Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
| University Libraries
See Updates and FAQs for the latest library services updates.

Economics

Resources for Economic research

Research resources

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Full text of more than 400 working papers, 40 conference proceedings, and 10 books annually, as well as abstracts from leading international relations research journals, brief reports, monthly statistics and maps.

EconLit
Indexes and abstracts 400 journals as well as working papers, dissertations and books. Produced by the Journal of Economic Literature.

Economia y Negocios
When the page opens scroll down to Economía y Negocios and click on it then the database is read for searching. This resource is a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados). It includes over 300 Spanish and Portuguese-language, business and economics journals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. Search functionality is enhanced through the incorporation of author keywords supplied in both Spanish and English.

EIU Country Information
Coverage: 1996-present Updated daily Extensive country information from various Economist Intelligence Unit publications, covering most countries and including politics, economics, business markets and data (Country Report, Country Profile, Country Monitor, and Business Newsletters).

Eurostat
The Eurostat website is the reference for European statistics online. Direct access to the latest and most complete statistical information available on the European Union, the EU Member States, the euro zone and other countries.

IES (International Economic Statistics)
Created and maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Research Library. Individual indicators (such as GDP and CPI) are linked, and each link has a description of the data. Included in each record is the title, corporate author, publisher, years covered in the data series, type of publication (text, table, chart), frequency with which the data is published, country of origin, a URL, available languages, subject headings, format (.pdf, .xls, etc).

JSTOR
The complete text (full back runs) of core scholarly journals in Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, and Political Science.

National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers
National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Electronic serial with full text of papers in PDF.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers [DUPLICATE]
Full-text of the: Atlanta Constitution 1868-1945, Boston Globe 1872-1927, Chicago Tribune 1849-1987, Christian Science Monitor 1908-1997, Los Angeles Times 1881-1987, NY Times 1851-2007, Wall Street Journal 1889-1993, and Washington Post 1877-1994.

World Bank e-library
Includes all current and recent titles published by the World Bank including documents and papers in PDF and other formats; Database may be searched by geographic region or by topic.

Financial Times Historical
"The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers the complete searchable run of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper.
 Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1888-2009, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page."

Economist Historical Archive 
The Economist Historical Archive is a searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006.

Kelly J. Evans & Jeanie M. Welch (2014) Measuring the Past: Free Digitized Sources of Historical International Economic Information, Journal of Business & Finance Librarianship, 19:4, 287-305, DOI: 10.1080/08963568.2014.946363

Historical Statistics of the United States.

Global Financial Database. Provides access to economic, debt and financial flow indicator data for 136 countries and country groups that participate in the World Bank Debtor Reporting System.

 

American National Biography
Biographies of more than 18,000 people (deceased) from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture. Most entries include photos, bibliographies, and links to selected web sites.

American Periodicals Series (APS)
Collection contains digitized images of the original pages of over 1100 American magazines and journals that originated between 1740 and 1940s.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
Latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, with access to previous edition.

Ebrary Academic Complete
Academic Complete is a growing e-book collection (45,000 titles) spanning all academic subject areas.

Europa World Year Book
Online version of the print Europa World Year Book. Provides lengthy descriptions of countries and international organizations as well as multinational comparative statistics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, handbooks, and other sources for multidisciplinary research.

Historic Documents
Issued annually since 1972, the Historic Document series provides full-text primary sources covering each year’s most significant events. Presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme decisions are among the sources included.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Written by over 1500 eminent contributors, this edition retains many important classic essays and contains more than 1,800 articles.

North American Industry Classification System
NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to provide new comparability in statistics about business activity across North America. NAICS 2007includes revisions to NAICS 2002 across several sectors; significant revisions are in the Information Sector, particularly within the Telecommunications area.

Online Reference Sources
A collection of various reference sources (acronyms, abbreviations, directories, almanacs, calendars, dictionaries, quotations, etc.) compiled by librarians at Mason.

Association of Religion Data Archives
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion and includes American and international collections for researchers.

Economic Indicators
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly compilation is prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisors and provides economic information on prices, wages production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance.

