Skip to Main Content

Curriculum and Instruction

Use this guide to discover curriculum resources, SOL, videos, and more

Virginia Curriculum Information

What are the Standards of Learning (SOL)?

The Standards of Learning (SOL) for Virginia Public Schools establish minimum expectations for what students should know and be able to do at the end of each grade or course in English, Mathematics, Science, History, Social Science, and other subjects.

 

VDOE regions map

The State of Virginia Department of Education's Textbook Review & Approval Schedule is based on the seven-year revision cycle for the Virginia Standards of Learning.  George Mason University is the public review site for Region 4.  

Listed below is a table detailing the process:

Textbook Review & Approval Schedule - Based on the seven-year revision cycle for the Standards of Learning

Content Area Anticipated SOL Adoption SOL Curriculum Framework Adoption State Textbook/Instructional Materials Review LEA Textbook/Materials Review New Contract Date
History & Social Science 2015 2016 2016-2017 2017 2017
Mathematics 2016 2016 2017-2018 2018 2018
English (K-5 Reading & 6-12 English & Literature) 2017 2017 2018-2019 2019-2020 2020-2021
Science 2018 2019 2019-2020 2020 2020

Currently Approved Textbooks
English, Reading, Language Arts, & Literature
History & Social Science  
Mathematics
Science

 

For additional information, go to: Textbook Review & Approval 

Instruction in Virginia's public schools is guided by the Standards of Learning (SOL). The standards describe the commonwealth's expectations for student learning and achievement in grades K-12.

For more information, please go to K-12 Standards & Instruction. 

Maryland, DC & Common Core

Maryland State Standards & Frameworks

 

Additional Resources for Maryland's Common Core Standards

 

Maryland State Department of Education

Includes a variety of Common Core Standards information as well as links to the common Core State Curriculum Guide, the Common Core Curriculum Frameworks, contact information and press releases.

In July 2010, the District of Columbia Public Schools joined more than 40 states in adopting new and more rigorous academic standards in English Language Arts and Mathematics for grades K-12. The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) were designed to set clear expectations for what students should know and be able to do at each grade level. DCPS developed a five-year academic plan which includes the following key components:

• a comprehensive early childhood curriculum
• new standards for grades K-12 in English/Language Arts and Mathematics
• scope and sequence documents and unit overviews for teachers
• paced interim assessments
• additional support systems and resources for teachers

In addition to standards in reading and mathematics, the District of Columbia revised its learning standards to encourage the highest achievement of every student.  This was done through definition of expected knowledge, concepts, and skills that students should acquire at each grade level. The new learning standards are at the heart of the school system’s commitment to provide an excellent education to each student. Select the links below for the approved learning standards and guides:

  1. Learning Standards for Pre-K through 8 (Subdivided into Reading/English Language Arts, Mathematics, Science & Social Studies)
  2. Learning Standards for High School (Subdivided into Reading/English Language Arts, Mathematics, Science & Social Studies)

Standards Used in Grade K-12

DCPS Common Core Standards

Provides an overview of the DC Public Schools Common Core Standards including how they will be assessed, the time line for their implementation, and links to additional resources.

Office of the State Superintendent of Education's Crosswalk of Standards

Allow one to compare the District of Columbia Standards with the Common Core Standards

What your child is learning and expected to know in grades K-12

Includes information the current school year, explanation of the 120 minute literacy block, resources and supports, and ways for parents to support their child.

Common Core Standards Initiative

The Common Core State Standards Initiative is a state-led effort coordinated by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center) and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO). The standards were developed in collaboration with teachers, school administrators, and experts, to provide a clear and consistent framework to prepare our children for college and the workforce.  For additional information click the links below:

  1. Introduction to the Common Core Standards
  2. Application of the Common Core Standards for English Language Learners
  3. Common Core Standards for English Language Arts & Literacy
  4. Common Core Standards for Mathematics

Other Common Core Resources

The following links will give you additional information and viewpoints on the Common Core Standards

ASCD (formerly the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development) is an educational leadership organization dedicated to advancing best practices and policies for the success of each learner. Our 150,000 members in more than 145 countries are professional educators from all levels and subject areas––superintendents, supervisors, principals, teachers, professors of education, and school board members.

American Association of School Librarians (AASL) - a branch of the American Library Association, the AASL provides information linking that help school librarians learn how the AASL Standards for the 21st-Century Learner and the Common Core State Standards align.

National Governor's Association Governors and state commissioners of education from 48 states, 2 territories, and the District of Columbia developed a common core of state standards in English language arts and mathematics for grades k-12.

Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head departments of elementary and secondary education in the states, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and five U.S. extra-state jurisdictions. 

How to Narrow a Catalog Search to the Curriculum Collection

To limit a search of the library catalog to just those items in the Curriculum Collection follow these steps:

  1. Go to library.gmu.edu
  2. Click on Advanced search (below the search box)Advanced search button image
  3. Change Search for to Mason catalog    
    image of Mason Catalog button
  4. On the left side of the screen change "any collection of "Local collection Information"  
  5. Type curriculum to the left of contains
  6. Add additional information such as subject or title on the second line on the second line
  7. Click Search.

Want to know where your book is located in the library?  Click on Where in the Fenwick Stacks is your book?