InfoGuides: Measuring Research Impact: Enhance Your Research Impact

Unique Research Identifiers

A unique identifier allows you to distinguish yourself from other researchers. It can be used in journal and grant submissions and it allows you to standardize your research persona ensuring that you get recognition for your work. It is now required by many funders and publishers.

ORCID
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier distinguishing you from other researchers. ORCID is an open access registry of unique researcher identifiers and a transparent method of linking research activities and outputs to these identifiers. It is unique in its ability to reach across disciplines, research sectors, and national boundaries and its cooperation with other identifier systems.
Researcher ID
ResearcherID (Web Of Science) provides a solution to the confusion when authors have similar names. Each member is assigned a unique ResearcgerID to enable them to identify potential collaborators and avoid author mis-identification. They can also use it to manage their publication lists, track their citation counts counts and h-index, ResearcherID information integrates with the Web of Knowledge. Search the registry to find collaborators, review publication lists and explore how research is used around the world.

Bibliographic Profiles

Authors need to create bibliographic profiles using a variety of sources.

No one database displays all cited references for all articles. Each database is limited by 1) which journals it indexes and 2) date limits of journals indexed and 3) depth or completeness of journal indexing. So, searching for the number of citations to a particular article may yield different results in different databases. In addition, indexing practices differ between databases so variants in author names and journal titles become a problem.

Scopus Author Profile
You can use this free author lookup to search for any author; or, use the Author Feedback Wizard to verify your Scopus Author Profile.
Web of Science Create Citation Reports
Web of Science h-Index
Google Scholar Profile
Google Scholar Citations allows you to create a personal profile to list your publications and calculate citation metrics.
Google Scholar Metrics uses h-index (as well a 5-year and median measures) to rank journals sorted in subject areas. Browse journal lists using the subject listing in the left column.
NIH Relative Citation Ratio (RCR)
PubMed citations only. Measuring Impact of NIH-supported Publications with a New Metric: the Relative Citation Ratio
More information at https://nexus.od.nih.gov/all/2016/09/08/nih-rcr/

Measuring Research Impact

Ask A Librarian

Acknowledgements

Unique Research Identifiers

Bibliographic Profiles