InfoGuides: Cultural Studies: Find Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Features content going back as far as 1887.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences digitized in most cases back to the first date of issue. Includes selected books, primary sources and other materials for academic work.
Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and searchable author abstracts, covering scholarly literature in journals, books and conference proceedings. Includes: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Emerging Sources Citation Index. Additional resources available by selecting from the dropdown list next to the Core Collection heading.

Google Scholar

Subject Databases Relevant to Cultural Studies

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides English language abstracts of scholarly literature (journal articles, articles in collections, dissertations, book and media reviews) on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada with indexing for journals from 1910 in more than 40 languages.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Serves the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists. Offers access to content from American Anthropological Association's portfolio of 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters. Subjects cover archaeology, biological anthropology, cultural anthropology, linguistics.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the historical backfiles of the Chicago Defender newspaper, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies journals. Also includes the International Index to Black Periodicals and the Black Literature Index.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting, and some full text for journals and books related to communication and mass media studies back to 1915.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Multi-cultural database of books, articles & dissertations organized by cultures, ethnic groups & traditions. Provides in-depth information on all aspects of cultural social life for selected cultures. Formerly called eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject index to periodical literature on Latin America and Hispanics in the United States since 1970. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
A complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Covers topics such as politics, economics, the labor movement, ecology and environment, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains citations and abstracts from thousands of journals, as well as books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers from 1952 to present. Includes the complete Social Services Abstracts.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in women’s studies and feminist research, largely from 1972-present (some earlier material included). Includes sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, arts & humanities, international relations and education. Contains over 2,000 periodicals, and other sources such as newspapers, newsletters, books, book chapters, proceedings, theses, dissertations, NGO studies and other grey literature.