Teaching for Content Areas

The mission of MPS is to harness the collective efforts of the mathematical and physical sciences communities to address the most compelling scientific questions, educate the future advanced high-tech workforce, and promote discoveries to meet the needs of the Nation.

Provides information about NSF research in mathematics

This collection of lessons and web resources is aimed at classroom teachers, their students, and students' families. Most of these resources come from the National Science Digital Library (NSDL). NSDL is the National Science Foundation's online library of resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.

Includes standards, curriculum frameworks, enhanced scope and sequence lesson plans, test blueprints and released tests, other instructional resources

ICMI foster efforts to improve the quality of mathematics teaching and learning worldwide

IGPME promotes international contacts and exchange of scientific information in the field of mathematical education; promotes and stimulates interdisciplinary research in the aforesaid area; and works to further a deeper and more correct understanding of the psychology and other aspects of teaching and learning mathematics and the implications thereof.

promote international cooperation in mathematics. By supporting and assisting the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) and other international scientific meetings/conferences. To acknowledge outstanding research contributions to mathematics, through the awarding of scientific prizes and to encourage and support other international mathematical activities, considered likely to contribute to the development of mathematical science in any of its aspects, whether pure, applied, or educational.

COMPLETE stands for Center for Outreach for Mathematics Professional learning and Educational Technology. This joint Center between College of Education and Human Development and the College of Science was established in 2008 to provide Outreach and Professional Learning through the support of VDOE and SCHEV and more recently through funding from NSF.

Classroom teachers and mathematics specialists are continually on the look-out for great resources. This website is designed to provide a "one-stop-shop" to students who are the current teachers and leaders of mathematics. Many of the resources have been either highlighted in our coursework or shared by their peers.

The K–12 Mathematics Curriculum Center aims to help teachers and administrators make thoughtful, informed decisions about mathematics curriculum and instructional materials. Our projects explore and analyze how curriculum decisions are made in K–12 mathematics programs, provide resources that support good curriculum selection and implementation, and connect research and practice in mathematics instruction.

RadicalMath empowers educators to address issues of social and racial justice in math classrooms through curriculum, lesson planning resources, and professional development opportunities.

Teacher2Teacher offers the resources and answers for teachers and parents who have questions about teaching mathematics.

CitizenScience.gov is an official government website designed to accelerate the use of crowdsourcing and citizen science across the U.S. government.

IES is the nation’s premier source for research, evaluation and statistics that can help educators, policymakers and stakeholders improve outcomes for all students.

Lessons and web resources for classroom teachers, their students and students' families arranged by subject area

Unifies thousands of Federal science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education resources. All resources are automatically tagged by average grade level. Content includes lesson plans, curricula, classroom activities, homework help and information relating to professional development.

K-12 science resources including curriculum resources, games, and videos

The Standards of Learning and Curriculum Framework comprise the science content that teachers in Virginia are expected to teach and students are expected to learn.

Includes free online resources, books, videos, and more for grades K-8

Primarily reinforces material that Bill Nye presents on his TV show. His style and humor entertains and educates the student, while really getting the points of each lesson across.. Consider it a great resource to support classroom lectures and projects.

The center for Social Equity through Science Education is a group of researchers, educators, and university students who are dedicated to helping all people to have a richer understanding of science.

A simple-to-use K-12 learning platform that combines dynamic curated curriculum resources with on-demand teaching strategies

Hundreds of classroom activities organized by grade level and topic as well as guidance on effective teaching. Many of these resources were expressly developed with a K-12 audience in mind.

This site includes numerous videos, activities, and games that will keep students actively engaged for hours.

One-stop shop for a wealth of fantastic PBS KIDS educational content including science

Covering the outer reaches of space to the tiniest microbes in our bodies, Science Friday is the source for entertaining and educational stories about science, technology, and other cool stuff.

A collection of original lesson plans and resources that help K-12 educators integrate multicultural, anti-bias, and social justice themes into their curricula. Each edition is organized around a particular topic or theme, and a new edition is published three to four times per school year

Lesson plans for all grade levels on a wide variety of social studies and history topics.

Provides lesson plans on a variety of topics including 33 for History and Social Studies

Free lesson plans, activities, and worksheets for 2 – 5 year olds to learn new things rapidly and introduce them to a diverse range of subjects and topics.

Lesson plans by teachers for teachers of k-12 students

Provides teachers and parents with the tools to transform schools into socially equitable centers of learning where students become architects of a better future.

Includes teaching guides, lesson plans, resources for English learners and videos