InfoGuides: African and African American Studies: Newspapers

Newspaper Collections - Africa and Beyond

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
Digital archive of prominent newspapers from the Middle East and North Africa. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring. Coverage: 1870 – 2019.
more...less...
Note: Registration is required to print and download PDFs.
World Newspaper Archive, Africa
Provides more than 70 searchable African newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Sub-Saharan Africa. Features English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Madagascar, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, and other countries covering the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples.

Historical Newspapers and Periodicals - African American Specific

(ProQuest) Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender
The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African-Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925.
more...less...
It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military. Coverage from 1910-1975.
(ProQuest) Historical Newspapers: Cleveland Call and Post
One of the most influential African American newspapers throughout Ohio. It provides primary source documentation on Black history, politics, culture, and the arts. Coverage: 1934 – 1991.
(ProQuest) Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel
African American owned and operated newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African American community and it's readers. Coverage: 1934 – 2005. Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers collection.
(ProQuest) Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News
One of the nation’s leading black newspapers and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions.
more...less...
For nearly a century, it has helped influence one of the nation’s leading black newspapers and one of New York’s most influential black-owned institutions. For nearly a century, it has helped influence and promote the causes and aspirations of African-Americans. Contributors have included W. E. B. Du Bois, Roy Wilkins, Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., and Malcolm X.e and promote the causes and aspirations of African-Americans. Contributors have included W. E. B. Du Bois, Roy Wilkins, Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., and Malcolm X. The New York Amsterdam News captured the vibrancy and cultural richness of the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, advocated for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and fought against discriminatory employment practices and other civil rights abuses in the 1960s. Coverage from 1922-1993.
(ProQuest) Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune
The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation. Coverage from 1912-2001.
(ProQuest) Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh courier (1981-2002), Pittsburgh courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), and Pittsburgh courier (1955-1965 : City ed.).
more...less...
The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. (OCLC).
(ProQuest) Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Afro-American
One of the most widely circulated Black newspapers on the Atlantic coast. Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1893 - 2010
African American Newspapers
A large collection of African American newspapers that contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s.
Provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Database provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Resource features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans published in 26 states. Include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1
Collects digitized American periodicals published from 1691 through 1820 with subject strengths in Afro-Americana, agriculture, children's literature, education, eighteenth-century imprints, leisure and hobbies, Masonic works, medicine, religion, science, technology, trade, and women's literature.
Black Life in America
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

General

Google News Archive
Search for thousands of archived African American Newspapers