InfoGuides: Resources for Actors: Find Resources about Acting

Resources About Acting

On this page, you will find ways to discover resources about acting techniques, methods, excersises, etc, within the physical and digital library collection. Please be sure to check out the Video Resources page for streaming videos about acting as well.

Featured Resource:

Black Acting Methods by Sharrell Luckett (Editor); Tia M. Shaffer (Editor)
ISBN: 1138907626
Publication Date: 2016-10-10
Black Acting Methods seeks to offer alternatives to the Euro-American performance styles that many actors find themselves working with.　 A wealth of contributions from directors, scholars and actor trainers address afrocentric processes and aesthetics, and interviews with key figures in Black American theatre illuminate their methods. This ground-breaking collection is an essential resource for teachers, students, actors and directors seeking to reclaim, reaffirm or even redefine the role and contributions of Black culture in theatre arts.

Finding Acting Resources in the Catalog

To find acting resources in the library catalog, first go to library.gmu.edu. Then, click Advanced Search. After that, change the drop down menu to "Subject" and type in "Acting."

You will then get a list of all the resources about Acting. Since there are so many, you can use the filters off to the side to narrow down your results.

Databases for Acting Resources

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Collection provides full text access to dramatic works from the early Greek period to the present day, as well as some works of criticism and information on theatre craft. Contains scholarly notes, annotated texts, contextual information, synopsis, biographical entries, and material on acting, directing, and lighting. Features drama titles from the Oberon Books Collection and the TCG Books Play Collection. Includes epics, monologues, and one-person plays in all time periods, as well as translations of major foreign works. Features play tools with character grids, words and speech graphs, and images.
Tutorial for the Drama Online database.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprises a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theater and performance in 126 countries. Also contains author-supplied abstracts, author-supplied keywords and author affiliations.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for international periodicals, plus full text for the indexed journals (1864-present) on the subjects of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. Previously called International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA).