| University Libraries
Behind the Zines by
Social networks are dominating today s headlines, but they are not the only platforms that are radically changing the way we communicate. Creatives such as designers, photographers, artists, researchers, and poets are disseminating information about themselves and their favorite subjects not via predefined media such as Twitter or blogs, but through printed or other self-published projects so-called zines. Those who publish zines are mostly interested in sole authorship, namely that all components including text, images, layout, typography, production, and distribution are firmly in the hands of one person or a small group. At their best, the results convey a compelling and consistent atmosphere and push against the established creative grain in just the right way. They provoke with surprising and non-linear food for thought. In short, zines are advancing the evolution of today s media. With a cutting-edge selection of international examples, Behind the Zines introduces the broad range of zines that exists today. These include zines that function as a new kind of project-oriented portfolio to showcase a self-profile or document an exhibit. While some act as (pseudo) scientific treatises to call the reader s attention to a specific topic, others serve as playrooms for creatives to run riot and express themselves and communicate with each other in a space that is free from editorial restrictions. The book examines the key factors that distinguish various zines. It introduces projects in which the printing process significantly influences aesthetics or in which limited distribution to a small, clearly defined target audience becomes part of the overall concept. Behind the Zines not only documents outstanding work, but also shows how the self-image of those who make zines impacts the scene as a whole. Through interviews with people involved in zine production and distribution, the book sheds light on various strategies for this evolving media form.
Girl Zines by
With names like The East Village Inky, Mend My Dress, Dear Stepdad, and I'm So Fucking Beautiful, zines created by girls and women over the past two decades make feminism's third wave visible. These messy, photocopied do-it-yourself documents cover every imaginable subject matter and are loaded with handwriting, collage art, stickers, and glitter. Though they all reflect the personal style of the creators, they are also sites for constructing narratives, identities, and communities. Girl Zines is the first book-length exploration of this exciting movement. Alison Piepmeier argues that these quirky, personalized booklets are tangible examples of the ways that girls and women 'do' feminism today. The idiosyncratic, surprising, and savvy arguments and issues showcased in the forty-six images reproduced in the book provide a complex window into feminism's future, where zinesters persistently and stubbornly carve out new spaces for what it means to be a revolutionary and a girl. Girl Zines takes zines seriously, asking what they can tell us about the inner lives of girls and women over the last twenty years.
From A to Zine by
Libraries eager to serve the underserved teen-to-twenty year old market can make the library a cool place to hang out. All it takes are Zines, according to the author, young adult librarian Julie Bartel. Zines and alternative press materials provide a unique bridge to appeal to disenfranchised youth, alienated by current collections. For librarians unfamiliar with the territory, or anxious to broaden their collection, veteran zinester Bartel establishes the context, history and philosophy of zines, then ushers readers through an easy, do-it-yourself guide to creating a zine collection, including both print and electronic zines. discussions of intellectual freedom and the Library Bill of Rights. Teen and young adult librarians, high school media specialists, academic librarians, reference, and adult services librarians will uncover answers to questions about this new and growing literary genre: What is a zine and how does a library zine collection work? What are the pros and cons of having a zine collection in the library? When promoting zines, what appeals to patrons and non-library users alike? What is the best way to catalog and display? Where can libraries get zines and how much do they cost? collection, as well as a comprehensive directory of zine resources in this one-stop, one-of-a-kind guide.
The Century of Artists' Books by
By Johanna Drucker.
Whatcha Mean, What's a Zine? by 
In Numbers: Serial Publications by Artists since 1955 by 
Blurred Library by
Literary Nonfiction. Art. Despite the fact that the field of artists' books has grown steadily since the mid-sixties, the discourse has been largely under- theorized. BLURRED LIBRARY: ESSAYS ON ARTISTS' BOOKS, is a stunning collection of the most revered essays by Tate Shaw, the Director of Visual Studies Workshop. For years, Shaw's contributions to the field of artists' books as a theorist, artist, writer, historian, and teacher have been celebrated internationally, but have largely gone undocumented, until now. Shaw's versatility as a scholar and artist allow him to take a holistic approach to his subject that is historical, conceptual, anecdotal, contemplative, and engaging. BLURRED LIBRARY is an indispensible contribution to the field of artists' books, essential reading for emerging and seasoned artists and scholars alike. Lavishly illustrated throughout by photographer Doug Manchee.
