Anthropology

Highlights the latest advances in forensic anthropology research, as well as the most effective practices and techniques used by professional forensic anthropologists in the field.

This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology.

Provides a comprehensive and systematic coverage of archaeology. The entries in this encyclopedia range from succinct summaries of specific sites and the scientific aspects of archaeological inquiry to detailed discussions of archaeological concepts, theories and methods, and from investigations into the social, ethical and political dimensions of archaeological practice.

Provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.

In 700 entries, the second edition provides thorough coverage to historical archaeology, the development of archaeology as a field of study, and the way the discipline works to explain the past. In addition to these theoretical entries, other entries describe the major excavations, discoveries, and innovations, from the discovery of the cave paintings at Lascaux to the deciphering of Egyptian hieroglyphics and the use of luminescence dating.

Provides a comprehensive overview by period and region of the relevant archaeological material in relation to theory, methodology, definition, and practice. Covers a global span - Africa, Asia, Australasia, Europe, and the Americas - and reaches from the earliest prehistory (the Lower and Middle Palaeolithic) to modern times.

Addresses the concerns of the discipline and comments on its construction through texts, classroom interactions, engagements with various publics, and changing relations with other academic subjects. Covers important topics such as globalization, law and politics, collaborative archaeology, economics, religion, citizenship and community, health, and the environment.

Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.

Provides a contemporary overview of the key themes in medical anthropology. A rich variety of case studies are included, presented by over 60 authors from around the world, reflecting the diverse cultural contexts in which people experience health, illness, and healing.

Provide users with the most authoritative and thorough reference resource available on anthropology theory, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage. A Reader′s Guide groups entries thematically and each entry is followed by Cross-References. An appendix with a Chronology of Anthropology Theory allows students to easily chart directions and trends in thought and theory from early times to the present. Suggestions for Further Reading at the end of each entry and a Master Bibliography at the end guide readers to sources for more detailed research and discussion.

Highlights the most important topics in the field of anthropology. Its uniform chapter structure help students locate key information easily, within these sections: Introduction, Theory, Methods, Applications, Comparison, Future Directions, Summary, Bibliography & Suggestions for Further Reading, and Cross References.

Covers cultural groups in Asia and Oceania, Europe, the Americas, and Africa. Five volumes, organized for quick reference by continent, cover history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, rites of passage, and much more for culture groups such as Kurds, Amish, Germans and more than 530 others.

This biographical dictionary provides information on 322 men and women who have made or are making significant contributions in the field of anthropology.

Fifty Key Anthropologists surveys the life and work of some of the most influential figures in anthropology. The entries, written by an international range of expert contributors, represent the diversity of thought within the subject, incorporating both classic theorists and more recent anthropological thinkers.

Provides detailed biographical information on the most influential and significant figures in world anthropology, from the birth of the discipline in the nineteenth century to the present day.

Doing Anthropological Research provides a practical toolkit for carrying out research. It works through the process chapter by chapter, from the planning and proposal stage to methodologies, secondary research, ethnographic fieldwork, ethical concerns, and writing strategies. Case study examples are provided throughout to illustrate the particular issues and dilemmas that may be encountered.

Naked Fieldnotes, a unique compendium of actual fieldnotes from contemporary ethnographic researchers from various modalities and research traditions, unpacks how this research works, its challenges and its possibilities.

Provides an introduction to the discipline of anthropology and an exploration of its role and contribution in today's world, outlines the shape of anthropological practice and describes how students of anthropology can prepare for a career in practice, with emphasis on the relationship between theory, method, and application.

In Writing Anthropology, fifty-two anthropologists reflect on scholarly writing as both craft and commitment.

Presents a series of guidelines, suggestions, and practical advice for creating useful fieldnotes in a variety of settings, demystifying a process that is often assumed to be intuitive and impossible to teach. Using actual unfinished notes as examples, the authors illustrate options for composing, reviewing, and working fieldnotes into finished texts. An essential tool for budding social scientists.

A pocket-sized manual for undergraduate students and emerging anthropologists who wish to improve their writing.