InfoGuides: Social Work: News Sources

Indirect access to news via the Libraries

The Libraries provides expansive indirect access to current and historical newspapers via numerous databases.

Washington Post
Access the Washington Post via ProQuest Historical Newspapers

The Washington Post is also searchable in our Factiva database (see the box below named " News Databases" for more information on Factiva).

Searching Factiva

Variety of News databases

The Libraries offers direct access to a variety of current news sources, listed below. We also provide expansive indirect access to current and historical newspapers via numerous databases.

Don't see the newspaper you want? Check the E-journal Finder!

Chronicle of Higher Education - Web Edition
Direct subscription, including the current annual Almanac of Higher Education is accessible for demographic information in higher education
Chronicle of Philanthropy
Grant announcements and requests for proposals in a wide variety of subject areas, particularly but not exclusively for institutional grantseekers.

News databases

This is a small sample of our current news databases. For more news resources, see this page.

Access World News
Access World News is a full-text news resource consisting over 13,000 local, regional, national and international sources. Updated daily.
Factiva
International business and news coverage from more than 8,000 sources including newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, and websites. Compiles company information and data and up to 5 years of historical market data.
International Newsstream
Provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format, including more than 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to a wide range of news (includes New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times), business (company news, industry forecasts), government (legislative news, tax information), legal (news, case law) and reference information. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.