Queer Zines by
Published on the occasion of the exhibition of the same name as a component of The Temptation of AA Bronson, Witte de With Center for Contemporary Art, Rotterdam, 6 September 2013 - 5 January 2014.
"This exhibition was assembled primarily from the personal collection of Philip Aarons and Shelley Fox Aarons."
Consists of two volumes, issued in printed cardboard slipcase. The first volume is "a reprint of the original, but with mistakes corrected, and [a] preface added ..." The second volume "includes three types of content: an appendix to the first volume, listing some additional titles from the period ending in 2008 ... ; a section of new titles that have appeared since publication of the first edition; and a section of short essays by individuals involved in queer zines in various ways, from artists and publishers to a librarian at MoMA."
Tomorrow's Man 2 by
The title of Jack Pierson's most recent print exploration comes from an infamous bodybuilding magazine from the 1950s and 60s. Appropriating both the title and its retro bodybuilding aesthetic, Pierson takes viewers on a dizzying visual journey encompassing a wide spectrum of cultural references. Combining archival material with contributions from artists, illustrators and one writer, Tomorrow's Man 2 is a psychedelic meditation on masculinity. Highlights include sci-fi-imbued illustrations from Mel Odom, surreal assemblages from Tibi Tibi Neuspiel and geometric abstractions from Richard Tinkler. Also included are works from Dennis Balk, David Carrino, Alejandro Cesarco, David Colman, Pat de Groot, Jeff Elrod, Alex Jovanovich, Elizabeth Kley, Paulo Montiero, Dan McCarthy, OM from India and Evan Whale. Pierson does away with the conventions of the photobook genre, arranging this scrapbook with his signature irreverence and curatorial quirk.
Sophie Calle: Suite Vénitienne by 
Australian Artists Books by 
The Patricia G. England Collection of Fine Press and Artists' Books by 
The Incomplete Thombu by 
Sketches of Universal History Compiled from Several Authors by 
Wayne Thiebaud by
In fact, Thiebaud is part of the grand tradition of representational art from Chardin and Manet to the American Realist masters such as Eakins and Hopper. Best-known for his deadpan still-life paintings of cakes, pies, delicatessen counters, and other consumer goods, Thiebaud has also explored such themes as figure studies, the topography of Northern California, and cityscapes exaggerating the vertiginous roadways and geometric high-rises of San Francisco. Continuous throughout his career is his combination of the perceptual and the conceptual, of sensuous color, light, and painterly texture with rigorously formal composition, resulting in a highly personalized Americana. Wayne Thiebaud: A Paintings Retrospective is published on the occasion of an exhibition of the same title, the first major survey in fifteen years of work by this famous American figurative artist. Steven A. Nash, Associate Director and Chief Curator at the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco, has organized the exhibition and provides a biographical essay on Thiebaud. An extended essay by Adam Gopnik, the Paris Journal writer for The New Yorker, links Thiebaud to American writing as a painter in the tradition of Walt Whitman, William Carlos Williams, and John Updike.
Community, Home, and Identity by
Community, home, and identity are concepts that have concerned scholars in a variety of fields for some time. Legal scholars, sociologists, anthropologists, psychologists, and economists, among others, have studied the impacts of home and community on one's identity and how one's identity is manifested in one's home and in one's community. This volume brings together some of the leading thinkers about the connections between community, home and identity. Several chapters address how the law and lawyers contribute (or detract) from the creation and maintenance of community and, in some cases, the conscious destruction of communities. Others examine the protection of individual and group identities through rules related to property title and use of such things as Home and 'identity property'.
Please Take Me off the Guest List by
Zachary Lipez's essays recount his adventures as a bartender, drug abuser, bookseller, metal fan, miserable adolescent and relentless skirt-chaser. His inimitable voice walks the line between self-loathing and hedonistic delight and is biting, moving and extremely funny. Nick Zinner's photographs evoke the world he travels with his band Yeah Yeah Yeahs. His always-present camera documents decadent late nights as well as blissfully fresh sundappled landscapes. His images are rich in narrative and unwaveringly optimistic.
