| University Libraries
AllSides Balanced Searchconnect you to news from all sides of the political spectrum so you can get the full picture of a given topic. This link specifically searches for articles related to infrastructure.
AllSides rates articles based on political leanings and potential biases. Do not simply rely on "Center" leaning articles. It's best to try to find articles with different viewpoints to avoid falling into any particular bias.
As a part of several recent government acts, funding has been invested into infrastructure efforts around the country. This website provides an interactive map that illustrates the where these funds have been allocated and the types of infrastructure issues they mean to address.
Use this guide to identify project proposals, company names, and places you can search for to learn more.
This page collects information about various recipients of transportation infrastructure funds via recent legislation.
This page collects the news and proceedings of the House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure.
Use this guide to search for "proposal(s)" and "investment(s)".
The federal government's most popular statistical source, this sub-page provides data on air transportation, the national highway system, trucks, railroads, pipelines, urban transit, water transportation and more.
From the "Statista" database. This report, compiled by the U.S. Department of Transportation,"highlights the leading 25 freight gateways, providing the most recent annual information on the movement of goods through these seaports, airports and land border crossings".
From the RAND Corporation. Includes reports and more on a wide variety of infrastructure topics dealing with many aspects of transportation. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
From the U.S. Department of Transportation. "A repository of U.S. DOT transportation information". "Research/Tools" provides access to search engines, a thesaurus, statistical information and more. Best official resource for accessing data and other information on transportation in the U.S.
From the U.S. Department of Transportation. NTS provides statistics on the U.S. transportation system, "including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security". Contains over 260 data tables. Under "Data and Statistics", browse by mode, region and subject. Best official source for statistics on America's transportation system.
From the RAND Corporation. Includes reports on many aspects of surface transportation and related topics. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
From the RAND Corporation. Includes resources on many aspects of transportation, including reports, commentary and articles. Outstanding overview from one of America's premier "think tanks".
From the U.S. Congress.
TFA is "bringing together the most diverse coalition anywhere, eager to reform how we spend transportation dollars at the federal, state and local level to create a safer, cleaner and smarter transportation system that works for everyone". Coalition partners include over 100 national non-profits, hundreds of national/state/local officials, and numerous state/regional/local non-profits. Primary focuses is on improvements in mass transit and the deteriorating highway infrastructure. Provides downloadable reports, news and more. Outstanding advocate for improving America's transportation system.
From "Opposing Viewpoints in Context". You will find "viewpoint" essays, magazine articles and more dealing with transportation infrastructure.
From the Department of Homeland Security. Provides an in-depth plan of the role of transportation systems in supporting DHS's protection of America's infrastructure.
Infrastucture in the United States- From Statista
Enhancing Sustainable Communities With Green Infrastructure Aims to help local governments, water utilities, nonprofit organizations, neighborhood groups, and other stakeholders integrate green infrastructure strategies into plans that can transform their communities. Many communities that want to use green infrastructure approaches face technical, regulatory, financial, and institutional obstacles that limit widespread implementation. This report serves as a guide to develop a plan that can overcome these obstacles for neighborhoods, towns, cities, and regions of all sizes. It helps stakeholders create a vision for how green infrastructure can enhance their communities--a vision that engages residents and inspires them to take action. It also directs readers to other resources that provide more detailed information that can be tailored to communities' particular climate, goals, and circumstances.
Green Infrastructure: Lessons from Science and Practice Green infrastructure is the use of trees, plants, and open space to help reduce floods and water pollution. Green infrastructure can provide many benefits for public health, local communities, and the environment. Across the US cities and towns are turning to green infrastructure to provide much-needed updates to aging storm water management systems. That is why understanding the strengths and limits of green infrastructure is relevant and timely, according to a new report released by scientists from Syracuse University, the Cary Institute, and the Harvard Forest, in partnership with the Science Policy Exchange.
Green Infrastructure and Climate Change: Collaborating to Improve Community Resiliency Green roofs, trees, and other vegetation can provide many benefits to communities, including reducing heat islands, managing flood risk, building resilience to drought, reducing building energy demand, and reducing the energy needed to manage drinking water and wastewater. EPA has published a report on how four communities (Albuquerque, New Mexico; Grand Rapids, Michigan; Los Angeles, California; and New Orleans, Louisiana) have used green infrastructure to achieve multiple benefits while building their resilience to changes in climate.
Green Infrastructure Collaborative The Green Infrastructure Collaborative consists of more than 20 organizations committed to advancing the adoption of green infrastructure as a means of supporting water quality and community development goals. This broad group of signatories includes academia, non-governmental organizations, and the private sector.
