InfoGuides: Anthropology: Find Media

Image, Music and Video Databases at Mason

AP Images This link opens in a new window
Collects historical and contemporary imagery from Associated Press with a 50 million image print and negative archive including graphics and audio clips.
Tutorial for the AP Images database.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming platform for documentaries and social issues films. Contains titles from a variety of film distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films, and Terra Nova Films. Covers subjects such as anthropology, cultural and ethnic studies, business and economics, environmental studies, gender studies, history, media studies, political science, and science and technology.
Tutorial for the Docuseek2 Complete Collection database.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world covering a wide range of ethnographic documentaries, indigenous media, field notes, study guides and raw footage of human behavior. Tutorial for Ethnographic Video Online database.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings This link opens in a new window
Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Tutorial for the Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings database.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video platform, with films spanning the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, Economics and Health.
Films on Demand: World Cinema Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers feature films from renowned directors across the globe, including films from the silent era, international directors, American and European masterworks from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films featured by Global Lens.

Resources on the Web

The Archaeology Channel
The Archaeological Legacy Institute offers a fabulous collection of streaming videos via The Archaeology Channel (TAC) depicting archaeological projects and sites from around the world.
National Geographic Channel
National Geographic Channel - "...home for the best animals, nature, history, science, engineering, people, places, and exploration content on your television, PC, and mobile device."
University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology Films
University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology Films - Film collections preserved by the Penn Museum are being posted on the Internet Archive. Archaeological and ethnographic motion picture footage made by professional anthropologists and amateur filmmakers document fieldwork or international travels.
EVIA Digital Archive
A digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.
eSkeletons Project
The site is devoted to the study of human and primate comparative anatomy using digitized versions of skeletons in 2-D and 3-D in full color, animations, and much supplemental information
National Anthropological Archives (NAA)
Collections represent the four fields of anthropology – ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology – and include fieldnotes, journals, manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists.