InfoGuides: ENGH 302 : Advanced Composition: Tutorials

Tutorials to Help You Succeed!

The team at Mason Libraries creates a variety of tutorials to help you take advantage of the assistance and resources we offer. Below are a number of tutorials relevant to your research in English 302. Click on the corresponding image or link below it to go to the tutorial. And, don't forget to reach out to your librarian if you have any questions!

Tutorial Links

Concept Maps: Plan Your Research
This tutorial will introduce you to concept maps, which will help you plan your research.
Doing Exploratory Research
Exploratory research is an important part of narrowing down your topic in order to write a research question. This video demonstrates the basics of exploratory research.
Types of Sources
This tutorial explores the different kinds of sources, and why some sources might be helpful for different kinds of projects.
Information Lifecycle
When searching for information, it is important to understand how information is produced and disseminated in order to know what to search for and where to search. Understanding the information lifecycle will help you to better know what research is available on your topic and better evaluate the sources you find.
Interpreting Citations
How do you read a citation? This tutorial goes over the construction of a citation with major citation styles.

Using Your My Mason Library Account
This video introduces you to your library account at George Mason University Libraries, and how to make the most of it.
Library Database Search Strategies
Use this tutorial for help in locating keywords and finding new sources using the Mason Library databases.
Doing a Simple Mason Search
Use this video for tips and tricks on how to make the most of the Mason Libraries catalog.
Doing an Advanced Mason Search
Level up your skills and learn the ins and outs of searching using Mason Search.
Managing Mason Search Results
This tutorial will give you tools for managing your search results and keeping things organized.

Access Full Text with Mason Search
Learn how to find full text of articles available through the Mason Library Search
Find Full Text from Citations
Use this tutorial to discover how to look up a full text article from a citation.
Find Sources Fast through Citation Mining
Explore how to broaden your search results through citation mining to quickly find additional sources related to your research topic.
Find Full Text Using Google Scholar
Make the most of Google through this tutorial on linking Google Scholar resources to the Mason Libraries' collection.
Access Full Text through Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request books and articles not owned by Mason Libraries.

Quantitative versus Qualitative Research
What is the difference between quantitative and qualitative research, and how do you know which one you need for your project? Use your GMU login credentials to access this video tutorial.
Creating a Research Poster
Research posters are one of the many ways you can publicize your research. This tutorial goes over how to create your research poster using SP@RC at Mason Libraries.
Understanding Plagiarism
This video goes over the fundamentals of what plagiarism is, and how you can avoid it while you're working with sources.