InfoGuides: Resources for Dramaturgy: Find Video Resources

Streaming Databases

These databases are a treasure trove of streaming performances, documentaries, and interviews that will help you learn from the best in the business.

BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the 37 Shakespeare plays produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Collection of streaming videos featuring unique films of current, leading British theatre productions including Digital Theater's own recordings alongside collections such as BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, Shakespeare's Globe etc. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
Drawing on 10 years of National Theatre Live broadcasts as well as recordings never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive, the video content includes 30 video performances. As a supplement to the filmed productions, exclusive digitized archival materials such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and more are available to provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
Routledge Performance Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a range of audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. Consists of streamed video and audio footage with relevant critical commentary, including: interviews with key figures in theater history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers from around the world; footage of legendary practitioners; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries. Spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from renowned practitioners and specialists, and ranges across the entire spectrum of theater topics.
Royal Shakespeare Company Collection This link opens in a new window
High-definition video recordings of modern productions featuring great Shakespearean actors such as David Tennant, Sir Antony Sher, Paapa Essiedu, and Simon Russell Beale, and directors like Robin Lough and Dewi Humphrey. Recordings are accompanied by production images, teacher packs, and study notes.
Theatre in Video, Volumes 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
Collection brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries, with a greater focus on contemporary and international productions. Includes performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, the BBC, Theatre Arts Films and TMW Media Group.