Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media Collections and Services

A guide to researching and using the library's physical and streaming media collections.

Find Media in the Library Catalog

The Library Search can be used to locate streaming media that the library owns or subscribes to. However, it does NOT contain videos from request-only databases such as Kanopy and Swank.

Once you have reached library.gmu.edu, simply type your search terms into the search box, press enter, then refine your results to "Availability: Online" and "Resource Type: Video" or "Resource Type: Audio." This will yield films that the library owns in streaming.

Streaming Video Databases

Once you have used the Library search box to find streaming films the library owns, delve deeper by searching our databases one by one.

Below is a list of some of our major databases containing feature films, shorts, and documentaries. comprehensive list can be found here.

Stable Databases--these databases have a steady collection of videos that can be accessed at any time by anyone on campus

Request Databases--videos in these databases must first be requested by a faculty member

Streaming Music & Audio Databases

The library also has access to several sound and music databases. Below are a few major databases. A comprehensive list of all sound/audio databases can be found here.