InfoGuides: FAVS 498: Development for Senior Project: Find Articles & Journals

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Features content going back as far as 1887.
Classic Mexican Cinema Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of popular movie periodicals from the late 1890s to the Golden Age (1930s to 1960). It includes chief magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965) and Cine Mundial (1951-1955) as well as two rare issues of El Cine Gráfico from 1935 and copies of the weekly El Mundo Ilustrado (1902-1910). Also includes the scrap book of director Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958).
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting, and some full text for journals and books related to communication and mass media studies back to 1915.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Expands the online version of print title, Film Literature Index. Provides indexing for over 350 publications including books, magazines and journals covering the entire field of television and film writing. Publications include Film Journal International, Film Criticism & Variety, as well as technical and international publications. Covered subjects include film & television theory, preservation, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects and reviews.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences digitized in most cases back to the first date of issue. Includes selected books, primary sources and other materials for academic work.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Formerly International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA). Provides indexing and abstracts for international periodicals, plus full text for the indexed journals (1864-present) on the subjects of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
The world news and personal stories captured by this Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper for nearly 170 years are available online from ProQuest so researchers anywhere can browse and search the digitized pages of this definitive record of the day. The digitized Index allows users to search on and view terms exactly as they appeared in the New York Times print index and newspaper articles. Coverage 1851-2016.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a broad coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Provides access to journals, books, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, and author profiles. Subjects include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, political sociology, religion, social work, sociological research and theory.
Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927 This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of the early-20th century magazine, Moving Picture World, which set a standard for the coverage of silent film, reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the industry.

Lantern
Lantern is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative led by Eric Hoyt and the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research. The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.