InfoGuides: English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) Education: Find Other Resources

International Resources

Comparative & International Education Society
The Comparative and International Education Society (CIES), Inc., was founded in 1956 to foster cross-cultural understanding, scholarship, academic achievement and societal development through the international study of educational ideas, systems, and practices.
Global Partnership for Education
Established in 2002, the Global Partnership for Education (GPE) is comprised of close to 60 developing countries, donor governments, international organizations, the private sector, teachers, and civil society/NGO groups.
International Federation of Red Crescent and Red Cross Societies (IFRC)
The IFRC is the world's largest humanitarian organization, providing assistance without discrimination as to nationality, race, religious beliefs, class or political opinions. The IFCR works on Disaster response and recovery, development and capacity building, and on promoting social inclusion and peace.
United Nations
The United Nations four main purposes are 1) To keep peace throughout the world; 2) To develop friendly relations among nations; 3) To help nations work together to improve the lives of poor people, to conquer hunger, disease and illiteracy, and to encourage respect for each other’s rights and freedoms; and 4) To be a center for harmonizing the actions of nations to achieve these goals.

Emergency Coalition for Global Education Action was established to address the global education crisis by the UN Special Envoy for Global Education
United Nations Refugee Council (UNHCR) is mandated to lead and co-ordinate international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide. It is committed to increasing its ability to respond to complex emergency situations including life-saving aid to help with shelter, health, water, education and more.
United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural O rganization (UNESCO) strives to build networks among nations by mobilizing for education and building intercultural understanding through protection of heritage and support for cultural diversity
United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) is active in more than 190 countries and territories around the world. Its efforts include: Child protection and social inclusion, providing evidence-based child survival, nutrition and environmental interventions; advocating for free compulsory basic education and gender equity; HIV/Aids awareness, child protection, policy advocacy and partnerships.

Language Centers

Center for Applied Linguistics
The Center for Applied Linguistics is dedicated to providing a comprehensive range of research-based information, tools, and resources related to language and culture. Free on-line resources include:

Briefs are reports on topics of current high interest in applied linguistics and language education designed to help translate research into practice for education practitioners
Digests are downloadable research reports that highlight current topics of interest covering a variety of subjects related to language learning, cultural orientation, and linguistics
Databases/Directories houses a number of informational on-line databases and directories.
CAL Resources Archive is an archive to provide access to older, but still relevant, project resources and deliverables

SIL International
SIL International (originally known as the Summer Institute of Linguistics, Inc.) is a faith-based nonprofit organization committed to serving language communities worldwide as they build capacity for sustainable language development. SIL does this primarily through research, translation, training and materials development. SIL works alongside ethnolinguistic communities and their partners as they discover how language development addresses the challenging areas of their daily lives—social, cultural, political, economic and spiritual without regard to religious background, political ideology, gender, race or ethnolinguistic background.

Government Resources

National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Of special interest

Program for International Student Assessment (PISA)
PISA is an international assessment that measures 15-year-old students' reading, mathematics, and science literacy. It also includes measures of general or cross-curricular competencies, such as problem solving

Progress in International Reading Literacy Study (PIRLS)
PIRLS studies the reading achievement and reading behaviors and attitudes of 4th-grade students in the United States and students in the equivalent of 4th grade in other participating countries.

Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMMS)
TIMMS provides reliable and timely data on the mathematics and science achievement of U.S. students compared to that of students in other countries.

Program for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies (PIAAC)
PIAAC is a household study whose goal is to assess and compare the basic skills and the broad range of competencies of adults around the world. The assessment focuses on cognitive and workplace skills needed for successful participation in 21st-century society and the global economy.

National Clearing House for English Language Acquisition (NCELA)
NCELA supports the U.S. Department of Education's Office of English Language Acquisition, Language Enhancement, and Academic Achievement for Limited English Proficient Students (OELA)in its mission to respond to Title III educational needs, and implement NCLB as it applies to English language learners (ELLs). Resources include:

Webinars which provide participants from around the country an opportunity to hear expert speaker's present research on all aspects of ELL education.
NCELA Publications include single copies most of which are available at no cost. Most items can be downloaded at no cost, regardless of the number of downloads.
Technical Assistance Network which provides links to U.S. Government offices, Government-funded Centers, Non-Profit and Professional Organization, Technical Assistance for the Teaching of World Languages, and Regional Technical Assistance Centers.
English Learner Data Sources contains a wealth of data on this topic. Click on the pdf below to access the list of resources

English Language Learner Data Sources

The Department of Defense Dependents Schools (DoDDS) overseas, and the Department of Defense Domestic Dependent Elementary and Secondary Schools (DDESS) in the United States are part of the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA). Their purpose is to educate, engage, and empower each student attending DoDEA schools to succeed in a dynamic world. Resources include reports, parent guides, budgets books, strategic plans, multimedia resources. Other useful resources include:

State Department Office of Overseas Schools

The U.S. Department of State provides assistance to 197 overseas schools through direct and indirect support programs designed to promote an American-style program. They also provide a list of Schools at Posts which includes U.S. and non-U.S. curriculum, religious, proprietary, and local public schools. Families with children with special needs, whether learning disabled or gifted, will find information that may be useful as they seek overseas assignments.