Home, Identity, and Mobility in Contemporary Diasporic Fiction by 
Atlas of the poetic continent : pathways to ecological citizenship by 
General Economy of Travel by
The central concern of this study is the basic question: what does it mean to travel? In order to understand this query, Hafizi places the discourse on travel within an economical framework and distinguishes between two interdependent forms: a restricted economy of travel and a general economy of travel. The apparent closed structure of departure and arrival in a traditional definition of travel, which Hafizi refers to as a restricted economy of travel, is usually teleological in its movement from an origin towards a destination. More often than not, it is an incarnation of knowledge and light, an unveiling of the secrets of the others. Hafizi challenges this structure by arguing that behind this traditional notion of travel lies a different itinerary, which he refers to as a general economy of travel. This itinerary departs from a non-origin, whose trajectory is not continuous, ordered, or controlled, and whose destination is a being-destined-to-wander. The arrival at a destination is never guaranteed. In conclusion, Hafizi invites us to look at the phenomenon of travel with a Janus face: to see, in the experience of the foreign, not only that which is gathered but also that which is scattered.
Gerhard Richter. Eis by
The reader can really feel the cold when looking at the photos Gerhard Richter brought back with him from a trip to Greenland in 1972. Stretches of ice and snow, screes and rugged cliffs, icebergs and floes, reflected in grey-blue water. Many of these motifs can found in his paintings.
Leon Golub Powerplay by
Leon Golub (1922-2004) is best known for his iconic history paintings of mercenaries, interrogations, torture scenes, and the riots of the 1980s and '90s. Published to accompany an exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery in London running from March through November 2016, this collection of nearly all of Golub's political portraits from 1975-1978, almost 100 paintings, offers a rich survey of his powerful style with analysis from curator Jon Bird and professor of art history Gill Perry. Bird and Perry examine the ways Golub increasingly explored the effects of power upon the body through facial expressions, gestures, and poses, and how he invested his characters with psychological tension and depth. As they show, Golub always derived his source material from media representations, aiming to capture the way power--whether political, military, or social--is mediated through the camera lens. This "look of power" is the dominant characteristic of the portraits included here, all painted as part of his Political Portraits series of the 1970s, which captured historical figures--ranging from Fidel Castro and Henry Kissinger to Pinochet and Mao Tse-Tung--at various stages of their public office. With a narrative of arrogance and venality traced clearly across the face, these portraits forcefully show that power is uncompromising. The result is a startling collection of faces, arrestingly rendered through Golub's signature, visceral style.
Gerhard Richter: Books by
Gerhard Richter (born 1932) is predominantly known for his paintings and drawings, which strike a playful balance between photo-realism and abstraction, while at once delving into often controversial political commentary. His works have explored a multitude of media, from photo-based, monochrome and brightly colored paintings to ink-doused papers and thin, multicolored strips of pure pattern. Beyond his artistic works, and particularly in recent years, Richter has published extensively on his vision of art and artistic values: in letters, interviews, public statements, excerpts and articles, Richter has established himself as a brilliant advocate of contemporary painting. Richter has also increasingly explored the possibilities of the book as medium in a series of extraordinary artist's books. Gerhard Richter: Books takes an in-depth look at his work in this medium. It features a book-length interview with the artist by internationally renowned art critic and historian Hans Ulrich Obrist, who walks us through the Richter archive and discusses the work with the artist himself, affording the reader an entirely new perspective on his works. The book also includes a new text by Kunstmuseum Winterthur director Dieter Schwarz.
Tate Introductions: Robert Rauschenberg by
A lively and accessible introduction to the life and work of Robert Rauschenberg (1925-2008), one of the most inventive and influential artists of the post-war period. An important influence on pop artists in the 1960s, Rauschenberg worked in a variety of media--painting, drawing, photography, sculpture, silkscreen, lithography, and performance--and actively collaborated with musicians, choreographers, and dancers, and with engineers and scientists to pursue the potentials offered by new technologies. Part of the Tate Introduction series, this book offers a concise and engaging account of Rauschenberg's life, his art, and the ongoing debates concerning his significance.
