Diverse Voices in Music Scholarship and Repertoire

AVON provides access to a wide range of videos and documentaries on different topics in music and ethnomusicology, from K-Pop to Latin Jazz.

Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.

Contain 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions from every continent. Included are  important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. View a tutorial on this database here.

A comprehensive collection of jazz available online—with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. View a tutorial on this database here.

A virtual encyclopedia of over 35,000 tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds that includes recordings from the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and others. Browse by musical instrument, geographical area, or cultural group. View a tutorial on this database here.

Offers a large selection of works by jazz legends and contemporary artists. Recordings of over 32,000 artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalog of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others. note: Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. View a tutorial on this database here.