Sociology

"provides a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades; Addresses the various traditional subfields of sociology, such as political sociology, educational sociology, rural sociology, criminology, occupational sociology, and minority relations; Explores important new, evolving subfields, such as environmental sociology, sociology of sports and leisure, military sociology, medical sociology, the sociology of food and eating, and the sociology of emotions."

Named a Best Reference Work for 2009 by Library Journal. "An essential reference for expert and newcomer alike, with entries ranging from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics; Provides clear, concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts."

Written by one of the foremost authorities on sociological theory, this text gives readers a comprehensive overview of the major classical theorists and schools of sociological thought. The integration of key theories with biographical sketches of theorists and the requisite historical and intellectual context helps students to better understand the original works of classical authors as well as to compare and contrast classical theories.

"The Encyclopedia of Social Problems offers an interdisciplinary perspective into many social issues that are a continuing concern in our lives, whether we confront them on a personal, local, regional, national, or global level. With more than 600 entries, these two volumes cover all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems and also provide insight into how social conditions get defined as social problems, and the ways different people and organizations view and try to solve them."

"an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses."

"An essential reference for students and scholars working in the social scientific study of peace and conflict, criminology, public policy and international relations, as well as for those seeking to explore alternatives to violence and share visions and strategies for social justice and change. Covering over 250 diverse topics such as Sexual Assault, Terrorism, Arms Control, Nonviolent Movements, Child Abuse, Folklore, and Political Assassination and more."

The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries.

"Offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. " It comprises over 3,900 articles and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions; Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading.

"A lively, accessible and comprehensive introduction to the diverse ways of thinking about social life."

Global in focus, offering up-to-date topics from an interdisciplinary, international set of scholars addressing key issues concerning globalization, social movements, and citizenship The majority of chapters are new, including those on environmental politics, international terrorism, security, corruption, and human rights Revises and updates all previously published chapters to include new themes and topics in political sociology.

The Companion seeks to present current research on social movements in all its diversity. It is the most up-to-date, comprehensive volume of social science research on social movements available today.

"Written by a sociologist who is also an accomplished writer and teacher, it is aimed primarily at students, but will also be of use to professionals looking for an introduction to core concepts outside their area of expertise. Its combination of clear prose, engaging examples, a single author's voice, and its minimal assumptions about the average reader's prior knowledge of sociology and its related fields, makes this a unique and valuable reference work."

"Provides an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology."

Dictionary of Sociology was first published in 1994 and contains more than 2,500 entries on the terminology, methods, concepts, and thinkers in the field, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.

The Dictionary of the Social Sciences is a comprehensive reference work with over 1700 entries ranging from fifty to five hundred words covering topics such as anthropology, sociology, economics, political science, cultural studies, human and cultural geography, and Marxism. The Dictionary is aimed at students and scholars who need ready access to defined terms in a social science outside of their immediate area of expertise, for example an economist needing information regarding a political science term.

Provides a comprehensive, lively and clearly-written guide to the most important concepts in the subject. Includes both what might be regarded as 'classic' sociological concepts, such as class, bureaucracy and community, as well as subjects that have become increasingly prominent in recent times, such as celebrity, risk and the body.

Written for students from school to university level, this reference provides not only simple, one-line definitions but also entries that discuss the issues involved in, and alternative approaches to, the central concepts, theories and writings of sociology.

"The SAGE Dictionary of Sociology provides full coverage of the field, clarifying the technical use of apparently common words, explaining the fundamental concepts and introducing new and unfamiliar terms."

Examining key figures such as W.E.B. Du Bois, Edward Franklin Frazier, Charles Spurgeon Johnson, Horace Roscoe Cayton, J.G. St. Clair Drake, and Oliver Cromwell Cox, the author reveals the ways in which many aspects of modern sociology emerged from these authors' radical views on race, gender, religion, and class."

The Blackwell Companion to Major Classical Social Theorists provides a comprehensive review of classical social theory. Containing original essays especially commissioned for this volume, leading experts and practitioners examine the life and work of 12 major theorists. Includes 12 original essays by leading scholars on major classical social theorists Covers the key figures who shaped social theory, such as Marx, Weber and Durkheim, as well as additional classical theorists such as Harriet Martineau and W. E. B. Du Bois.

Is a survey of contemporary social theory that focuses on the thinkers themselves; Examine the life and work of 13 major theorists such as Elias, Baudrillard, Giddens, and Butler.

Written by one of the foremost authorities on sociological theory, this text gives readers a comprehensive overview of the major classical theorists and schools of sociological thought. The integration of key theories with biographical sketches of theorists and the requisite historical and intellectual context helps students to better understand the original works of classical authors as well as to compare and contrast classical theories.

This book focuses on the lives of five unique, nationally known sociologists who are among the first African American women to receive doctorate degrees in this discipline. The histories of Jacquelyne Johnson Jackson, LaFrancis Rodgers-Rose, Joyce A. Ladner, Doris Wilkinson, and Delores P. Aldridge are accompanied by personal sociologies and detailed descriptions of unique areas of research they have used for social change. In each case, the reader will be able to see the intellectual and academic evolution of the sociologists as they built careers in their discipline.

The entirely new International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries.

This expensive set is a thorough revision of the original title--Ritzer's edited The Blackwell Companion to Major Social Theorists--issued in 2000 and updated in 2003. The in-depth, readable, and thoughtful treatment accorded each theorist makes this resource a vital addition to social science reference collections.

This unique reference book on female sociologists can answer a number of questions about them: Who were, or are, the female founders in sociology? Where were they born and when? What were their most important writings? What were their major accomplishments? How have they been honored? What are their connections to the discipline of sociology? These women transcended narrow definitions of sociological thought and practice. Thus, scholars in disciplines other than sociology, including American studies, criminology, economics, history, literature, political science, law, psychology, social psychology, social work, women's studies, and urban studies, will find this volume of significant interest.

Presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview of the field of qualitative research. intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the disciplines, and the contributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchers as well as emerging scholars. This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the most experienced researchers.

The Craft of Research is the unrivaled resource for researchers at every level, from first-year undergraduates to research reporters at corporations and government offices. It explains how to build an argument that motivates readers to accept a claim; how to anticipate the reservations of readers and to respond to them appropriately; and how to create introductions and conclusions that answer that most demanding question, "So what?"   The third edition includes an expanded discussion of the essential early stages of a research task: planning and drafting a paper. The authors have revised and fully updated their section on electronic research, emphasizing the need to distinguish between trustworthy sources (such as those found in libraries) and less reliable sources found with a quick Web search.

The first half of the book addresses the fundamentals of good writing: writing clearly, conveying emphasis, writing concisely, and crafting effective paragraphs. The second half then looks to the three most important sections of a research report: framing an introduction, reporting results, and discussing findings.

A brief, economical reference work that gives practical advice about the writing tasks and issues that undergraduate students face in their first sociology courses. Along with more traditional topics, it incorporates valuable information about composing emails, writing for online forums, and using technology for information-gathering and note-taking. Used by itself or in combination with other texts, this book will increase the quality of student writing and enhance their knowledge of how sociologists communicate in writing.

A writing guide designed for upper-level sociology undergraduate students and graduate students, this instructional text introduces students to the variety of writing projects that sociologists undertake, while also providing instruction on grammar and composition. It will provide students with practical knowledge concerning topics such as: peer reviewed journal manuscripts, book reviews, grant proposals, and field notes.

Explains what research is and how to do it thoroughly; Explores each step of the research process--from the inspirational stages, to collecting data, and lastly, analyzing the results. The book will be beneficial for those who have little experience in conducting and writing research.