InfoGuides: LGBTQ+ Studies: Background Sources

Background Resources

Reference sources are a great place to start! They are like wikipedia, but you CAN use them in your research. From here, you can gather a baseline of information, as well as more specific search terms to use in the databases. Explore the reference works below to gain background knowledge in your topic.

Reference Materials

Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTG+ Studies by Abbie E. Goldberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9781071891421

Publication Date: 2024-01-23
Encyclopedia of Sex and Sexuality by Heather L. Armstrong (Editor)
ISBN: 9781610698740

Publication Date: 2021-03-01

Databases

Routledge Handbooks Online
Provides overviews of classic, current research and future trends in the social sciences and humanities; as well as guides to theory and method, key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today. Full-text access to peer-reviewed content available for the subject collections in criminal justice & criminology, politics, and security studies.
Ebsco eBook Collection
Includes several thousand electronic books, or eBooks on a variety of subjects, including public access books. Please note some eBooks are only available to a single user or one-user at a time. If using a Mac, use the Safari browser for best results.
Ebook Central
Access multi-disciplinary scholarly content from hundreds of publishers. Discover, evaluate, and access titles; and utilize tools for note-taking, highlighting, and instant citing. Read online and check individual entries for offline reading options including DRM-free chapter downloads and full book downloads. Merges EBL Ebook Library and ebrary Academic Complete. Note: Mason login required.