Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
George Mason University Infoguides | University Libraries
See Updates and FAQss for the latest library services updates.

GRAduate Student Skills

Online Databases

Databases are a collection of resources or data dedicated to either a specific discipline or multiple disciplines. These resources can include articles, books, working papers, media, etc. Mason subscribes to many online databases, so Mason affiliated patrons can access these resources. There are multiple ways you can find databases. Use the tabs above to discover a few of those ways.

Follow these instructions if you already know the name of the database you want to access. 

1. Go to the library home page

2. Click on the blue "Databases" box below the libraries search box.

 

3. Use the A-Z bar at the top and choose the letter of the database.

 

4. Find and click on the database. 

 

Follow these instructions to find the list of databases for a specific subject. 

1. Go to the library home page

2. Click on the blue "Databases" box below the libraries search box.

 

3. Choose your subject. 

 

4. Read through the database descriptions and choose the database you want to use. 

 

Follow these instructions to find databases based on collection type. 

1. Go to the library home page

2. Click on the blue "Databases" box below the libraries search box.

 

3. Databases are grouped together by collection. Choose the appropriate collection to see the databases for that collection. 

 

 

4. Read through the database descriptions and choose the database you want to use. 

 

Loan Services

If Mason doesn't have access to an item, you can request it from another university using our loan services. For details on how to submit a request, visit our interlibrary loan FAQs here

Finding Books in Fenwick

Use the call number map or consult the image below to locate an item in the Fenwick Library stacks.Fenwick Locations Image

Graduate Carrels

There are spaces on the Mason Square and Fairfax campuses specifically for graduate students that need a quiet place to do their work. These spaces are reserved for an entire academic term and determined by a drawing each term. The graduate space options are listed below, and the links go to the appropriate form that needs to be completed and submitted to the information desk of your preferred library. 

Fenwick Library Dissertation Writers Room

Fenwick Graduate Student Reserved Carrels

Mason Square Library Graduate Carrels 

For further information on the writing spaces review this page

Proxy Services

Mason faculty can authorize a proxy to borrow library materials on their behalf and under the faculty member's name. To use this service, the Faculty Borrowing Proxy Authorization must be completed first. The form, and additional information on how the proxy service works, is located on the Faculty & Staff Borrowing library page