Forensic Psychology Virtual Reading Room

This wide-ranging volume combines the current findings and frontline knowledge working practitioners need to know about forensic interviewing of children in sexual abuse cases.

This new textbook offers a comprehensive approach to forensic and correctional psychology, demonstrating how theory and practise can be applied and integrated.

This timely handbook provides in-depth overviews of the myriad and multi-faceted issues surrounding sexual assault and its pervasiveness in today's culture. The Handbook of Sexual Assault and Sexual Assault Prevention is a vital book that will appeal to a broad spectrum of students, researchers, practitioners, and clinicians in the fields of psychology, psychiatry, community mental health, and sociology.

International Perspectives on the Assessment and Treatment of Sexual Offenders: Theory, Practice and Research provides the first truly global perspective on the assessment and treatment of sex offenders. Presents a comprehensive overview of current theories and practices relating to the assessment and treatment of sex offenders throughout the world, including the US, Europe, and Australasia Covers all the major developments in the areas of risk assessment, treatment, and management.

A significant percentage of sexual abuse in the United States is committed by juveniles, and mental health professionals increasingly receive requests to evaluate these juveniles. With an emphasis on practicality and utility, Juvenile Sex Offenders fills a gap in the current literature by providing a thoughtful, thorough approach to evaluating and treating youth who have committed sexual offenses or have engaged in sexually abusive behavior.

The Oxford Handbook on Sex Offenses and Sex Offenders provides comprehensive, even-handed analysis of the myriad of topics related to sex offenses, including pornography, sex trafficking, criminal justice responses, and the role of social media in sex crimes.

While most sexual offender treatment programs take an aggressive, confrontational approach that targets the offenders' denial, research has shown that this common approach does not alter actual criminogenic factors related to reoffence rate. Over the past 40 years, William Marshall and colleagues have developed and refined a motivational, strength-based approach emphasising warmth, empathy, and support for the offenders. Backed by research, this positive approach does not ignore criminogenic factors, but presents them to clients as targets for the development of strengths rather than as deficits to be overcome.

This book, addresses the current state of knowledge on the treatment of sexual offenders and the issues that must be targeted for treatment to be effective. A consideration of this extensive information, as well as our own clinical experience, has led us to develop an approach to treating these offenders. Whereas most offender treatment approaches take an aggressive, confrontational approach that emphasizes admitting guilt, our approach emphasizes warmth, empathy, and support for the offenders—what we refer to as a positive approach.

The Routledge Handbook of Offenders with Special Needs is an in-depth examination of offenders with special needs, such as those who are learning-challenged, developmentally disabled, and mentally ill, as well as substance abusers, sex offenders, women, juveniles, and chronically and terminally ill offenders.

This book provides the first systematic overview of the theoretical, empirical, clinical, and police issues related to sexual murderers and murder.

In Sex Fiends, Perverts, and Pedophiles, Chrysanthi Leon argues that, while the singular notion of the sexual boogeyman has been used to justify harsh policies, not all sex offenders are the same and such 'one size fits all' policies can unfairly punish other offenders of lesser crimes, needlessly targeting, sometimes ostracizing, citizens from their own communities. While many recognize that prison is not the right tool for every crime problem, Leon compellingly argues that the U.S. maintains a one-size-fits-all approach to sexual offending which is undermining public safety.

"This fine book by Richard Wright and his distinguished collaborators provides the evidence that wise policy-makers would want to consider. It covers every major field of research concerning sex offenders and sexual offenses and provides evidence of bad practices and policies .Intellectually honest politicians should read this book." -- Michael Tonry, LL.B

Sex Offender Treatment is an innovative case study-based guide to the treatment of sexual offenders, offering direct access to the insights and experience of experts in the field. The book describes case formulations, assessment processes, and treatment undertaken with specific sexual offender types.

With this book, researchers and clinicians have the opportunity to explore aspects of diverse sexual practice with which they may be unfamiliar. This allows them to have confidence in understanding the issues being addressed in the consulting room, and to know when the client may be crossing a line into illegal sexual behaviour. In this way, the method of therapy offered can be both more appropriate and more beneficial for the diverse lifestyles encountered in contemporary society.

This information-rich volume expands current knowledge about sexually violent predators and critiques SVP laws with the goal of fostering improvements in clinical practice and public policy.

Toolkit for Working with Juvenile Sex Offenders provides therapists with a summary of evidence-based practice with this population, including working with comorbid conditions and developmental disabilities. It provides tools for use in assessment, case formulation, and treatment, and includes forms, checklists, and exercises.

This structured yet flexible manual presents an innovative group treatment approach that targets deficits in self-regulation--a central problem for sex offenders. Safe Offender Strategies (SOS) comprises 10 evidence-based modules that teach participants the skills to desist from problem behaviors, manage their emotions and impulses, and break unhealthy relationship patterns.

Treatment of High-Risk Sexual Offenders addresses concrete management strategies, from initial intake to community treatment programs, and describes a detailed program for high risk offenders which has been developed, tested and refined for over 15 years. Provides a thorough review of contemporary theory and research relating to complex, challenging populations, and translates it into a comprehensive system of assessment and treatment for high risk sexual offenders.

This rigorous survey offers a comprehensive rethinking of the assessment and treatment of sexual offenders for a bold challenge to practitioners. It critiques what we understand about offenders and the mechanisms of offending behaviors, and examines how this knowledge can best be used to reduce offending and relapses.

Second Edition of Understanding, Assessing, and Rehabilitating Juvenile Sexual Offenders guides mental health professionals through the breadth of assessment and intervention methods available for working with this special population, providing a succinct yet complete survey of the field, the etiological development of sexually abusive behavior in juveniles, and a reliable resource for assessment, treatment, and rehabilitation.

Violence, Sex Offenders, and Corrections critically assesses what is meant by the term 'sex offender', and acknowledges that such meanings are socially constructed, situated, and contingent. The book explores the person, crime, penal space, sexual orientation, legislation, and the community experiences of labelled sex offenders as well as the experiences of correctional officers working with said custodial populations.

Drawing on four years of participatory research in a Baltimore emergency room, Sameena Mulla reveals the realities of sexual assault response in the forensic age. Taking an approach developed at the intersection of medical and legal anthropology, she analyzes the ways in which nurses work to collect and preserve evidence while addressing the needs of sexual assault victims as patients.

Building on the success of the first edition and the growth of research in the field over the past decade, this book offers an authoritative overview of the assessment, treatment, and management of violent and sexual offenders. This new and expanded edition reflects the considerable developments in research and empirical data and captures the increasing breadth of risk assessment approaches, the wider range of empirically based therapies, and the more creative means of considering management.

This handbook combines the latest theory on a high-profile, complex subject in criminology, exploring the legal and ethical dimensions of society's response to sex offenders in jurisdictions from the USA to Japan.