InfoGuides: Global and Community Public Health: Find Evidence Based Public Health

Evidence Based Public Health

Resources
Systematic Reviews

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
A clinical point-of-care reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals to assist with evidence-based bedside diagnosis and treatment.

Health Evidence
From McMaster University, ongoing program of research on knowledge translation for public health decision making.
Healthy People 2030
Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade.
PCORI: Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institutue
mandate is to improve the quality and relevance of evidence available to help patients, caregivers, clinicians, employers, insurers, and policy makers make better-informed health decisions.
The Community Guide
a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school.

A systematic review attempts to collect and analyze all evidence that answers a specific question. The question must be clearly defined and have inclusion and exclusion criteria. A broad and thorough search of the literature is performed and a critical analysis of the search results is reported and ultimately provides a current evidence-based answer to the specific question.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Consists of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Uses Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) to help decision makers identify the best available evidence by Providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care. Includes text of two books (Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice and The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis), education guides, glossary, calculators, worksheets, question wizards, weekly RSS feed of featured JAMA articles, compiled clinical scenarios, podcasts, and user-level customization features.

PRISMA
An evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomized trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions.
PROSPERO
An international prospective register of systematic, rapid and umbrella reviews. Does not store scoping reviews.

SAGE Research Methods and Cases Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. Includes SAGE book and reference material on research methods, and editorially selected material from SAGE journals. Also includes a searchable collection of case studies of real social research, commissioned and designed to help users understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.

The Equator Network
The Library contains a comprehensive searchable database of reporting guidelines and also links to other resources relevant to research reporting.