InfoGuides: EFHP 860: Critical Perspectives in Exercise, Fitness, and Health Promotion: Where to Search/Managing Citations

Research Databases

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Covers recreation; exercise physiology; sports medicine; coaching; physical fitness; the psychology, history and sociology of sport; training; and conditioning. Consists primarily of periodical articles and monographs from 1800 onward; also contains dissertations and theses.
Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database of literature on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health-care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

Human Kinetics Journals
Human Kinetics publishes 26 peer-reviewed scholarly journals providing cutting-edge information for use by professors, teachers, researchers, practitioners, health care professionals, coaches, fitness enthusiasts, and many others.

Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and searchable author abstracts, covering scholarly literature in journals, books and conference proceedings. Includes: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Emerging Sources Citation Index. Additional resources available by selecting from the dropdown list next to the Core Collection heading.

PEDro (Phisiotherapy Evidence-Based Database)
a free database of over 52,000 trials, reviews, and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions. Tutorials: https://pedro.org.au/english/learn/search-help/

Managing Citations

Zotero (available for Mac, WIndows or Linux) is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite and share research. Zotero can synchronize your data across devices, keeping your notes, files, and bibliographic records seamlessly up to date. When the time comes to produce a bibliography, Zotero can make that so much easier too.

Note: University Libraries provides unlimited Zotero cloud storage for students, faculty and staff--just be sure to register with your Mason email address when you sign up for the free cloud-based storage.

Here's probably the fastest way to see what Zotero is all about and what it can do for you: the Zotero Quick-Start Guide.

Once you've installed Zotero, for maximum convenience, you'll want to make sure you install the Zotero connector for your browser.

Important: Make sure you have the current version of your browser's Zotero connector installed. We have noticed that older versions of most connectors have issues with accurately processing library catalog content.

Sciwheel provides a unified workspace for scientists to collect, write & discuss scientific literature. It features a web-based application, a browser extension, powerful word processing plugins, and a mobile application.

Access to SciWheel: To access Sciwheel (formerly F1000Workspace), click here or copy and paste the URL below to your clipboard: https://mutex.gmu.edu/login?URL=https://sciwheel.com/

First-Time Users: Be sure to select the option to create an account (https://tinyurl.com/9kks2u6t) if it is your first time using SciWheel.

SciWheel Tutorials: View SciWheel Tutorials here: https://f1000.com/work/faq/how-to-videos