InfoGuides: Information Science & Technology: Find Technical Reports

Conference Papers

Proceedings are compilations of papers presented at scientific, professional conferences or meetings. Proceedings usually report new research or analyses that may not have been published in a book or journal (yet). Search for papers from conferences and meetings using the following databases.

IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to all journals, transactions and conference proceedings published by IEEE and IET. Accesses more than 1,000 books in the IEEE-Wiley eBook Library and IEEE-MIT eBook Library-Computing and Engineering Collection.
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library
Citations and full-text articles in the area of computing and information technologies from journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the ACM.

Government and Technical Reports

Computer & Cybersecurity

FIRST Security Library
FIRST provides many digital resources such as articles, papers, presentations, guides and references on security and related topics to its members and the general public.
Software Engineering Institute (SEI) Digital Library
The SEI Digital Library at Carnegie Mellon provides access to more than 5,000 documents from three decades of research into best practices in software engineering. These documents include technical reports, presentations, webinars, podcasts and other materials searchable by user-supplied keywords and organized by topic, publication type, publication year, and author.

Digital National Security Archive
Consists of curated and indexed government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Provides access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents, as well as specialized resources such as dissertations, reports, and position papers from universities, research institutions, think tanks, U.S. local and state agencies, and international organizations.

NIST Computer Security Resource Center
Provided access to NIST's cybersecurity- and information security-related projects, publications, news and events.
Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA)
"CISA leads the national effort to understand, manage, and reduce risk to our cyber and physical infrastructure." from website

Science & Technology Technical Reports

United Nations Official Document System (ODS)
Covers all types of official UN documentation from 1993 forward, except: press releases, UN sales publications, the UN Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information. Provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onward.
NTRL: National Technical Reports Library
Provides documents from the National Technical Information Service's comprehensive collection of federally-funded science- and technology-related technical reports.
DTIC (Defense Technical Information Center) Technical Reports
Publicly available scientific and technical reports conveying results of research sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Defense, development, test and evaluation efforts on a wide range of topics. Collection includes both citations and many full-text, downloadable documents from mid-1900s to present.

DOE Office of Science & Technical Information
Search for energy related research in this tool from the US Department of Energy.

RAND Publications
Index, abstracts and full-text of over 20,000 titles in the RAND archive dating back to 1946. Covers areas in energy, education, health, justice, the environment, and international and military affairs.

Data

Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures (CVE)
CVE is a list of entries for publicly known cybersecurity vulnerabilities.
National Vulnerability Database (NVD)
The U.S. government repository of standards based vulnerability management data represented using the Security Content Automation Protocol (SCAP). The NVD includes databases of security checklist references, security-related software flaws, misconfigurations, product names, and impact metrics.

Sage Data
Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables are available for use in the Sage Data repository. Sage Data offers capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views.
Statista
Integrates more than 80,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 22,500 international sources. Includes statistics and studies gathered from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, government sources and international organizations. Create graphs, reports and infographics. Data is easily exportable for analysis. Statista reports now allow you to create your own interactive industry comparisons with Tableau Workbook. Find the free tool at the Tableau website.

Cybersecurity Groups

W3C Security Activity
Web Security is a collaborative effort across the Web ecosystem; W3C coordinates some of that work in its Security Activity. Among the work we are doing to help secure Web applications and Web usage.
Microsoft Security Response Center
The Microsoft Security Response Center's security researchers work to protect customers and the broader ecosystem.
IEEE Cyber Security (CYBSI)
The IEEE Cybersecurity Initiative (CYBSI) aims are to provide the go-to online presence for security and privacy professionals, improve the comprehension of cybersecurity by students and educators, and improve S&P designs and implementations by professionals.

Government Groups

Multi-State Information Sharing & Analysis Center (MS-ISAC)
Iimproves the overall cybersecurity posture of the nation's state, local, tribal and territorial governments through focused cyber threat prevention, protection, response, and recovery.
U.S. Cyber Command
The Command has three main focus areas: Defending the DoDIN, providing support to combatant commanders for execution of their missions around the world, and strengthening our nation's ability to withstand and respond to cyber attack.
U.S. Military Academy Cyber Research Center (CRC)
CRC educates and inspires cadets and faculty in the acquisition, use, management, and protection of information through innovative teaching, curriculum development, research, and outreach to Army, DoD, and federal agencies.
FBI: Cyber Crime
The FBI is the lead federal agency for investigating cyber attacks by criminals, overseas adversaries, and terrorists. The threat is incredibly serious—and growing. Cyber intrusions are becoming more commonplace, more dangerous, and more sophisticated.

Finding Patents

Use the following library guide to find patents.

Finding Patents
by Tammy Stitz Last Updated Apr 22, 2025 314 views this year