Green Infrastructure Cost-Benefit Resources Green infrastructure can be a cost-effective approach to improve water quality and help communities stretch their infrastructure investments further by providing multiple environmental, economic, and community benefits. On this page, learn more about how other communities have realized cost savings through their green infrastructure programs as well as about tools you can use to inform your own cost-benefit analysis.
Green Infrastructure Wizard (GIWiz) offers you access to a repository of EPA-sourced Green Infrastructure tools and resources designed to support and promote sustainable water management and community planning decisions. The tools and resources available through GIWiz will help you analyze problems, understand management options, calculate design parameters, analyze costs and benefits, evaluate tradeoffs, engage stakeholders, and/or develop education and outreach campaigns. Click on Quick Links to select Learn, Research, Design, or Assess options. When you select an option, the tool will ask you questions to help narrow your focus. Click on Explore to browse resources. Again, the tool asks you who you are, what you’d like to do, what resources you’re interested in, etc. It also gives you a keyword search option.
Green Works for Climate Resilience: A Community Guide to Climate Planning The intent of this guide is to provide communities with an overview of the kinds of nature-based approaches that can be used to respond to and prepare for the impacts of climate change, and provide descriptions and examples of the ways in which communities are already working to implement them, ranging from streamlining adaptation into existing zoning to the development of holistic, multi-sector adaptation plans. Nature-based approaches rely on enhancing, protecting, and restoring natural infrastructure, such as coastal wetlands, parks, and tree canopies, as well as features that mimic natural processes, such as rain gardens or green roofs that are used in low-impact development (LID).
Organizations:
Select Resouces:
From the RAND Corporation. Includes reports on railway transportation and related topics. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
From the Council on Foreign Relations.
From the "Statista" database. Examines the condition of the U.S.'s railway system. Also includes international data.
From the RAND Corporation. Includes reports on railway transportation and related topics. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
From the Council on Foreign Relations.
Industry Organizations:
Select Resources:
From "Viable Opposition".
From the Brookings Institution. "Blog Post" discussing various options for improving and revitalizing the U.S.'s deteriorating interstate highway system and other infrastructure problems.
From the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Transit Authority.
From the Office of Highway Policy Information. Provides data on toll facilities in the U.S. (Bridges-Roads-Tunnels-Ferries). Best officical source for data on nation's toll facilties.
From the Rand Corporation. Includes reports on highway infrastructure and related topics. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
From The Balance
From the History Channel. Brief history of the interstate highway system.
From the Federal Highway Administration
From SC Solutions, Inc. Very useful directory of bridge-related links, including government agencies (international, national, state), industry organizations, publications, software, "other links".
From NBCNEWS.com.
From About.com.
From the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO)
From the Federal Highway Administration.
Provides data on bridges and related structures in all 50 states. Includes location, year built, "facility carried", condition and "sufficiency rating". Nationalbridges.com creates this database from data from the Federal Highway Administration.
From "Transportation for America". Ranks bridges' maintenance/repair by states. Includes a national report.
Industry Organizations:
Select Resources
2017 Report Card on America's Infrastructure: Inland Waterways
From the "Statista" database. From the U.S. Department of Transporation.
From the "Statista" database. Compiled by the U.S. Department of Transportation.
From the "Statista" database.
From FITA. Directory of links to international seaports of the world. Also links to additional "useful" sites for information/services of seaports.
Narrative profile from the "Encyclopedia of American Industries" (2012).
From the American Association of Port Authorities (AAPA)
From the US Army Corps of Engineers.
2017 Report Card on America's Infrastructure: Drinking Water
From the Center for American Progress.
From Andrew Kimos, Buildipedia. Informative article about the condition of America's drinking water resources
Water quality scorecard : incorporating green infrastructure practices at municipal, neighborhood, and site scales EPA’s Water Quality Scorecard was developed to help local governments identify opportunities to remove barriers, and revise and create codes, ordinances, and incentives for better water quality protection. It guides municipal staff through a review of relevant local codes and ordinances, across multiple municipal departments and at the three scales within the jurisdiction of a local government (municipality, neighborhood, and site), to ensure that these codes work together to protect water quality goals. The two main goals of this tool are to: (1) help communities protect water quality by identifying ways to reduce the amount of stormwater flows in a community and (2) educate stakeholders on the wide range of policies and regulations that have water quality implications.