Economic Indicators – FRASER
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) is a unique project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis’ Center for Economic Documents Digitization (CEDD), which seeks to preserve the nation’s economic history through digitization. Further, FRASER® contributes to the long-standing mission of the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis: to provide timely and convenient data to scholars, analysts, students and interested observers of the U.S. economy.

Eurostat
The Eurostat website is the reference for European statistics online. Direct access to the latest and most complete statistical information available on the European Union, the EU Member States, the Euro-Zone and other countries.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online
The Historical Statistics of the United States is the standard source for quantitative facts of American history. This online Millennial Edition is expanded and revised to include over 37,000 data series from over 1,000 sources. It includes sections on Population, Work and Welfare, Economic Structure and Performance, Economic Sectors, and Governance and International Relations. Tables may be downloaded into Excel. Users may create custom tables as well.

IES (International Economic Statistics)
Created and maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Research Library. Individual indicators (such as GDP and CPI) are linked, and each link has a description of the data. Included in each record is the title, corporate author, publisher, years covered in the data series, type of publication (text, table, chart), frequency with which the data is published, country of origin, a URL, available languages, subject headings, format (.pdf, .xls, etc.), and a summary (where available).

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Mason Users Only: must create MyData account to download data. Mason support available here.

International Financial Statistics Online
Produced by the International Monetary Fund, International Financial Statistics provides electronic access to statistics on international economics. The database contains both Country and World level data covering a variety of monetary indicators including employment, bank balances, exchange rates, interest rates, indebtedness, inflation and financial flows.

OECD iLibrary
Full-text electronic portal for publications of the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development. Included are books, reports, periodicals, and statistical publications with downloading capabilities.

World Development Indicators Online
Contains statistical and time series data for over 600 development indicators dating back to the 1960′s. Data includes social, economic, financial, and environmental indicators for over 200 countries and 18 country groups.

Economics A-Z   Handy reference resource from The Economist

African Development Bank Group
Group’s mission is to help reduce poverty, improve living conditions for Africans and mobilize resources for Africa’s economic and social development.

Asian Development Bank
An international development finance institution whose mission is to help its developing member countries reduce poverty and improve the quality of life of their people.

House Committee on Banking and Financial Services
Committee oversees all components of the nation’s housing and financial services sectors including banking, insurance, real estate, public and assisted housing, and securities.

National Banks Office of the Comptroller of the Currency
Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) charters, regulates, and supervises all national banks. It also supervises the federal branches and agencies of foreign banks.

Office of Thrift Supervision
OTS supervises a national thrift industry that is built on the bedrock of the American dream of homeownership—supplying affordable home financing for Americans from all walks of life.

The World Bank
World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the common sense. We are made up of two unique development institutions owned by 185 member countries.

Wells Fargo
Wells Fargo & Company is a diversified financial services company with $1.3 trillion in assets, providing banking, insurance, investments, mortgage and consumer finance through more than 11,000 stores, 12,000 ATMs, and the internet.

American Factfinder
Provides access to Decennial Census data (1990, 2000, 2010), Economic Census (1997, 2002, 2007), Annual American Community Survey Data (2000-present) and more. Provides a tool to create tables, reports, and reference maps.

CenStats
Provides access to several popular Census Department databases, among them: Annual Survey of Manufacturers, Building Permits, Census Tract Street Locator, County Business Patterns, Zip Business Patterns, Occupation by Race and Sex, and others.

EIU Country Information
Extensive country information from various Economist Intelligence Unit publications, covering most countries and including politics, economics, business, markets and data (Country Report, Country Profile, Country Monitor, and Business Newsletters).

European Commission
the official website of the European Commission and part of Europa – the official EU website. The website provides general information in the 23 official EU languages whenever possible. However some some information is not available in all those languages, as explained in Europa’s website language policy.

FedStats A-Z
Comprehensive index of full-text statistical reports from U.S. government agencies.

Global Statistical Data Sources (globalEDGE)
Resources providing statistical data, such as demographic information, economic indicators and consumption trends at the global, regional and country level.

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online
The Historical Statistics of the United States is the standard source for quantitative facts of American history. This online Millennial Edition is expanded and revised to include over 37,000 data series from over 1,000 sources. It includes sections on Population, Work and Welfare, Economic Structure and Performance, Economic Sectors, and Governance and International Relations. Tables may be downloaded into Excel. Users may create custom tables as well.