Drawing the Line by
Agnes Martin's (1912-2004) celebrated grid paintings are widely acknowledged as a touchstone of postwar American art and have influenced many contemporary artists. Martin's formative years, however, have been largely overlooked. In this revelatory study of Martin's early artistic production, Christina Bryan Rosenberger demonstrates that the rapidly evolving creative processes and pictorial solutions Martin developed between 1940 and 1967 define all her subsequent art. Beginning with Martin's initiation into artistic language at the University of New Mexico and concluding with the reception of her grid paintings in New York in the early 1960s, Rosenberger offers vivid descriptions of the networks of art, artists, and information that moved between New Mexico and the creative centers of New York and California in the postwar period. She also documents Martin's exchanges with artists including Ellsworth Kelly, Barnett Newman, Georgia O'Keeffe, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko, among others. Rosenberger uses original analysis of Martin's art, as well as a rich array of archival materials, to situate Martin's art within the context of a dynamic historical moment. With a lively, innovative approach informed by art history and conservation, this fluidly written book makes a substantial contribution to the history of postwar American art.
Agnes Martin by
Agnes Martin's abstract works adhere to no set of rules but appear instead as contemplative, intuitive signs. Her "floating abstractions," in which lines and free bands of color emerge almost imperceptibly, can be reproduced only with difficulty. Her writings, on the other hand--although certainly not intended as programmatic statements--offer valuable clarity regarding her own works and poetic insight about art in general. Since its original publication in 1991, this volume of Martin's writings has been a fundamental document for libraries of artists, collectors and critics. Rather than identifying herself with her Minimalist peers, Martin has aligned herself with the ancient Greeks, Egyptians and Chinese, asserting that "the function of art work is... the renewal of memories of moments of perfection." In combination with illustrations of her works, these texts--including lectures, stories recorded by critic Ann Wilson, passages ostensibly arranged in associative sequences and "fragmentary ideas"--form an eloquent artist's statement by the creator of "silent paintings."
Agnes Martin by
Agnes Martin, Paintings, Writings, Remembrances by Arne Glimcher is a beautiful collection of the artist's most important art works, illuminated by her own notes and writings. Martin's writings are fascinatingly direct in explaining her philosophies on art and on the themes of life that inspire her paintings and drawings, and facsimilies presenting her words in her own handwriting intimately convey her thoughts. More than 150 of Martin's paintings present the full extent of her artistic career, and her own words explain how they were inspired by ideas on love, joy, beauty, humility, solitude, perfection, 'freedom from the cares of this world', destiny and the nature of existence. The artist's works and writings are here introduced by art dealer and film director, Arne Glimcher, who represented the artist for most of her career and was good friend. He opens the book with reminiscences of working with Martin and how her art developed during her life, and later in the book are notes on visits he made to Martin's studio and home in New Mexico. With beautifully accurate reproductions of Martin's works, and foldouts to show her series as groups, as well as the comprehensive presentation of works and writings, this luxurious book is unprecedented: a uniquely full and intimate celebration of the artist.
The Art of Gerhard Richter by
The Art of Gerhard Richter- Hermeneutics, Images, Meaning presents the first philosophical investigation of arguably one of the most popular and important painters working today, Gerhard Richter. From monochrome painting and photo realism to conceptual art and gesture-expressive painting, Richter has transformed the spectrum of 20th-century painting. Uncovering key philosophical aspects of Richter's work, Christian Lotz's study discusses the problem of how Richter's paintings represent and generate meaning, the dialectic of seeing and blindness, death and time and the role of nature and romanticism in Richter's paintings. Building upon Gadamer's notion of 'formed images', Lotz outlines the first elements of a hermeneutics and phenomenology of images. By relying upon a hermeneutical and phenomenological approach, rather than working from abstract theory, The Art of Gerhard Richter provides philosophical insights developed out of Richter's works of art. This is an important and original contribution to philosophical writings on painting and art.
Gerhard Richter by
Gerhard Richter (b. 1932) is one of the most highly regarded of contemporary artists, and his series of 15 paintings known as October 18, 1977, is one of the 20th century's most famous works on a political theme. It commemorates the day on which three young German radicals, members of the militant Baader-Meinhof group, were found dead in a Stuttgart prison; they were pronounced suicides, but many people suspected that they had been murdered. Richter's paintings, created 11 years after this traumatic event, are among the most challenging works of the artist's career. These hauntingly powerful images, derived from newspaper and police photography, are now in the collection of the Museum of Modern Art, New York, and will be on view beginning in September 2000 as part of the MoMA2000 series of exhibitions. In this book, Robert Storr provides necessary political background to the series, but his approach is art historical, offering insight into the complexities of "history painting" in the modernera.