American Society of Landscape Architects List of Stormwater Case Studies by State
The Blue Economy New Strategies for Optimizing Our Most Precious Resource The U.S. is on the cusp of a new era: big cities and rural communities alike are tackling their water challenges with innovative solutions that were once thought impossible. A new movement is afoot to find new small-scale sources of water in a world that is increasingly susceptible to the unpredictable whims of climate change.
From Andrew Kimos, Buildipedia. Brief, informative article about the condtion of America's dams.
From the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). Provides an in-depth plan of the role of dams in supporting DHS's protection of America's infrastructure.
From the Nature Conservancy's "Conservation Gateway". Discusses the "Sustainable Rivers Project" and "Hydropower by Design". Excellent overview of efforts underway to make the effect of dams on rivers more environmentally sustainable.
"We aim to provide timely waste management support to communities affected by disasters and conflict". "The core group of DWR comprises waste management experts with extensive experience in disaster relief from a wide range of organizations inlcuding the UN, World Bank, national government agencies, international NGOs as well as private waste companies and environmental consultancies. Excellent resource for this specific sector of the waste management industry.
2017 Report Card on America's Infrastructure: Hazardous Waste
From "Environment, Health and Safety Online" (EHSO). Directory of commercial hazardous waste landfills in the U.S.
From the Center for American Progress.
From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) In conjunction with states, the private sector and NGOs, "overvsees the regulator and voluntary programs that help manage the nation's wastewater". Links to specific programs and initiatives. Best official resource for EPA efforts to regulate wastewater.
Water/Wastewater Utilities and Extreme Climate and Weather Events: Case Studies on Community Response, Lessons Learned, Adaptation, and Planning Needs for the Future This report examines how water, wastewater, and stormwater utilities - and other local water resource managers - make decisions in response to recent extreme weather events. The report is based on the results of six local workshops, organized to include participants that experienced different types of extreme events throughout a river basin or watershed in various regions of the U.S. The study examines what happened, how information was used to inform decisions, what institutional dynamics helped or hindered, and how water utilities and their communities plan to manage impacts and build resiliency for future extreme events. The research was jointly sponsored by EPA, NOAA, Water Environment Research Foundation, Water Research Foundation, Concurrent Technologies Corporation, and Noblis.
2017 Report Card on America's Infrastructure: Drinking Water
From the Center for American Progress.
From Andrew Kimos, Buildipedia. Informative article about the condition of America's drinking water resources
From the "Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries". Provides information on industry's organization/structure, background/development, growth, current conditions, leaders, workforce, research/technology and more.
This industry "snapshot" narrative provides additional information about America's drinking water resources
From the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Discusses the organization, structure and development of the nation's public health programs on the federal/state/local levels.
These "snapshot" narratives provide information about government programs/initiatives responsible for administering America's national security infrastructure.
From the "Encyclopedia of American Industries". Provides information on the organization, structure and development of the nation's military/defense resources.
From the "Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries". Discusses the organization, structure and development of relief/emergency services provided by government on the federal/state levels and the role of non-profit agencies in these efforts.
From the RAND Corporation Includes reports, commentary, articles and more. Examines the national security implications of infrastructure protection for both man-made and natural disasters. Outstanding analysis and overview, from one of America's premier "think tanks".
From the RAND Corporation. Documents contains reports, commentary and more. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
From the RAND Corporation. Short but useful guide to various aspects of disaster recovery operations. From one of of America's premier
"think tanks".
From the University of Colorado at Boulder Libraries. Links to federal/state government agencies, international organizations, nongovernment resources
From the RAND Corporation. Reports, journal articles, commentary and more provide useful information for first responders. Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks"
From the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). Provides an in-depth report of the role of Emergency Services in supporting DHS's protection of America's infrastructure.
From the RAND Corporation. Includes reports, commentary and more on "the use of domestically available alternative or renewable energy sources". Excellent resource from one of America's premier "think tanks".
From the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). Provides an in-depth plan of
The federal government's most popular statistical source, this sub-page provides data on electricity, utilities and more.
"Presents graphs and tables about energy consumption in the United States. Focusing on energy sources, it also provides data on power suppliers and energy prices in the United States and gives a forecast through 2030".
From the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). Provides an in-depth plan of the role of the energy sector in supporting DHS's protecting of America's infrastructure.
From the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). Provides an in-depth plan of the role of the nuclear industry in supporting DHS's protection of America's infrastructure.
"Focusing on renewable electricity generation and capacity in the United States, it also provides data on renewable energy markets and investment in such energy sources",
Ask a Librarian | Hours & Directions | Mason Libraries Home
Copyright © George Mason University