InfoGuides: Global and Community Public Health: Publishing in the Health Sciences

2024 NIH Public Access Policy

The NIH Public Access Policy in effect since 2008, requires that NIH-supported researchers submit their final peer-reviewed manuscripts to the National Library of Medicine’s PubMed Central® digital archive of full-text biomedical and life sciences journal literature upon acceptance for publication, to be made freely available to the public.

On December 17, 2024, the policy changed to remove the 12-month embargo period before manuscripts resulting from NIH funding must be made publicly available.

2024 NIH Public Access Policy
Issued December 17, 2024 and effective December 31, 2025
NIH issues new policy to speed access to agency-funded research results
Letter from the NIH Director, December 17, 2024
Memorandum For The Heads Of Executive Departments And Agencies from the Executive Office of the President, Office of Science and Technology Policy
Ensuring Free, Immediate, and Equitable Access to Federally Funded Research
more...less...
This memorandum provides policy guidance to federal agencies with research and development
expenditures on updating their public access policies. In accordance with this memorandum,
OSTP recommends that federal agencies, to the extent consistent with applicable law

Publishing Guidance for Authors

Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences
These pages provide links to Web sites which provide instructions to authors for over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences. All links are to "primary sources" - that is, to publishers and organizations with editorial responsibilities for the titles.
more...less...
credit: Mulford Health Science Library, University of Toledo
Where Should I Publish?
Journal Evaluation Tool

Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
In Products, select Master Journal List

SCImage Journal and Country Rank
Scientific Journal Ranking, although it contains ranking for all subject areas. Based on the journals included in the Scopus database (Elsevier), choices of Arts & Humanities, Sciences, Engineering, Health, Medicine, etc.
Ulrich's Web Global Serials Directory
Continuously updated source of information on more than 300,000 periodicals and serials published in the United States and throughout the world, covering more than 900 subject areas. Additionally includes approximately 47,000 discontinued titles from 1974 onward.