Federal Theatre Project Collection contains administrative records, play service and research records, library records, and production records created or collected by the Federal Theatre Project from 1935 to 1939. A few items in the collection were created before or after this time period but directly relate to the 1930s material. This collection consists of original materials with some duplicates and photocopies
Federal Theatre Project Photograph Collection
During the lifespan of the FTP they established a photographic unit to document the productions and ensure a graphic record of their work. The photographers who made up the unit worked in every major city and on each major production. Project photographers recorded not only the actual theater productions themselves, but they also captured on film the rehearsals, the audience, the behind the scenes work of the stage crew, and the equipment used to produce FTP plays. Find all that here!
The Arnold Goldman Living Newspaper Collection
Arnold Goldman's collection consists of research materials, on the living newspaper "Injunction Granted" The form of the living newspaper was introduced during the FTP and was used as a way to present current issues in a theatrical style. the Federal Theatre Project wrote and presented a number of Living Newspapers on social issues of the day, including Triple-A Plowed Under, Injunction Granted, One-Third of a Nation, Power, and Spirochete.
Works Progress Administration Oral HIstories
The interviews in the WPA Oral Histories Collection were conducted between 1961 and 1984. The majority of the interviews were done in the 1970s and 1980s by Lorraine Brown and John O'Connor as part of the Institute on the Federal Theatre Project and New Deal Culture. with persons who were associated with various Works Progress Administration (WPA) projects in the 1930s. The interviews were conducted with members of the Federal Art Project, Federal Music Project, and Federal Writers Project.

For a comprehensive list of Performing Arts Special Collections, visit their Finding Aid on the Special Collections website.