| University Libraries
On top of the history within the world of the play & the playwright, it's also important to consider what else has been done with the play as a production in the past. You can make use of databases to examine previous productions and their interpretations of the material + past audience responses in order to inform the story you're trying to tell now.
Comprises a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theater and performance in 126 countries. Also contains author-supplied abstracts, author-supplied keywords and author affiliations.
Provides indexing and abstracts for international periodicals, plus full text for the indexed journals (1864-present) on the subjects of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. Previously called International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA).
Don't forget that musicals benefit from dramaturgy too! Musicals can be just as research-heavy as plays, if not more so once you factor in styles of dance/singing. Performers and creatives can have questions of all shapes, so keep these + more databases waiting in the wings.
Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Collection of streaming videos featuring unique films of current, leading British theatre productions including Digital Theater's own recordings alongside collections such as BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, Shakespeare's Globe etc. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources.
Music and Dance Subject Guides
If you are unable to find what you are looking for in the links above, explore the Music and Dance Subject Guides: