InfoGuides: Global Theater History: Find Articles

Selected World Theater Journals

Scholarly journal articles are vital resources for researching world theater, offering invaluable in-depth analyses and insights into specific aspects of the field. While reference works and general sources can provide an overview, journal articles present the latest findings, critical examinations, and theoretical perspectives from experts in the discipline.

Here are some selected journals where you can find the latest research articles on regional and global theater practices.

Theatre Research International
Provides scholarly articles examining theatrical practices in their social, cultural, and historical contexts, their relationships to other representational media, and their connections to various fields of study, encompassing diverse critical approaches from global contexts.
International Journal of Performance Arts and Digital Media
Publishes critical scholarship and creative pedagogies on media technologies and performance for theatre, dance, music, live art, or computer science.
Alt.theatre: Cultural Diversity & the Stage
Publishes articles by and for established and emerging artists, academics, experts, or professionals in fields related to intersections between politics, cultural plurality, social activism, theatre andperforming arts.
Theatre Topics
Focuses on performance studies, dramaturgy, and theatre pedagogy. Provides concise and timely articles on a broad array of practical, performance-oriented subjects.
Journal of Theatre Anthropology
Provides an annual open access publication that focuses on the study of actor's techniques, stage presence, and principles of representation across cultures, drawing from the research and contributions of an international network of artists and scholars in the field of theatre anthropology.
Theatre Journal
Provides broad array of scholarly articles and reviews in theatre studies covering social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production.
Asian Theatre Journal
Offers scholarly articles, play translations, reviews, and reports on both traditional and modern theatrical activities across Asia, facilitating an intercultural exchange of knowledge on Asian theatrical forms.
South African Theatre Journal
Provides articles on South African and African continent theatre, exploring history, theory and practice, theatre research methodology and performance studies.
Latin American Theatre Review
Covers all aspects of Latin and Latin American theatre and performance.
Theatre History Studies
Official journal of the Mid-America Theatre Conference. Provides critical, analytical, and descriptive articles on all aspects of theatre history.

Navigate to More Electronic Journals

Most of our theater periodicals are accessible in digitized format, many in both HTML (browser-friendly) and PDF (page scan) versions. Some are available through multiple vendors with differing dates of coverage.

Use the E-Journal Finder Tool to search by title, click "View Online" to choose a database, and drill down to your desired article (or "search within" the journal by keyword).

Find Articles in Databases for Theater

If you want to cast your net a little wider, search in some of our Theater Databases which house thousands of journals.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprises a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theater and performance in 126 countries. Also contains author-supplied abstracts, author-supplied keywords and author affiliations.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Formerly International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA). Provides indexing and abstracts for international periodicals, plus full text for the indexed journals (1864-present) on the subjects of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.