FAVS 475: Advanced Fiction Directing

Collects streaming video titles covering a wide range of subjects: American and European History; the cultures and achievements of American Indian, Black, Chinese, Hispanic, and Jewish peoples; Women's achievements; Religion; and the Arts. Includes the BBC Shakespeare plays.

Provides early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel that capture US history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. Also contains award-winning documentaries and analysis from prominent scholars and experts.

Online streaming of nearly 600 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts with Asian voices addressing Asian issues, and through works selected by Asian film experts, the collection offers relevant perspectives and insights. Includes themes on modernity, globalization, national identity, female agency, inequalities in opportunity amid social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.

Collection provides access to BBC productions of famous literary works, many that were buried in the BBC archive for the past few decades. In addition to actual performances, the product includes titles like "Face to Face" where actors and directors discuss their craft.

Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews, and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. Provides access to their African American Perspectives collection in partnership with California Newsreel, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

Collection of streaming videos featuring unique films of current, leading British theatre productions including Digital Theater's own recordings alongside collections such as BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, Broadway Digital Archive, Royal Opera House, London Symphony Orchestra, Shakespeare's Globe etc. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources.

Provides documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures that examine social, racial, and economic inequalities. Subjects include Asian Studies, Black Studies, LGBT Studies, and Women's Studies.

Streaming platform for documentaries and social issues films. Contains titles from a variety of film distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films, and Terra Nova Films. Covers subjects such as anthropology, cultural and ethnic studies, business and economics, environmental studies, gender studies, history, media studies, political science, and science and technology.

Online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world covering a wide range of ethnographic documentaries, indigenous media, field notes, study guides and raw footage of human behavior.

Streaming video platform, with films spanning the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, Economics and Health.

Offers feature films from renowned directors across the globe, including films from the silent era, international directors, American and European masterworks from the mid-20th century, and award-winning contemporary films featured by Global Lens.

Due to the high cost of this database, requests for videos are for faculty only when they are using the films as class requirements. It covers documentaries, indies, foreign films, classics, independent films, and feature films. We strongly recommend you use the Libraries' catalog and List of Streaming Video Databases to find videos before submitting a request. We have excellent streaming video content in other databases. If you are a Faculty and submit a request, you will get a response within 5 business days. If you have any questions, please contact Cindy Badilla-Meléndez, Music, Film, and Media Librarian.

Lumiere is a database sponsored by the University of California, Berkeley. It holds more than 20,000 clips drawn from more than 7000 films in 62 languages. Faculty can use clips that have already been created or they can create their own. Also, entire films are available. The clips/films can be requested only if GMU Libraries and Berkeley both currently own the DVDs. Detailed instructions on how to use Lumiere can be found in the Media Collections Infoguide. To access Lumiere, select “Apply for an Account.” For “User Institution,” be sure to select George Mason University and include your department and role. For more information, contact Cindy Badilla-Meléndez, Music and Media Librarian.
Note: This Collection is limited to faculty only for registered courses. The Collection cannot be used for campus screening (not for public events). In order to approve your account, you must agree to post the URLs ONLY in Blackboard, where access is limited to students enrolled in your class; do NOT send links via email to your students.

Presents an extensive array of content in video, audio and text-based, covering different time periods, artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles. Subjects include dance, film, music, and theater.

Drawing on 10 years of National Theatre Live broadcasts as well as recordings never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive, the video content includes 30 video performances. As a supplement to the filmed productions, exclusive digitized archival materials such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and more are available to provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.

Delivers full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and the Global Films Initiative, along with some fifty award-winning shorts.

Access GMU-licensed commercial and academic videos via New Jersey's digital media repository, a hosting service for video streaming.

Spanish Language film streaming platform with over 300 films from Spain and Latin America. The films are classified by subject and cover a broad range of themes, including art, history, environmental science, literature, and social justice. The films were specifically selected for teaching and some come paired with preselected scene clips and educational guides. Films have Spanish and English subtitles.

Video collection of interviews and panel discussions recorded at The Paley Center for Media (formerly the Museum of Television & Radio). The seminars feature industry insiders discussing the processes of television production, the impact of media on contemporary society, etc. Full transcriptions and detailed indexing allow searching for topics, titles or speakers.

Provides access to a range of audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. Consists of streamed video and audio footage with relevant critical commentary, including: interviews with key figures in theater history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers from around the world; footage of legendary practitioners; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries. Spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from renowned practitioners and specialists, and ranges across the entire spectrum of theater topics.

High-definition video recordings of modern productions featuring great Shakespearean actors such as David Tennant, Sir Antony Sher, Paapa Essiedu, and Simon Russell Beale, and directors like Robin Lough and Dewi Humphrey. Recordings are accompanied by production images, teacher packs, and study notes.

Collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. Note: Access includes Module I: Wars & Revolutions.

Collection of more than 300 Sony Pictures Classics films. The catalog offers world cinema titles, including documentaries and award-winning films from filmmakers like Ang Lee, Jeff Nichols, Mike Leigh, Asghar Farhadi, Roman Polanski, Michael Haneke, David Cronenberg, Errol Morris, Ingmar Bergman, and Pedro Almodóvar.

Provides access to course-assigned films and documentaries from major motion picture studios. Requires local installation of Widevine Media Optimizer; best accessed via Google Chrome.

Collection brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries, with a greater focus on contemporary and international productions. Includes performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, the BBC, Theatre Arts Films and TMW Media Group.