InfoGuides: LaTeX &amp; BibTeX Resources: Exporting to BibTeX

from ASCE Digital Library

Select the article title that you are interested. Select the tools hyperlink, then Download Citation. Select BibTeX from the Format combo box or dropdown. Select the Download button.

ASCE Digital Library-Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Provides immediate access to full-text electronic articles from ASCE journals and proceedings. Journal articles are from 1983-present and Proceeding Papers are from 2000-present.
Tutorial for the ASCE Digital Library-Civil Engineering Database.

from ASME Digital Collection

Citations can be exported from any Article or Conference Paper Details screen using the Cite hyperlink. Select the BibTeX hyperlink from the popup screen.

ASME Conference Proceedings (Current) This link opens in a new window
ASME sponsors approximately 30 conferences per year and publishes about 100 proceedings volumes annually, encompassing the entire spectrum of topics of interest to mechanical engineers and associated industries. Conference papers are published from 2002 to the present.

from EBSCO Databases

The easiest way to collect citations from an EBSCO database is to use the Folder View screen. Place publications in your folder using the folder icon.

When you are finished, go to Folder View screen, select records to export and press the Export button.

Next, select the radio button beside Citations in BibTeX format in the Save citations to a file formatted for: section, then press the Export button.

Save citations to a file formatted for:
Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero)
Direct Export to EndNote Web
Generic bibliographic management software
Citations in XML format
Citations in BibTeX format shown checked
Citations in MARC21 format
Direct Export to RefWorks
Direct Export to EasyBib
Download CSV
Direct Export to NoodleTools

Some examples of databases that use the EBSCO interface are:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Features content going back as far as 1887. Tutorial for the Academic Search Complete database.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with topics including global warming, recycling, alternate fuel sources, and more. Draws from the disciplines of environmental science, agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Coverage includes indexing and abstracting for scholarly journals, general titles, and government documents.
Tutorial for GreenFILE database.

from IEEE Xplore

Select the items from the results list, then select the Export dropdown menu, then select the Citations tab. Select the radio button beside BibTeX, then select the Export button.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to all journals, transactions and conference proceedings published by IEEE and IET. Accesses more than 1,000 books in the IEEE-Wiley eBook Library and IEEE-MIT eBook Library-Computing and Engineering Collection.
View a tutorial on this database here.

from SciFinder-n

Selected citations can be exported in RIS format from any Search Results screen using the Download Results button. In the File Type section, select Citation (.ris) from the combo box or dropdown.

RIS can be converted to BibTeX format automatically if you are using JabRef. If you use Mendeley or Zotero, you can create a .bib database automatically. Zotero requires the Better BibTeX extension.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window

from Web of Science

Selected citations can be exported in BibTeX format from any Search Results Screen by selecting Export, then BibTeX from the dropdown menu.

BibTeX is an option when using Web of Science only. When searching all the databases in Web of Knowledge, BibTeX is not an option. Citations can be exported from the Marked List screen as well.

Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window