Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Charts, maps, views, rankings, time series, and tables are available for use in the Data-Planet repository. Data-Planet Statistical Datasets offers capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views.
Mason Libraries also has access to Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference
This resource searches the Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, census-tract/block group level. This product provides summary information as well as detailed line item views.
Data Planet Statistical Datasets is a web-based research solutions tool that provides fast and easy access to data from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface. With this dynamic tool, you can scan the contents of the collection, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts. The Data Planet repository contains more than 52 billion data points from 6.2 billion datasets sourced from 75+ source organizations. There are billions of charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data Planet repository. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and are described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary.
You can find more information on Data Planet's Statistical Database in this search guide.
This tutorial provides a general overview of Data Planet
This tutorial provides an in-depth overview of the main features of the Data Planet interface
Clink on the links below to view DataSheets comprising statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators describing demographic characteristics and behavior patterns of US consumers created in Data Planet Statistical Datasets. Log in to explore the data at even more granularity - as well as relationships between these statistics and other indicators in the vast Data Planet repository.
In reviewing the samples below, identify the question(s) the data answers for marketing and entrepreneurial initiatives.
Ranking of US states by percentage of households who bought running clothes
Household spending on floor coverings - Delaware census tracts
Amount spent per household on major appliances - Michigan zip codes
Participation in leisure activities - ranking of Wyoming counties by percentage of households who barbecue or bake
Retirees - ranking of US states on an index of the size of the retired population
Employees - Gambling industries - ranking of states
Employees - Performing arts companies - ranking of states
Spending on digital audio readers - white households in Alabama counties
Wealthiest households - map of US states
Index of homes built before 1939 - ranks Texas counties as an index of the proportion of homes built before 1939
Large families - maps Missouri households on an index of number of families with five or more members
Children's health status - ranks Illinois counties based on counts of children assessed as in excellent vs fair/poor health
Quality of life - ranks Hawaii counties on an index of quality of life
Note that you can learn more about the indicator, dataset, and source by viewing the statistical abstract that appears below the chart, as below. These summaries can be exported with the graph by clicking on the Export link in the menu bar above the chart. The Create DOI link allows you to create a DOI that ensures that each time you reference the data in a paper or elsewhere that the reader can view the exact view of the DataSheet at the time you created it. For more information on DOIs, click here.
Ask a Librarian | Hours & Directions | Mason Libraries Home
Copyright © George Mason University