| University Libraries
Apa Handbook of Behavior Analysis by
Behaviour analysis emerged from the nonhuman laboratories of B. F. Skinner, Fred Keller, Nate Schoenfeld, Murray Sidman, James Dinsmoor, Richard Herrnstein, Nate Azrin, and others who pioneered experimental preparations designed to do one thing -- find orderly relations between environment and behaviour. This bottom-up approach to a natural science of behaviour yielded a set of behavioural principles that proved orderly and replicable across subjects, laboratories, and species. By the 1960s, behaviour analysts began translating these principles into interventions for institutionalised humans characterised by impoverished repertoires of adaptive behaviour. When these interventions proved successful in replacing problem- with adaptive-behaviour, the field of Applied Behaviour Analysis was born. Over the last 50 years the field of behaviour analysis has grown substantially both in the number of practicing behaviour analysts and the range of behaviour to which behavioural principles have been applied. Today the laboratory study of basic principles of behaviour continues to expand our understanding of behaviour and to inform the treatment of disorders ranging from autism to substance abuse. The present volumes continue this inductive translational approach to the science of behaviour analysis by providing overview and in-depth chapters spanning the breadth of behaviour analysis. Volume I: Methods and Principles provides comprehensive coverage of the logic, clinical utility, and methods of single-case research designs. Chapters walk the reader through the design, data collection, and data analysis phases and are appropriate for students, researchers, and clinicians concerned with best practice. Volume I also provides an overview of the experimental analysis of behaviour, and chapters reviewing some of the most important areas of contemporary laboratory research in behaviour analysis. Topics covered include memory, attention, choice, behavioural neuroscience, and behavioural pharmacology. Volume II: Translating Principles into Practice includes 10 chapters illustrating how principles of behaviour discovered in basic-science laboratories have provided insights on socially important human behaviour ranging from the complex discriminations that underlie human language to disorders treated by clinical psychologists. The second section of Volume II includes 12 chapters, each devoted to a particular behavioural/developmental disorder (e.g., behavioural treatments of ADHD, autism) or to behaviour of societal importance (e.g., effective college teaching, effective treatment of substance abuse). Each of these chapters provides a review of what works and where additional research is needed.
APA Handbook of Clinical Psychology (5 Volumes) by
This five-volume handbook reflects the state-of-the-art in clinical psychology - science, practice, research, and training. It provides a comprehensive overview of: the history of clinical psychology, specialties and settings, theoretical and research approaches, assessment, treatment and prevention, psychological disorders, health and relational disorders, health promotion, educational paths, psychologists' development, ethics and standards, professional organisations, and future directions of clinical psychology. With content incorporating the editorial board's commitment to the themes of diversity, evidence-based practices, and international contributions, this addition to the APA Handbooks in Psychology#65533; series will be an essential resource for students, researchers, educators, and practitioners. The five volumes are: Volume 1: Roots and Branches Volume 2: Theory and Research Volume 3: Applications and Methods Volume 4: Psychopathology and Health Volume 5: Education and Profession
APA Handbook of Trauma Psychology by
The two volume APA Handbook of Trauma Psychology is the most comprehensive guide, text, and reference work on the subject to date. It provides a survey of all the major areas and subtopics of empirical knowledge and practical applications in the field of trauma psychology, written by top experts in the field. Volume 1 is divided into sections on the nature of trauma, its psychological impact, major conceptual frameworks for understanding traumatization, and trauma as viewed from the diverse perspective of various disciplines. Volume 2 covers various applications of trauma psychology, including various modalities of trauma assessment, major treatment approaches across the lifespan, and multi-client and organizational practice. The APA Handbook of Trauma Psychology will be an essential resource to specialists in trauma who need comprehensive information, to practitioners who seek to familiarize themselves with the range of approaches for trauma assessment and treatment, or for students as a graduate level or advanced undergraduate level textbook.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy by
Psychotherapy is the dialogue between patient and therapist in the diagnosis and treatment of behavioral, crisis, and mental disorders. Psychoanalysis as formulated by Sigmund Freud is the first modern form of psychotherapy and this approach has given rise to several score of psychodynamic therapies. In more recent times behavioral, cognitive, existential, humanistic, and short-term therapies have been put into practice, each with a particular focus and each giving rise to variations in structure and content of treatment as well as therapeutic outcomes. These therapy approaches relate the patient/therapist dialogue to different aspects of the therapeutic process. For instance, behavior therapies focus on the patient's conduct and cognitive therapies treat the client's thought processes. The Encyclopedia covers the major psychotherapies currently in practice as well as the classical approaches that laid the foundation for the various contemporary treatment approaches. In addition, the Encyclopedia identifies the scientific studies conducted on the efficacy of the therapies and review the theoretical basis of each therapy.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by
Abnormal and clinical psychology courses are offered in psychology programs at universities worldwide, but the most recent major encyclopedia on the topic was published many years ago. Although general psychology handbooks and encyclopedias include essays on abnormal and clinical psychology, such works do not provide students with an accessible reference for understanding the full scope of the field. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Abnormal and Clinical Psychology, a 7-volume, A-Z work (print and electronic formats), is such an authoritative work. Its more than 1,400 entries provide information on fundamental approaches and theories, various mental health disorders, assessment tools and psychotherapeutic interventions, and the social, legal, and cultural frameworks that have contributed to debates in abnormal and clinical psychology. Key features include: 1,400 signed articles contained in 7 volumes and available in choice of print and/or electronic formats Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader's Guide grouping related entries thematically Back matter includes a Chronology, Resource Guide, Bibliography, and detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References between and among entries all combine to provide robust search-and-browse features in the electronic version.