InfoGuides: Theater: Find Articles

Find Articles in Databases for Theater

Alexander Street Press: Theater
All of the Alexander Street Press content on Theater including articles, photos, video, books, ephemera, etc.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprises a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theater and performance in 126 countries. Also contains author-supplied abstracts, author-supplied keywords and author affiliations.
Performance Design Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. It includes books, periodicals, archival material, and videos.
User guide for database here
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for international periodicals, plus full text for the indexed journals (1864-present) on the subjects of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. Previously called International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA).
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search over 137,000 annotated entries consisting of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2014. Tutorial for the World Shakespeare Bibliography database.

Find Articles in Literature and History Databases

While these databases are not primarily about theater, they do contain many theater resources and collections.

British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new window
Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.
Tutorial for the British Literary Manuscripts Online database.
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Integrates Literature resources from Gale and Literature Criticism Online into a single research environment. Includes: Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series, and Twayne's Authors Series.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the entire run of the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theater, media, literature, advertising, graphic design, and genealogy.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences digitized in most cases back to the first date of issue. Includes selected books, primary sources and other materials for academic work.
Tutorial for the JSTOR database.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 writers from a variety of periods and disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. Tutorial for the MLA International Bibliography database.
Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
Contains information on American and world popular culture, from the 1900s to the present. Includes essays, images, quotes, and more.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Covers a wealth of subjects and themes, from Art and Architecture to Youth Culture. Source material includes: manuscripts and typescripts; printed materials (newspapers, magazines, press kits, artist's files); video clips; visual images (photographs, advertisements, memorabilia); ephemera (pamphlets, leaflets, posters, pins, artifacts); fanzines, underground press, scripts; and government files. Tutorial for the Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 database.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Offers full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from many of the world's university presses and scholarly societies. Tutorial for the Project MUSE database.

Navigate to Electronic Journals

Most of our theater periodicals are accessible in digitized format, many in both HTML (browser-friendly) and PDF (page scan) versions. Some are available through multiple vendors with differing dates of coverage.

Use the E-Journal Finder Tool to search by title, click into a vendor, and drill down to your desired article (or "search within" the journal by keyword).

Browse Printed Periodicals

Mason has access to many theater or theater-related periodicals; however, only a small percentage of them are currently subscribed in print, and most back-volumes are in storage. Print periodicals are for reference as "in-library use only" items.

Search the library online catalog for a specific journal title (or search by keyword and set limit to Serials as the item type).

Printed periodicals are located in the Fenwick Library periodicals section (by title) as well as in off-site storage (retrievable within 3 days).