Michal Rovner by
By repeatedly re-photographing her images, transferring them from video to film and back again, and manipulating them digitally, Michal Rovner creates photographic and video imagery that abstract familiar subjects like houses, animals, and people into ambiguous and iconic forms. Working with representation but against the traditions of narrative and documentary purpose, her artworks imply a tentative universe, one that is paradoxically peaceful and unsettled, vivid and shrouded, and completely counter-factual. If the changing nature of art has resulted in a general blurring of boundaries--between painting and photography, reality and memory, presence and absence--Rovner mines this haziness, refuses to respect borders, and exists completely in "The Space Between."
Woolgathering by
A great book about becoming an artist, Woolgathering tells of a youngster finding herself as she learns the noble vocation of woolgathering, "a worthy calling that seemed a good job for me." She discovers--often at night, often in nature--the pleasures of rescuing "a fleeting thought." Deeply moving, Wool- gathering calls up our own memories, as the child "glimpses and gleans, piecing together a crazy quilt of truths." Smith introduces us to her tribe, "a race of cloud dwellers," and to the fierce, vital pleasures of cloud watching and stargazing and wandering. A radiant new autobiographical piece, "Two Worlds" (which was not in the original 1992 Hanuman edition of Woolgathering), and the author's photographs and illustrations are also included. Woolgathering celebrates the sacred nature of creation with Smith's beautiful style, acclaimed as "glorious" (NPR), "spellbinding" (Booklist), "rare and ferocious" (Salon), and "shockingly beautiful" (New York Magazine).
Devotion by
The national bestseller from the renowned artist and author Patti Smith, exploring the nature of creative invention A work of creative brilliance may seem like magic--its source a mystery, its impact unexpectedly stirring. How does an artist accomplish such an achievement, connecting deeply with an audience never met? In this groundbreaking book, one of our culture's beloved artists offers a detailed account of her own creative process, inspirations, and unexpected connections. Patti Smith first presents an original and beautifully crafted tale of obsession--a young skater who lives for her art, a possessive collector who ruthlessly seeks his prize, a relationship forged of need both craven and exalted. She then takes us on a second journey, exploring the sources of her story. We travel through the South of France to Camus's house, and visit the garden of the great publisher Gallimard where the ghosts of Mishima, Nabokov, and Genet mingle. Smith tracks down Simone Weil's grave in a lonely cemetery, hours from London, and winds through the nameless Paris streets of Patrick Modiano's novels. Whether writing in a café or a train, Smith generously opens her notebooks and lets us glimpse the alchemy of her art and craft in this arresting and original book on writing. The Why I Write series is based on the Windham-Campbell Lectures, delivered annually to commemorate the awarding of the Donald Windham-Sandy M. Campbell Literature Prizes at Yale University.
The Faraway Nearby by
This personal, lyrical narrative about storytelling and empathy from award winner Rebecca Solnit is a fitting companion to her beloved A Field Guide for Getting Lost In this exquisitely written new book by the author of A Paradise Built in Hell, Rebecca Solnit explores the ways we make our lives out of stories, and how we are connected by empathy, by narrative, by imagination. In the course of unpacking some of her own stories--of her mother and her decline from memory loss, of a trip to Iceland, of an illness--Solnit revisits fairytales and entertains other stories: about arctic explorers, Che Guevara among the leper colonies, and Mary Shelley's Dr. Frankenstein, about warmth and coldness, pain and kindness, decay and transformation, making art and making self. Woven together, these stories create a map which charts the boundaries and territories of storytelling, reframing who each of us is and how we might tell our story.
Best Short Stories by
Students of German language and literature will welcome this collection of 5 stories by one of the greatest modern writers. Included are "The Metamorphosis," "The Judgment," "In the Penal Colony," "A Country Doctor" and "A Report to an Academy." Original German texts accompanied by new, literal English translations on facing pages.
