Forensic Psychology Virtual Reading Room

Gussak describes the role of the art therapist as an expert witness in a murder case, the way to use art as evidence, and the conclusions and assessments that professionals can draw from a defendant's artworks. He examines the effectiveness of expert testimony as communicated by the prosecution, defense, and court, and weighs the moral, ethical, and legal consequences of relying on such evidence.

Art Therapy for Psychosis presents innovative theoretical and clinical approaches to psychosis that have developed in the work of expert clinicians from around the world.

Drawing on original research on the effectiveness of a therapeutic community (TC) in reducing recidivism among juvenile male offenders, Correctional Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Communities: Reducing Recidivism Through Behavior Change provides a comprehensive review of the current state of drug treatment for the offending population, especially the link between juvenile offending and substance abuse.

Forensic Social Work: Legal Aspects of Professional Practice, Second Edition examines the professional specialty of forensic social work which involves testifying in court as an expert witness, investigating cases of possible criminal conduct, and assisting the legal system in such issues as child custody disputes, divorce, child support, juvenile delinquency, spouse or child abuse, and placing individuals in mental hospitals.

Handbook of Forensic Mental Health Services focuses on assessment, treatment, and policy issues regarding juveniles and adults in the criminal and civil systems. Uniquely, this volume is designed for professionals who deliver mental health services, rather than researchers.

From the 'nothing works' maxim of the 1970s to evidence-based interventions to challenge recidivism and promote pro-social behavior, psychological therapy has played an important role in rehabilitation and risk reduction within forensic settings in recent years. And yet the typical group therapy model isn't always the appropriate path to take. In this important new book, the aims and effectiveness of individual therapies within forensic settings, both old and new, are assessed and discussed.

One of the primary ways the criminal justice system tries to reduce the rates of recidivism among offenders is through the use of cognitive behavioural programs (CBP) as in-prison intervention strategies. Inmates' thinking is characterized as flawed and the purpose of the program is to teach them to think and act in socially appropriate ways so they will be less inclined to return to prison after their release. This book delves into the heart of one such cognitive behavioural programme, examines its inner workings, its effects on inmates' narrated experience and considers what happens when a CBP of substandard quality and integrity is used as a gateway for inmates' release.

Juvenile Justice and Expressive Arts: Creative Disruptions through Art Programs for and with Teens in a Correctional Institution explores art programming as a sustainable educational initiative to support incarcerated teens' successful reintegration to society.

The Oxford Handbook of Prisons and Imprisonment provides the only single source that bridges social scientific and behavioralperspectives, providing graduate students with a more comprehensive understanding of the topic, academics with a body of knowledge that will more effectively inform their own research, and practitioners with an overview of evidence-based best practices.

The [Oxford] Handbook of Sentencing and Corrections surveys American sentencing and corrections from global and historical views, from theoretical and policy perspectives, and with attention to a number of problem-specific issues.

This highly accessible volume tours the competencies and challenges relating to contemporary mental health service delivery in correctional settings. Balancing the general and specific knowledge needed for conducting effective therapy in jails and prisons, leading experts present eclectic theoretical models, current statistics, diagnostic information, and frontline wisdom.

The Routledge International Handbook of Forensic Psychology in Secure Settings is the first volume to identify, discuss and analyse the most important psychological issues within prisons and secure hospitals.

This book focuses on the experience of imprisonment from the perspectives of individuals with sexual convictions. It stresses the importance of a positive and rehabilitative prison climate.

How can environments play a role in assisting and sustaining personal change in individuals incarcerated within the criminal justice system? Can a failure to address contextual issues reduce or undermine the effectiveness of clinical intervention? Bringing together a range of leading forensic psychologists, this book explores and illustrates inter-relationships between interventions and the environment in which they take place.

Changing Lives, Changing Outcomes: A Treatment Program for Justice-Involved Persons with Mental Illness. A Treatment Manual for Justice Involved Persons with Mental Illness comprises a comprehensive and structured treatment manual that provides clinicians a guide for treating justice involved persons with mental illness. The manual includes a treatment plan for each session with specific structured exercises designed to teach objectives each session.

This comprehensive volume summarizes the contemporary evidence base for offender assessment and rehabilitation, evaluating commonly used assessment frameworks and intervention strategies in a complete guide to best practice when working with a variety of offenders.