| University Libraries
| University Libraries
For a known .gov URL, like www.epa.gov, you can substitute .govwayback.com for .gov and it will redirect you to an archived version of the site through Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
Access historical versions of U.S. government websites from before January 20, 2025 with a simple URL change. How it works: Take any .gov URL and add wayback.com right after .gov, and you'll be redirected to the Wayback Machine's archived version of the page.
The United States Government has a mandate to make publicly-available information available online. Below are general government information sites to access.
USA.gov is the official website of the U.S. government. The mission of the USAGov program is to make it easier for people to find and understand the government services and information they need
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the general public.
Access the current Trump administration's White House website.
Tracks the activities of the United States Congress.
Alternative Government Sites
The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The ETWA contains federal government websites (.gov, .mil, etc) in the Legislative, Executive, or Judicial branches of the government.
If a government website is down (404 error or similar), check for an archived copy at the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine:
The Internet Archive has been archiving the web for 20+ years and has preserved billions of webpages from millions of websites. These webpages are often made up of, and link to, many images, videos, style sheets, scripts and other web objects. Over the years, the Archive has saved over 510 billion such time-stamped web objects, which we term web captures.
A dynamic, open-source reference library for anyone using design, data, and technology to improve and enhance government service delivery.
Has archived a large number of government sites both independently and as one of the End of Term Archive partners.
"Democracy's Library brings together more than 700 collections from over 50 government organizations, archived by the Internet Archive since 2006. With more than half a million documents (and counting) from local, regional, and national governments, we're just getting started!"
This Internet Archive collection contains digital versions of United States Government documents as well as other government documents.
If you are logged into an Internet Archive account, you'll have additional options when you save pages.
Archived Websites
Access the preserved archival version of the prior Biden Administration's White House website.
White House websites are Presidential records. The official files that make up a Presidential administration's website are preserved in the Executive Office of the President Electronic Records Archive. In order for the public to easily access the websites, the National Archives has taken an additional step to "freeze" the White House websites and make them available online. National Records Archive (NARA).
Search across all government websites at once to see what is already available without the need for a FOIA request. If you do not find what you are looking for online, or if you want to request more information on a given topic, you can submit a FOIA request to the agencies’ Contacts.
A new government website. The U.S. Department of Government Efficiency Service Temporary Organization was established by Executive Order on Jan. 20, 2025. Despite the name, it is not an official federal department. The organization shall terminate on July 4, 2026. Note that all information is provided via X, a social media platform privately owned by DOGE overseer, Elon Musk.
The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Web Archive. The FDLP was established by Congress in 1895 to provide free, permanent public access to federal government information. GPO administers the FDLP on behalf of the participating libraries and the American people. The FDLP harvests selected U.S. Government web sites in their entirety.
Direct link to Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) archived data in DataLumos.
Information Roundups
The link takes you to a page created by Kelly Smith, UCSD Libraries whose work, "...attempt[s] to provide current awareness of federal government reports and activities. The page will be updated weekly to provide links to important, newsworthy, or interesting material published during the previous week. The goal is to keep the links to a manageable number for readers, not to be a comprehensive listing.
Tracks the Trump's Administration of government U.S. Federal information.
Information Trackers
The Center for Progressive Reform and Governing for Impact are monitoring the Trump administration’s implementation of Project 2025, tracking the authoritarian blueprint’s executive action proposals across 20 federal agencies.
Project + 2025Policy Commons has indexed/captured reports and other items with the term “Project 2025”. Register on Policy Commons (it’s free) to view and receive updates when additional items added.
Identified steps taken by the Trump administration and Congress to scale back or wholly eliminate federal climate mitigation and adaptation measures. Climate Reregulation Tracker covering the Biden administration and the Climate Backtracker covering the second Trump administration.
Ask a Librarian | Hours & Directions | Mason Libraries Home
Copyright © George Mason University