The Poetry of Arab Women by
An outstanding collection that showcases the work of 82 Arab women poets working all over the world, including Etel Adnan, Salma Khadra Jayyusi, & Naomi Shihab Nye.
Savage Dreams by
In 1851, a war began in what would become Yosemite National Park, a war against the indigenous inhabitants that has yet to come to a real conclusion. A century later--1951--and about a hundred and fifty miles away, another war began when the U. S. government started setting off nuclear bombs at the Nevada Test Site, in what was called a nuclear testing program but functioned as a war against the land and people of the Great Basin. Savage Dreams is an exploration of these two landscapes. Together they serve as our national Eden and Armageddon and offer up a lot of the history of the west, not only in terms of Indian and environmental wars, but in terms of the relationship between culture--the generation of beliefs and views--and its implementation as politics.
A Field Guide to Getting Lost by
With such acclaimed books as River of Shadowsand Wanderlust, activist and cultural historian Rebecca Solnit has emerged as one of the most original and penetrating writers at work today. Her brilliant new book, A Field Guide to Getting Lost, is about the stories we use to navigate our way through the world and the places we traverse, from wilderness to cities, in finding ourselves or losing ourselves. Written as a series of autobiographical essays, it draws on emblematic moments and relationships in Solnits own life to explore issues of uncertainty, trust, loss, memory, desire, and place. While deeply personal, Solnits book is not just a memoir, since her own stories link up with everything from the captivity narratives of early American immigrants to endangered species to the use of the color blue in Renaissance paintingnot to mention encounters with tortoises, monks, punk rockers, mountains, deserts, and the movie Vertigo. The result is a distinctive, stimulating voyage of discovery that only a writer of Solnits caliber and curiosity could produce, a book that will appeal not only to her growing legion of admirers but also to the readers of Anne Lamott, Diane Ackerman, and Annie Dillard.
A Book of Migrations by
No Marketing Blurb
The Poetics of Space by
Thirty years since its first publication in English, French philosopher Gaston Bachelard's The Poetics of Space one of the most appealing and lyrical explorations of home. Bachelard takes us on a journey, from cellar to attic, to show how our perceptions of houses and other shelters shape our thoughts, memories, and dreams.
The Conference of the Birds by
'The paths of God are intricate and strange'Composed in the twelfth century in north-eastern Iran, Attar's great mystical poem is among the most significant of all works of Persian literature. A marvellous, allegorical rendering of the Islamic doctrine of Sufism - a system concerned with the search for truth through God - it describes the conference of the birds of the world when they meet to begin the search for their ideal king, the Simorgh bird. On hearing that to find him they must undertake an arduous journey, the birds soon express their reservations to their leader, the hoopoe. With eloquence and insight, however, the hoopoe calms their fears, using a series of riddling parables to provide guidance in the search for spiritual truth. By turns witty and profound, worldly and spiritual, The Conference of the Birds transforms deep belief into magnificent poetry. This edition has been updated to include translations of the poem's Prologue and Epilogue for the first time. A new introduction by Dick Davis outlines Attar's life and beliefs, discusses the poem's themes and influence, and places it in the context of Medieval literature. Translated by AFKHAM DARBANDI and DICK DAVIS With a new introduction by DICK DAVIS
Ann Hamilton by
For Tropos, Ann Hamilton spread a sea of horsehair across the 5000 square feet of a factory building. Varying in color and sewn together in bundles, this hair was navigated by visitors, while in the middle of the room sat a lone figure at a desk, whose task was to read and burn each line of a text in a book; from somewhere outside the building came the strangulated garble of a man attempting speech. This surreal environment, with its attendant sense of dream landscape and half-formed associations, is classic Hamilton, at once seductive and disorienting. This book records the project.
Ann Hamilton by
Artist Ann Hamilton's celebrated, multi-venue installation is brought to the page in this striking volume that explores another facet of her work in textile and text. "Held by cloth's hand, we are swaddled at birth, covered in sleep, and wound in death," muses artist Ann Hamilton. Rather than documenting the experience of her enormous immersive 2016-17 installation in Philadelphia, Hamilton offers here a document--one that is as much a part of the project as its three dimensional counterparts. Lush photography, archival imagery, and lucid prose come together to help readers understand Hamilton's ideas about the fabric of and in our lives. Like a thread through cloth, these individual images and words weave together strands of history, technology, poetry, and motion into one extraordinary and compelling experience.
