Educational Statistics & Data

Based on data from four iterations of the National Postsecondary Student Aid Study (NPSAS), a large, nationally representative sample survey of students that includes data on the application for and receipt of financial aid.

Includes statistics on elementary and secondary schools and degree-granting postsecondary institutions.

Examines students who took out their individual maximum amount in Stafford loans in 2011-12 compared with those who did so in 2007-08, by dependency status, income level, institution type, and attendance status.

Contains national and state totals of revenues and expenditures for public elementary and secondary education for school year 2013-14.

Introduces new data for the universe of public elementary and secondary schools and agencies in the United States in
school year (SY) 2015-16.

Section includes data on: school-age population and school enrollment, educational attainment, education personnel, and financial aspects of education plus data for charter schools, computer usage in schools, distance education, and adult education. NOTE:The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of this data for the effective October 1, 2011.

From the U.S. Census Bureau, ACS helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.

Get basic information and statistics on colleges and universities in the U.S. (NCES)

This website has the key indicators of the condition of education in the United States from 1989 to the present

Easy to use source for popular, national level statistics.

Provides access to an extensive collection of downloadable data that can be used with SPSS, SAS, & Stata. George Mason University is an ICPSR member which means students, staff and faculty have full access to its resources.

The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), first administered in 1969, is the largest continuing and nationally representative assessment of what our nation’s students know and can do in subjects such as mathematics, reading, science, and writing. Standard administration practices are implemented to provide a common measure of student achievement.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Core statistical annuals from NCES: Digest of Education Statistics, The Condition of Education, Projections of Education Statistics, and Indicators of School Crime and Safety.

Data from the Private School Universe Survey (U.S. Census Bureau).

View state, county and school district maps and demographic data. (U.S. Census Bureau)

Provides reliable and timely data on the mathematics and science achievement of U.S. students compared to that of students in other countries. (NCES)

Explores how well the government is educating U.S. students. USAFacts is a not-for-profit, nonpartisan civic initiative making government data easy for all Americans to access and understand. We provide accessible analysis on US spending and outcomes in order to ground public debates in facts.