IES (International Economic Statistics)
Created and maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Research Library. Individual indicators (such as GDP and CPI) are linked, and each link has a description of the data. Included in each record is the title, corporate author, publisher, years covered in the data series, type of publication (text, table, chart), frequency with which the data is published, country of origin, a URL, available languages, subject headings, format (.pdf, .xls, etc).

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Mason Users Only: must create MyData account to download data. Mason support available here.

International Financial Statistics Online
Produced by the International Monetary Fund, International Financial Statistics provides electronic access to statistics on international economics. The database contains both Country and World level data covering a variety of monetary indicators including employment, bank balances, exchange rates, interest rates, indebtedness, inflation and financial flows.

International Statistical Agencies
Listing of International Statistical Agencies by the Bureau of Census.

Latin America and the Caribbean Statistical Yearbook 2010
Data from international sources as well as data available and compiled by the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) on each of the countries of the region. Provides demographic and social indicators, trade statistics, balance-of-payments and prices, as well as national accounts and quantitative information available on the environment.

OECD iLibrary
Full-text electronic portal for publications of the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development. Included are books, reports, periodicals, and statistical publications with downloading capabilities.

Population and Health Datafinder
Full text. Contains data on 133 population, health, and environment variables for the United States and more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole (not all countries have data on all variables).

SESRTCIC Statistical Database
From the Statistical, Economic and Social Research Training Centre for Islamic Countries, a subsidiary organ of the Organisation of the Islamic Conference (OIC).

Springer Mathematics and Statistics eBook Collection
This eBook collection offers over 1300 titles in Mathematics and Statistics published by Springer from 2005-present. The collection is searchable down to the chapter level, and is integrated with available Springer online journals.

Survey Research Center
Comprehensive portal to statistics on agriculture, business and industry, consumers, cost of living, demographics, economics, education, energy, environment, finance and currency, foreign economics, foreign governments, foreign trade, government finances, health, housing, labor, military, politics, science, sociology, transportation, and weather.

UN Comtrade
UN Comtrade provides access to information and data on International Merchandise Trade Statistics (IMTS) and the work of the International Merchandise Trade Statistics Section (IMTSS) of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD).

World Databank
Access data from all the World Bank data sources freely available through the World Databank.

World Development Indicators Online
Contains statistical and time series data for over 600 development indicators dating back to the 1960′s. Data includes social, economic, financial, and environmental indicators for over 200 countries and 18 country groups.

World Factbook
A complete geographical handbook, featuring 267 full-color maps and flags of all nations and geographical entities. Each country profile tracks demographic, ethnicity, literacy, political, and economic data.

World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
Source for core health statistics for the 193 WHO Member States. Comprises more than 100 indicators; data are published annually in the World Health Statistics Report released in May.

World Trade Online
World Trade Online contains every article from each week’s issue of Inside U.S. Trade (from 1993 to the latest issue). It provides in-depth and exclusive coverage of U.S. and international trade policy.

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve Board
The Board of Governors, located in Washington, D.C., oversees the Federal Reserve System. It is made up of seven members who are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta
The Atlanta Fed territory covers the Sixth Federal Reserve District, which includes Alabama,Florida,Georgia, and portions of Louisiana,Mississippi, and Tennessee.

Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Chicago Reserve Bank serves the Seventh Federal Reserve District, which encompasses the northern portions of Illinois and Indiana, southern Wisconsin, the Lower Peninsula of Michigan, and the state of Iowa.

Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
Fourth Federal Reserve, which comprises Ohio, Pennsylvania, Kentucky and West Virginia.

Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
The Eleventh Federal Reserve District, which consists of Texas, northern Louisiana and southern New Mexico.

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City
The Tenth Federal Reserve District is made up of Colorado,Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska,New Mexico,Oklahoma and Wyoming.

Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
The Ninth Federal Reserve District includes the states of Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and northwestern Wisconsin.

Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Second Federal Reserve District, which includes New York state, the 12 northern counties of New Jersey, Fairfield County in Connecticut, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia
The Third Federal district: Philadelphia Federal Reserve Bank serves eastern Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, and Delaware.

Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond
The Fifth Federal Reserve District consists of: Virginia, Maryland, the Carolinas, the District of Columbia and most of West Virginia.