Ann Hamilton by
The series, established by one of the twentieth-century West's most distinguished historians, Leonard Arrington, has become a leading forum for prominent historians to address topics related to Mormon history. The first lecturer was Arrington himself. He was followed by Richard Lyman Bushman, Richard E. Bennett, Howard R. Lamar, Claudia L. Bushman, Kenneth W. Godfrey, Jan Shipps, Donald Worster, Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, and F. Ross Peterson. Utah State University hosts the Leonard J. Arrington Mormon History Lecture Series. The University Libraries' Special Collections and Archives houses the Arrington collection. The state's land grant university began collecting records very early, and in the 1960s became a major depository for Utah and Mormon records. Leonard and his wife Grace joined the USU faculty and family in 1946, and the Arringtons and their colleagues worked to collect original diaries, journals, letters, and photographs. Although trained as an economist at the University of North Carolina, Arrington became a Mormon historian of international repute. Working with numerous colleagues, the Twin Falls, Idaho, native produced the classic Great Basin Kingdom: An Economic History of the Latter-day Saints in 1958. Utilizing available collections at USU, Arrington embarked on a prolific publishing and editing career. He and his close ally, Dr. S. George Ellsworth helped organize the Western History Association, and they created the Western Historical Quarterly as the scholarly voice of the WHA. While serving with Ellsworth as editor of the new journal, Arr ington also helped both the Mormon History Association and the independent journal Dialogue get established.
Leon Golub and Nancy Spero by
Leon Golub and Nancy Spero, artistic and marital partners for over 40 years, have created two sustained and uncompromising bodies of work that explore themes of power and vulnerability by confronting the social and political realities of our time. Golub's primary subject has been male aggression and its vulnerability; his large scale canvases are searing visions of brutality, violence and agony. Spero's art has been concerned with degrees of human suffering. In extended series such as Torture of Women, she links sadistic sexuality to the abuse of power, combining ancient and contemporary tales of gynophobic violence. Published to accompany the exhibition at the List Visual Arts Center at MIT. War and Memory includes an overview of the artists as well as an essay by curators Katy Kline and Helaine Posner.
Caravaggio Bacon by
This book offers a juxtaposition of Bacon and Caravaggio - the two greatest interpreters of human representation in its deepest and most innovative aspects. Both painters, in their time, succeeded in producing, with upsetting originality, the tragedy of
Mona Hatoum by
A fresh and engaging look at the groundbreaking work of contemporary artist Mona Hatoum The work of London-based artist Mona Hatoum (b. 1952) addresses the growing unease of an ever-expanding world that is as technologically networked as it is fractured by war and exile. Best known for sculptures that transform domestic objects such as kitchen utensils or cribs into things strange and threatening, Hatoum conducts multilayered investigations of the body, politics, and gender that express a powerful and pervasive sense of precariousness. Her works are never simple and often elicit conflicting emotions, such as fascination and fear, desire and revulsion. This copiously illustrated presentation of Hatoum's oeuvre offers critical and art historical essays by Michelle White and Anna C. Chave and imaginative texts by Rebecca Solnit and Adania Shibli, which contextualize the artist's work and its relationship to Surrealism, Minimalism, feminism, and politics. With extensive discussions on a selection of significant sculptures and installations, some of which are previously unpublished, Mona Hatoum: Terra Infirma provides an insightful look at one of the most exciting and influential artists working today.
Lee Bontecou by
Since the 1960s, American artist Lee Bontecou has been internationally praised for her intriguing sculptures and installations. The rich, organic shapes of her sculptures seem to originate from a mysterious universe in which man's fears and desires are condensed. Recently the artist created Sandbox, a new installation in which she combines elements from her work from the 1960s to the present. A picture essay by Joan Banach, artist and friend of Bontecou, focuses on the genesis of Sandbox and maps the rich network of Bontecou's inspirations: pictures range from extracts from geological and historical books to images of works by old masters. The beautiful, detailed photographs were taken at the artist's studio. This publication also shows Bontecou's sketchbooks and the inspirational ?wall of drawings? in her studio. It is an intimate insight into the creative process of the artist. Published on the occasion of the exhibition at Gemeentemuseum Den Haag, The Hague, Netherlands, 25 February - 2 July 2017.
