InfoGuides: Primary Sources in Western European History: Germany

Nuremberg Trials

Trial of the Major War Criminals Before the International Military Tribunal by Nuremberg War Trials Staff
Call Number: Fenwick Stacks D804.G42 G6
Publication Date: 1947-01-01
Trial against H. W. Goring, R. Hess, J. von Ribbentrop, R. Ley, W. Keitel, E. Kaltenbrunner, A. Rosenberg, H. Frank, W. Frick, J. Streicher, W. Funk, H. Schacht, G. Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach, K. Donitz, E. Raeder, B. von Schirach, F. Sauckel, A. Jodl, M. Bormann, F. von Papen, A. Seyss-Inquart, A. Speer, C. von Neurath, and H. Fritzsche, individually and as members of any groups or organizations to which they belonged.

Before the Holocaust: Concentration Camps in Nazi Germany
1933-1939. Documents examining Nazi concentration camps before the Holocaust, with English translations.
Digital Archives CEGES-SOMA
1931-1948. Digital archives of the Belgium Ministry of Justice, German occupational government, civil institutions, and Wehrmacht.

Economy and War in the Third Reich, 1933-1944 This link opens in a new window
Provides rare, detailed data on the German economic situation during the Third Reich up to and throughout World War II. Consists of Monatliche Nachweise-ber den Auswartigen Handel Deutschlands (January 1933-June 1939); Der Aussenhandel Deutschlands Monatliche Nachweise (July 1939); and Sondernachweis der Aussenhandel Deutschlands (August 1939-1944).

EuroDocs: Germany
Selected transcriptions, facsimiles, and translations of German primary historical documents.
EuroDocs: Shoah (Holocaust)
Wiki page of documents related to the Holocaust from BYU Library.
German Historical Institute
The German Historical Institute's work is at the forefront of international historical and interdisciplinary research and covers a broad geographic, methodological, and thematic spectrum. Ranging well beyond German history, the GHI's research agenda is international and includes American history as well as comparative and transnational history.
German History in Documents and Images
1500-Present. A comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history.
Germany Under Reconstruction
Post-World War II. Selection of publications in English and German on Post World War II Germany.
Holocaust Rescue and Relief: Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee
1939-1967. Official archive for the records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee, which provided aid to displaced persons in Europe after World War II.

Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration This link opens in a new window
Collection of documents and images from the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR). IGCR was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.

Leo Baeck Institute
Source material relating to the history of German-speaking Jewry, from its origins to its tragic destruction by the Nazis and continuing to the present day.
Manuscriptorium
Virtual research environment providing access to all existing digital documents in the sphere of historic book resources (manuscripts, incunabula, early printed books, maps, charters and other types of documents) in Europe. Can search in multiple languages but for accurate searches one must search in the source language.
Narrative Sources
500-1500. Belgium, Netherlands, France, Germany. an exhaustive and critical survey of all the narrative sources originating from the medieval Low Countries.
Nazi and East German Propaganda
1933-1989. Includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists. The goal is to help people understand the two great totalitarian systems of the twentieth century by giving them access to the primary material.
Yad Vashem Digital Collections
As the Jewish people’s living memorial to the Holocaust, Yad Vashem safeguards the memory of the past and imparts its meaning for future generations. Established in 1953, it is the world center for documentation, research, education and commemoration of the Holocaust.
Captured German and Related Records on Microform in the National Archives