Find Data: Public Opinion Polls & Social Surveys

AsiaBarometer
Comparative survey in Asia covering east, southeast, south and central Asia.

Eurobarometer
European Commission, Public Opinion Analysis addresses major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defense and more.  Eurobarometer data are also available through ICPSR.

Gallup Analytics
Access more than a decade of global opinion data. Gallup Analytics includes data from Gallup World Poll, Gallup U.S. Dailies, Gallup Social Series, and Gallup Brain.

Global Barometer Surveys
This project represents the largest, most careful and systematic comparative survey of attitudes and values toward politics, power, reform, democracy and citizens’ political actions in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Arabic region.

Regional Global Barometer Surveys include:

• Afrobarometer
• Arab Barometer
• Asian Barometer
• Latinobarometro  An annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants. The library subscribes to the “for fee” portions of this site.

International Social Survey Programme (ISSP)
The ISSP is a continuing annual program of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.  ICPSR has a large number of public opinion polls and social surveys in its collection.

Latin American Public Opinion Project – LAPOP
Specializes in the development, implementation, and analysis of public opinion surveys. Since the 1970s, LAPOP has gathered databases containing political perspectives from Latin America and the Caribbean.

Pew Global Attitudes Project
Conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.  Nearly 300,000 interviews in 59 countries have been conducted as part of the project’s work. Additionally, the project has released numerous major reports, analyses, and other releases, on topics including attitudes toward the U.S. and American foreign policy, globalization, terrorism, and democracy.

Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 600,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.

World Values Survey
A worldwide investigation of sociocultural and political change conducted by a network of social scientist at leading universities all around world.