Robert Rauschenberg by
Robert Rauschenberg (b. 1925) began to investigate the boundaries between painting and sculpture in the 1950s, working with a variety of found objects in his Combine paintings and freestanding Combines. Later, in his Cardboard series (1971--72), he confined himself to the use of cardboard boxes, eliminating virtually all imagery, reducing the palette to a near monochrome, and commenting in subtle ways on the materialism and disposability of modern life. This book is the first to focus exclusively on Rauschenberg’s rarely seen Cardboards, along with related works from his Made in Tampa Clay, Cardbirds, Egyptian, and Venetian series. Approximately eighty-eight Cardboards and related sculptural pieces, many from the artist’s personal collection, are reproduced in the book. Full provenance and exhibition historynbsp;are provided for each work, along with a complete bibliography. In addition, distinguished scholar Yve-Alain Bois offers an insightful essaynbsp;that discussesnbsp;the Cardboards and situates these lesser-known but critical pieces within the context of Rauschenberg’s long and creative career.
The Art of Deceleration by
From Manet to Marinetti, modern art has explored and espoused acceleration. It is rarely if ever acknowledged that a contrary trajectory of deceleration has been pursued, from the Romantic painters with their solitary reveries to the "slow painting" of a Mark Rothko or Franz Gertsch. This volume recruits sociologists and scientists alongside an array of artists.
The Typographic Desk Reference by 
De Stijl and Dutch Modernism by 
Semiotics and the Philosophy of Language by 
Constructing Borders/Crossing Boundaries by 
Religion Crossing Boundaries by 
Living (with) Borders by 
Fragmented Borders, Interdependence and External Relations by 
Reapproaching Borders by 
The U. S.-Mexican Border Today by 
Healing Our Divided Society: Investing in America Fifty Years after the Kerner Report by 
Transcending Racial Barriers by 
Negotiating Afropolitanism by 
Lessons on Expulsion by 
Day of the Border Guards by 
LEFT BEHIND. Life and Death along the US Border by 
The Migrant Image by 
Essays in Migratory Aesthetics by 
Transcultural Identities in Contemporary Literature by 
Inclusive Education Across Cultures by 
Creating an Inclusive School by 
Promoting Inclusive Practice by 
Positive Alternatives to Exclusion by 
Israel/Palestine and the Queer International by 
Women and Change at the U. S. -Mexico Border by 
Landscape and Industry by 
Philippe Chancel: Desert Spirit by 
Spaces: Dimensions of the Human Landscape by 
Jan Töve: Faraway/Nearby by 
Nicaragua, June 1978-July 1979 by 
The Art of the Landscape by 
Representing Place: Landscape Painting and Maps by 
Accidental Gravity: Residents, Travelers, and the Landscape of Memory by 
Landscape, Memory, and Post-Violence in Cambodia by 
Reimagining Environmental History by 
Island Home: A Landscape Memoir by 
Fear and Art in the Contemporary World by 
Zero: the Biography of a Dangerous Idea by 
The Social Body: Habit, Identity and Desire by 
Worlding: Identity, Media, and Imagination in a Digital Age by 
Spatial Anthropology: Excursions in Liminal Space by 
Rite Out of Place: Ritual, Media, and the Arts by 
Landscapes, Gender, and Ritual Space by 
Betwixt and Between: Explorations in an African-Caribbean Mindscape by 
Landscapes of Power and Identity by 
The Interpretation of Ordinary Landscapes by 
Mindscaping the Landscape of Tibet by Accidental Gravity: Residents, Travelers, and the Landscape of Memory by Reimagining Environmental History by Landscape, Memory, and Post-Violence in Cambodia by 
Drosscape: Wasting Land in Urban America by 
Miki Kratsman and Ariella Azoulay: the Resolution of the Suspect by 
A Shimmer of Possibility by 
Journal of an Ordinary Grief by 
In the Presence of Absence by 
The Fact of the Matter by 
Documenting Disposable People by 
Another Kind of Life by 
Let Your Motto Be Resistance by 
Envisioning Emancipation by 
James Baldwin and Toni Morrison by 
