InfoGuides: Climate Change Policy & Communication: Statistics & Data

Data

Polls
Statistics & Data

Abt Associates
Brookings Institute
The Cato Institute
Mathmatica Policy Research
Rand Corporation
Urban Institute
Office of Science and Technology Policy Created to act as a source of scientific and technological analysis for major Federal policies.
Pew Global Attitudes Project Conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. Nearly 300,000 interviews in 59 countries have been conducted as part of the project’s work. Additionally, the project has released numerous major reports, analyses, and other releases, on topics including attitudes toward the U.S. and American foreign policy, globalization, terrorism, and democracy.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.
World Values Survey A worldwide investigation of sociocultural and political change conducted by a network of social scientist at leading universities all around world.
Harris Interactive Surveys conducted by Harris Interactive measuring public opinions, conducted both by telephone and online. Polls measure, and trend, the knowledge, opinions, behaviors and motivation of the general public. New survey data on a wide variety of subjects including politics, the economy, healthcare, foreign affairs, science and technology, sports and entertainment, and lifestyles are published weekly.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. ICPSR has a large number of public opinion polls and social surveys in its collection.
Global Barometer Surveys This project represents the largest, most careful and systematic comparative survey of attitudes and values toward politics, power, reform, democracy and citizens’ political actions in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Arabic region. Regional Global Barometer Surveys include:
- Afrobarometer
- Arab Barometer
- Asian Barometer
- Latinobarometro

re3data.org is a searchable catalog / registry / directory / bibliography of research data repositories.

International Statistics and Data

More:

Climate Change Explorer This new data visualisation tool allows to visualise over 40 climate-related data sets for over 100 developed and developing countries using animated bubble charts for the period 1990-2010. From OECD
Climate Analysis Indicator Tool CAIT, from the World Resources Institute, provides a comprehensive and comparable database of greenhouse gas emissions data (including all major sources and sinks) and other climate-relevant indicators.
Environmental Indicators - United Nations Statistics Division UNSD Environmental Indicators disseminate global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources.
EPA Data Finder Another access point to data collected and analyzed by the EPA.
EPA Envirofacts Access to EPA environmental data including data available for downloading in a variety of formats.
European Commission Environment Statistics Links to the main providers of data and statistics about the environment and sustainable development for the EU.
FAOStat FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food, agriculture, and forestry for some 200 countries from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
International Energy Agency IEA has very comprehensive energy production and consumption information for most countries.
OECD Environmental Data Compendium Data linking pollution and natural resources with activities in economic sectors and data showing the state of air, inland waters, wildlife, etc., for OECD countries.
UN Data Single entry point for UN statistical databases.
United Nations Statistics Division Provides global statistical information in the areas of economics, environment, energy and more.
World Bank Data Portal The World Development Indicators data sets include indicators for many aspects of global development, including agriculture, energy, environment, health, infrastructure and poverty, to name just a few.