InfoGuides: Measuring Research Impact: Where to Publish

Choose a publication

Where Should I Publish?
Guidance for Researchers, provided by Elsevier

Many publishers offer services for identifying journals that will match content of an article.

Springer https ://journalsuggester.springer.com/

Elsevier https://journalfinder.elsevier.com/

Wiley https://authorservices.wiley.com/author-resources/Journal-Authors/find-a-journal/index.html

IEEE https://publication-recommender.ieee.org/periodicals

Other agencies:

Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE) http://jane.biosemantics.org/

Open Access Journal Finder from Enago https ://www.enago.com/academy/journal-finder/

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window
Provides current information to prospective authors for journals covering business (accounting, economics and finance, management, and marketing) and education (educational curriculum and methods, educational technology and library science, and educational psychology and administration). Information includes scope/coverage, acceptance/rejection rates, number of reviewers, time required for review, availability of reviewers' comments, fees charged to review or publish the manuscript, copies required, manuscript topics and contact information.
Tutorial for the Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities.

Open Access Publishing

Open Access information from Mason Publishing https://publishing.gmu.edu/communication/open_access_publishing/

Read and Publish Agreements at Mason https://infoguides.gmu.edu/collections/OA

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

SHERPA RoMEO an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of self-archiving permissions and conditions of rights given to authors on a journal-by-journal basis.

Predatory Publishers

Think. Check. Submit.
helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.The campaign has been produced with the support of a coalition from across scholarly communications in response to discussions about deceptive publishing.
Beall's List of Potential Predatory Journals
Archived list originally created by Beall with updates